We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Palapa - CLOSED

La Palapa
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Deadwood
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

great staff and even better food!! very fun atmosphere and very welcoming. Jalapeno poppers were amazing as well as the entrees. Great selection and very authentic!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank MelissQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    15
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Mexican in heart of Aspen”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We're staying at Snowmass for two weeks - after eating at Venga Venga (just next door to the Westin, where we're staying) we thought backing it up with Mexican in Aspen the following evening would be asking for too much... Happily we were proven wrong by the great food at La Palapa! Super-easy to navigate to from the bus stop at Rubey Park, and fantastic food. Our server Brittany was super-helpful and brought out a little dish of mole sauce for us to try when we expressed doubts as to which of the lava bowls of meat to get... We had the guacamole, the mango margarita (which my husband greatly enjoyed), the lava bowl (sorry dont know correct name and the restaurant's menu on the website is down - note it is NOT the same as the menu showing on tripadvisor, it's a little more pricey) and the taco salad. Great food and great, casual atmosphere... After a day on the ski slopes this place was perfect for dinner! We definitely plan to make another bus trip to Aspen to visit this gem of a restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Travels_with_Em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious and fun!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

A great place to eat. Food is delicious. Everything we tried was cooked and flavored perfectly. Excellent margaritas. Service was good. Very busy restaurant, recommended to us by locals. Definitely recommend it to others!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Pennyk87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delish”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Don't know what that picture represents ... because the restaurant didn't look a thing like that, but that is beside the point.

This was a delightful surprise. The jalapeno poppers were outstanding. Clearly made to order. Definitely delicious.

Our entrees were on the mark and tasty. Good selection. We received excellent recommendations. Good for families. Great for couples. A fun place to be, if you sit at the bar, too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank EpicureanMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best margarita, best Mexican food in Aspen!”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We live in San Antonio and rarely try Mexican away from home but La Palapa would be successful there. The fine dining in Aspen is great but don't miss this casual dining spot. We have been going for 3 years and the food and service is consistently excellent. Try a habanero margarita on the rocks!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank kdsaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Palapa also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing