We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An educational experience”
Review of Smuggler Mine Tour

Smuggler Mine Tour
Ranked #10 of 20 Tours in Aspen
Attraction details
Leadville, Colorado
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An educational experience”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Traveling back 1200 feet under Smuggler Mountain and departing on a different level is an experience worth going for. Knowledgeable guide.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Vince M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
spain
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A priceless silver nugget of a tour!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Tourguide Jay Parker is a gem of a Tourguide! He conducts the most interesting tour imaginable. His encyclopedic knowledge of the history of Smuggler mine, Aspen, and Colorado mining in general is irreplaceable. Kid friendly and worth every penny!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank brittySpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great discovery”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We heard about this tour through a local woman and so glad we did. We were amazed at all the tunnels underground where they mined for silver. The tour guide had a lot of knowledge and was very interesting to listen to. When he turns off the lights it is really dark, hard to imagine working by candlelight like the miners did. I would recommend this tour to all ages.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank HFTSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent and educational.”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We recently went on a tour of Smuggler Mine, which is located a short drive away from downtown Aspen. The cost is $30 per person. You may read on another site that they require 4 people for a tour, but if you ask nicely, they will waive that requirement (there were only 2 of us).

We met our guide, a very personable fellow and a real mining veteran, at the entrance of the mine. He took us into the work shack/office, gave us hardhats, and had us sign releases. He gave us an overview of the history of the mine (which extends for miles and miles in the area) and mining in the Aspen area in general. After that, we walked down a short set of stairs and headed to the entrance; we were warned to watch head clearance, especially in the first stretch of the tunnel (19th century miners were shorter than the average man today!).

Our guide took us through tunnels leading about 1500 feet into the side of the mountain (you're not going down - you're going straight through). Most of the tunnels we went through had plenty of head clearance and were wide enough to not make one feel claustrophobic. It's also very well-lit so it doesn't feel very confining at all, much less so than I assumed going in. The guide told us the temperature within the mine hovers around 52 degrees, if I recall correctly. We spent somewhere between 75-90 minutes in the mine - we were having such a good time, I actually keep careful track of the time.

The guide is great in that he sticks to facts: about this mine, about the minerals, about the past and future of the mine. Don't go on this tour expecting to be told tall tales of "smugglers" or ghosts or any of that other nonsense - that's not what it's about. It is a fun, educational tour which anyone who enjoys history, geology, or natural beauty would particularly enjoy. The two of us are interested in those subjects and we asked lots of questions, which our guide was happy to answer. He seems very proud of his work and knowledge.

Bottom line: try this tour! It's off the beaten path and it's not often you get to visit a non-abandoned 19th century mine.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank tlowens75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A fantastic experience away from the normal Aspen Scene”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We did the Smuggler Mine tour on February 19, 2012. The cost is $30 per person. You meet at the Smuggler mine . Follow the signs for the Mine Tour. You sign a release, get a helmet, and enter a silver mine from Aspen's silver age. The mine is temperate and dry. The spaces are pretty open, although you have to crouch in a few places. You learn about how the tunnels were made, the miners worked, and the geology of the area.

Helpful?
7 Thank RichOrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smuggler Mine Tour also viewed

 

Been to Smuggler Mine Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing