We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We were looking for a reasonably priced hotel in Aspen for a few days. An Expedia rep recommended the St. Moritz for us because it had good prices and a decent amount of stars. Well, the price was right, but the stars were wrong. This place was an enormous disappointment. To start, it is very dated - not "cute" dated, but "renovate, please!" dated. The front desk man was entirely unpleasant during check in. The room was like a muggy sauna and the thermostat was broken. the front desk solution was not to send someone to fix it, but to open the window - during a snow storm. But what put me over the edge were the stains on the comforter and blanket. We couldn't wait to check out.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ztraveler32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 179 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed here for 7 nights in early February 2014. Went on a boys trip with a couple of buddies. The first 3 nights we stayed in a 2 bedroom unit that was just 2 bedrooms and a bathroom with a small hallway connecting everything. The next 3 nights were in a 2 bedroom condo with living room, fireplace, full kitchen, 1 bath and balconies. The last night was in a hotel room. Room service was provided each day and it was more of a tidy service than a full clean. The property is dated, but most everything was in good working order. If you are looking for modern, this is not the place. The walls/ceilings were relatively thin, but it wasn't much of an issue. There is a small pool 20' x 40' that is warmed to 101 degrees and open from 4-9 pm every day. It was a Jacuzzi of sorts and was perfect for after skiing. We called it the "man pool" as there were 10-20 guys in it each night and maybe a token female. There was a happy hour each day from 4-6 pm where wine was served...you might have been able to get a beer if you asked. Breakfast was included and it was the same spread everyday but a decent variety of things including coffee cake, cereal, bagels, English muffins, hard boiled eggs, 4 or 5 different types of fresh fruit including melon, grapes, apples, pears, oranges, and pineapple, juice and coffee. There was a gas grill on premise that wasn't overly clean, but worked just fine. The lodge is 2 blocks removed from the main street and about 5-6 blocks from the center of town. The bus stop was 2.5 blocks away. Tom and Joel, hotel managers, were very accommodating and friendly. Our flights were cancelled for 2 days and they made sure they had rooms for us and gave us a nice discount. Based on my brief research, the St. Moritz is a great get for the price. I wouldn't hesitate to go back...but remember, it is not a Marriott Vacation Club property.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scottrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

What makes the St. Mortiz (apart from location and great prices) are the amazing staff. As long as you are at the St. Mortiz, you are part of the family and they are helpful with the most bizarre request, going out of their way to ensure your stay is as seamless as possible. The afternoon happy hour with popcorn and the ability to stay in the hot-tub after closing as long as you close it up really after, show that they trust their guests and treat them as part of their extended family. Couple that with the cool people who stay here, you never know what type of conversation you will get into over a glass of wine by the fire place in the lobby - which is more like a meeting space.

For Aspen, the prices are incredible - but you get what you pay for. The hostel rooms are really small and there isn't much space for anything. The hardest part was ensuring that ski gear dries overnight so it can be worn the next day. The beds were also pretty hard and the pillows less then adequate (but refreshed every day by dedicated staff and with fresh towels). Each room had a small hanger area (to be shared) and a tiny fridge. The shared bathroom was always clean and never so busy that you had to wait for a sink, and even though there was only one shower - it never seemed to be an issue.

The breakfasts are continental-plus. Lots of fruit and coffee plus bagels, cereal and lots of carbs, but really low on protein options. The hard boiled eggs were usually gone in about 15 minutes. And on some mornings the breakfast space gets really busy - but again, the staff are really good at keeping an eye on stuff and making sure the coffee and hot water are replenished all day.

As a space that brands itself as a hotel - it has a great friendly vibe that is what any solo traveler wants.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TabathaSoltay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

This place is a little gem in Aspen, it's the probably the best deal you can get in a very expensive town.
It's close to everything but still tucked away for some quiet time.
The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snowbum8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel D, Manager at St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your review and hope to see you on your next visit to Aspen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

My wife and I spent almost a week here. It was excellent. The staff was helpful and the rate was reasonable. If you are looking for five star accomodations, this is not the place. If you are like us, and most of your time at the hotel/motel is spent sleeping and the rest is outside enjoying Aspen's "accomodations", this is the place to spend your sleep time, rainy day time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DANIEL F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

My brother and I went there off season to do some hiking in the area and the place was a awesome had steam room staff was very friendly jp the manager gave us a lot of tips of the surrounding hikes he was a huge help. I totally recommend this place to anyone visiting aspen very cozy warm and friendly

Room Tip: Definitely pick a room with your own kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was our second stay at the St. Moritz and it was just as nice as the first. There are lots of options here and it's truly affordable in pricey Aspen. We stayed in their standard lodge room which had a flat screen TV, good wi-fi, a small, private bath, a desk, and a fridge in the closet. A pretty window seat looked out the side of the building. Since we were there out of season, there was no breakfast included, however they do keep the kitchen area downstairs open so that you can use the microwave. The lobby area is furnished with comfortable chairs and it's a nice place to relax next to the fireplace in the morning with a donut and a cup of coffee.

It's just a short drive to Maroon Bells - we were lucky that we got there the last few days of September, as the government shut down and closed the park on October 1.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snapngo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aspen hotels
2.0 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#13 of 35 in Aspen
203 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#10 of 35 in Aspen
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tyrolean Lodge
Tyrolean Lodge
#11 of 35 in Aspen
166 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
0.2 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#15 of 35 in Aspen
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums

Address: 334 W Hyman Ave, Aspen, CO 81611-1650
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Aspen
Price Range: $75 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums is Aspen's "Affordable Choice." A friendly European style lodge located in downtown Aspen. Choose from standard lodge rooms, rooms with kitchenettes or 1 & 2 bedroom condos. For the economy minded traveler we offer shared & private hostels with shared baths. Pool/Whirlpool, Continental breakfast is served during the high winter and summer seasons. HD Flat screen TVs, HBO, Free Wi-Fi, local & US calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Moritz Hotel Aspen
St Moritz Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing