We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good atmosphere, service may be a bit slow”

French Alpine Bistro - Creperie du Village
Ranked #3 of 160 Restaurants in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $45
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Aspen Restaurant Recipient of Multiple Accolades La Crêperie du Village Recognized Nationally Cosmopolitan culinary connoisseurs searching for the elusive triad of a successful dining experience: excellent food, romantic atmosphere and reasonable prices, need look no further. The New York Times, in its February 7th, 2016 section, "36 Hours" in Aspen, Colorado, recommended La Creperie du Village as, "a cozy bistro" and fantastic dining option. Following suit, The Food Network, "...fell in love at first bite," and named French Alpine Bistro La Crêperie du Village as one of the Top 5 restaurants in the United States for Best Romantic Foods, specifically for their famous fondue. The French and Austrian owners have poured their hearts and souls into creating an atmosphere that is best described in one German word: gemütlich. The carefully chosen artifacts and candlelight combine to make this the perfect place for a romantic rendezvous, intimate rehearsal dinner or wedding party. According to co-owner KarinDerly, "We envisioned this as a place for people to create happy, lasting memories." Many many satisfied customers from around the world agree that La Crêperie du Village is a charming hideaway, surrounded by the Rocky Mountains, for lovers to share an intimate meal.
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very good atmosphere, service may be a bit slow”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Really nice crepes. I liked the one with the chocolate can't remember the name. It was the only place open in the vicinity, later than the rest. Had a comfy outdoor seating with dim lights. Its warm and cozy, but can be easy to miss at times. Its below street level though visible from the street, slightly harder in the evenings to spot it though.

Food was really nice and for the price excellent value as well.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewWanderer76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    445
    115
    40
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Really fun atmosphere and great food!!!”
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

This place has really great crepes!!! I've been here with my friends many times. It's a great place to go if you want something fun and different in Aspen. And it's open till midnight!! The survive is okay sometimes they can ignor you for awhile. But it's probley because they get really busy at times. The restaurant is very small inside but in the summer they have outdoor seating. Go here to eat dinner/lunch or go here to have just dessert!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jnich93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

I didn't eat my crepe as it was horrible. The waiter presented the bill with it on it & argued with me when I asked to not pay for it. He did not apoligize or ask me if wanted another or invite ne back to try again. He didn't even say goodnight as I left.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skeetdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karinschwendtner, Owner at French Alpine Bistro - Creperie du Village, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your last visit to the Creperie.
When you told our server that you did not finish your crepe as you had already had a lot of bananas that week, he was not aware that you would have liked a different crepe instead. It would have been our pleasure to provide you with another one of our beautiful concoctions, and we are sorry about the miscommunication.

You were not charged for your crepe, as the server took it off the bill immediately and we have your receipt on file in case you would like to pick it up some time to see for yourself.

We know you have enjoyed other food at our restaurant before and hope to so in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just go there!!!!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

It's just top notch! Real wax candles light the dark and romantic atmosphere that is just so cozy and decorated with a funky yet refined touch. It is ALL delicious. The raclette, fondue, any crepe(sweet or savory)... The wine, the waitstaff (Cooper is a gem and an asset to this place) just go! Go by yourself, go on a date or with a group... You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jotol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Ever”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My teens pronounced this the best place they've ever eaten and they've eaten a lot of nice places around the country. The crepes have a variety of fillings, from French to American to Thai. Dessert crepes were varied, large and delicious. Our waiter, Cooper, was animated and ultrapolite. The decor was charming. We can't say enough things about it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pwolfe1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Alpine Bistro - Creperie du Village also viewed

 

Been to French Alpine Bistro - Creperie du Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing