We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The Residence Hotel on Galena in Aspen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Residence Hotel
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Odessa, Texas USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Residence Hotel on Galena in Aspen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Had a terrific time in Aspen and loved my hotel. The rooms are not cookie cutter they are all charmingly decorated with an European look. And, I can't say enough about the location - close to shopping, dining and the mountain. It is a great town and a unique hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residenceaspen, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Yes we love our European decor, but also our Colonial Indian suite, The Raj, and the Oriental decorations spicing up the European rooms. Thanks for taking the time to write us a review and come back for another stay soon.
Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    3
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
16
31
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed at the Residence for our first trip to Aspen and absolutely LOVE it there. It is perfectly located and we were able to walk anywhere we wanted to go including all the great dining and shopping in downtown Aspen. The decor was so unique-- so elegant but also welcoming at the same time. A great change from a lot of the bigger, bland hotels we've stayed at in other tourist towns like DC, Destin, etc... what other hotel comes with a free cute dog?? We had a great time!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residenceaspen, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Lauren, can't wait to see you in January. Thanks for writing us a review. And by the way, loved the highlights!
Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Great place to stay. Beautiful lininens and appointments. So convenient to all. Great Hostess. As unique as anything I have ever stayed in and I have stayed ther several times and all of the roooms are great. She has a wonderful dog and cannot be more hospitable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJS-NYC-Attorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence-Hotel, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to say what a "nice place" we are.
Hope to see you next year.
Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were two couples visiting Aspen for the fall colors. I researched TripAdvisor for likely accommodations and encountered the Residence Hotel, was fascinated by the unusual nature of the place and booked it. To be honest, I was initially inclined to book into the Hotel Jerome due to its legendary status, but it's closed for extensive renovations so they missed out.

The Residence Hotel is about as far from the usual cookie-cutter hotel as I can imagine. It's located above retail stores right in the heart of Aspen - extremely convenient in every way (although parking can be a challenge in busy times). Gaining access requires you to have a door code, and you enter up a steep set of stairs into the "lobby" (which is really a common area surrounded by the rooms). Note - lugging heavy baggage up the stairs might be difficult for the infirm or elderly, but we managed without a hitch.

We tracked down Terry (the owner) and she showed us into our suite - the Country Suite, which is a 2-bedroom, 2 bath layout with a large living room and kitchen. Very convenient for folks who want to "make themselves at home" instead of the usual hotel room limitations. The decor is definitely different - very historic, very plush, perhaps slightly "bordello-ish", which fits nicely in with the history of the building as a former brothel in early Aspen days. Don't take that comment as a negative - the whole package just seems to "work" and Terry has obviously spent much time creating a feeling of warmth and luxury within the confines of a very old building structure.

Note - do not expect to encounter lots of staff waiting to satisfy your every whim. The whole approach is more along the lines of "apartments" - you move in and pretty much take care of yourselves, with willing recommendations from Terry when needed. Of course, downtown Aspen has plenty of options for meals if you prefer to eat out, so just be prepared to be self-sufficient and you should be good.

Overall, a wonderfully different experience and very pleasant stay in a historic building with loads of charm, perfectly situated in downtown Aspen. Possible negatives for some folks might be the street parking, steep stairs to gain access, and some of the minor infrastructure issues often associated with old buildings - but if you like "different" combined with comfort and early American elegance, this place certainly fits the bill.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phudpucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence-Hotel, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
I was intrigued with your unique take on my hotel. Thank you for taking the time to write about it. You are so right....we are "not like any other hotel". We are definitely different. I am just happy you enjoyed yourselves. Hope to see you next summer.
Tank you,
Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at The Residence Hotel in Aspen. The fall colors were fantastic and the hotel is coveniently located for shopping and dining in the charming town. The low season rate we got for our 2 bedroom suite was very, very good. And the restaurants all had great prix fixe deals too. Autumn is a wonderful time to visit. We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence-Hotel, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us a special review. I am glad you enjoyed the fall here, and loved our location. We will certainly look forward to your next trip to see us.
Thank you,
Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

The Residence Hotel is the perfect mix of uniqueness and luxury. From the warm embrace of Terry, the owner, to ultra-soft embrace of the bed. The only bad thing about the beds is that you never want to get out of them to see what the perfect location of the Residence in downtown Aspen has to offer. Make the Residence Hotel your first choice in Aspen and you will come back every year like we have - 4 straight years.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank xH2Oa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence-Hotel, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thanks for coming back 4 years in a row. I love it when my guests make the hotel their true home away from home. I am glad you liked my beds...we spend a lot of time trying to make sure they are the most comfortable and inviting beds in town.
Thank you...and see you soon.
Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I like to take to the road with our dog Boo for the summer months and this year we decided we had never been to Aspen CO. It was a destination we had always wanted to go to so we looked online and found this boutique hotel right in the center of Aspen. We had never been to Aspen and we had no reference We Had a wonderful experience. Terri, Cherl, and the hotel owner Terry Butler were absolutely wonderful to us. They even dog-sat as we went ATV-ing, Hot AIr Ballooning and White Water Rafting. We loved coming back to our room as it was comfortable and inviting. We rented for an entire month and took advantage of all of the restaurants, stores and highlights of the downtown. We literally parked our car at the start of our stay and only twice had to drive anywhere. Everything was walking and biking distance. There is a beautiful biking path and we enjoyed a day of biking with Terry and seeing the surrounding towns. I loved the Saturday market most. A lovely stay and the location could not have been better. Loved it!

Room Tip: Room 3 was our room and had 2 comfortable bedrooms and r 2 bathrooms. The kitchen was great and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jannamiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence-Hotel, Owner at The Residence Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thanks for the lovely review. We indeed loved having you as well for those weeks and are looking forward to having you again for the month this summer. It is wonderful to make new and meaningful relationships though the hotel. It is one of the man reasons I stay in the business.
See you soon,
Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.1 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#10 of 36 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 stars 428 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gant
The Gant
#5 of 36 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 stars 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
0.4 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
0.2 mi away
Sky Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Hotel

Property: The Residence Hotel
Address: 305 S Galena St, Aspen, CO 81611-1817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
#10 Family Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Residence Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps from the base of Ajax mountain in Aspen, one of America's finest ski resorts; and conveniently positioned to overlook the town's storied village, The Residence Hotel serves as a warm sanctuary for guests with distinguished tastes. Here, your stay is as much about comfort and relaxation, as it a global adventure through history. This small and charming Boutique Hotel contains seven suites and apartments, each one individually decorated in European flavor. The high ceilings offer the spaciousness rarely found in a ski resort. The bedrooms are furnished with Ralph Lauren linens and down-filled duvets. Original antique furnishings and accent pieces adorn each room, while walls are covered with museum quality artwork and designer fabrics. Most suites have wood-burning fireplaces. Crystal chandeliers, Persian rugs, marble bathrooms, hard wood floors and large overstuffed sofas and chairs give each room the comforts of a luxurious home. With two decades of loyal and distinguished guests that span from entertainers and athletes to artists and politicians, somehow the hotel still maintains a subtle mystique as the city's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing