We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”
Review of Tyrolean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tyrolean Lodge
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The Tyrolean is right on the main strip, there's a bakery across the street - it's just a short walk from the centre of town and only a few blocks away from the slopes.

The hotel has such charm, will the foyer and each of the rooms fashioned with old ski and snow equipment. The rooms are spacious with everything you could need. The beds are comfortable and very well insulated - with a wall mounted thermostat that keeps the winter cold out and your room nice and toasty.

The staff and sensational. Always just a phone call away and they know the area inside and out. The gentleman at the front desk is a wonderful character.
Aspen itself is magical, especially in fall and winter. It's like being in a snow globe - and coming home to a place such as the Tyrolean keeps the magic going.
Wifi is included with excellent signal in the rooms.

The room prices were pretty competitive compared to some of the other lodges in the area. This is a fairly modest lodge, but it's very welcoming and comfortable - and that's what seals the deal.
Next time I'm in Aspen, I won't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brooksbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 166 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was not a fancy Aspen Lodge but a GREAT one. Very clean lots of space, kitchenette with everything you need and best of all the gentleman at the front desk I think he was the owner not sure did not get his name but he knew every thing about the area everything he recommended was right on with local knowledge. Thanks again

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The Tyrolean Lodge is a very good option for those looking for good price and comfort. Nice accommodations with excellent beds. Close to everything you need in Aspen, almost all in walking distances. The rooms have cooking facilities and it helps a lot since there is no breakfast available and in addition the owner is an excellent person with a very good sense of humour. I strongly recommend!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlexNanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We arrived late in Aspen without a reservation at the end of a two week vacation hoping to photograph Maroon Bells and Crystal Mill. We spotted this hotel along Main Street and decided to give it a try. This is certainly not one of the "boutique-ish" properties in Aspen but brought back memories of ski trips past with antique skis, boots and poles on display and chalet style balconies. The room was spacious and spotless with plenty of hot water and fluffy towels. The room had a kitchenette, which was a surprise, along with a power strip for charging all the electronics we all take these days. The staff was friendly and bent over backwards to make our stay comfortable and the price was very reasonable even for off season. We decided to stay an extra night we enjoyed it so much. It's close to the center of town and you can walk most places. Wi Fi worked perfectly. The beds were comfortable and a ceiling fan in the room was a big plus as we like air circulation while we sleep. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms away from Main Street would probably have less noise from vehicular traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is not a chi-chi Aspen hotel, but rooms are very large (sleep 5!) and have a kitchenette. Rooms are clean, decor is 1970's motel meets Alpine/ski chalet. Room's nice paint job modernizes it a bit. It's located about 5 blocks from the heart of downtown, but close to the adorable Main St. Cafe/Bakery, which is great for breakfast. Although it's right on the four-lane main drag through Aspen, our room #303 facing the side street was not noisy at night. David and Barry are friendly and helpful. But the $100 a night price (pre-paid) in Aspen is unbeatable!

Room Tip: Upper floor room facing 1st Street (not Main St.) is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gregnjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We chose the Tyrolean Lodge based on an article published in Sunset magazine featuring Aspen, CO. Reservations are super easy to make online and a floor plan is available so that you can choose your room. I loved this feature! The lodge was easy to find and within walking distance to The Jerome Hotel (historic) as well as the shopping and dining district at the base of the ski hill. The rooms at The Tyrolean Lodge feature two queen beds and one single which would be a great accomodation for families in ski season. The furnishings are an eclectic mix of styles. The rates here are much less than other places we checked with. A big boost to this place would be to update the bedding and especially the pillows. If not for this, I would have given the lodge a higher rating.

Room Tip: Top floor is always our choice and in this location we had a nice skylight to brighten the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Like others, we chose the Tyrolean mostly for the price when we planned our long-weekend motorcycle getaway. Our room (#300) was clean and served us well enough. Some of the linens were past due for retirement, but the mattress was very comfortable and we slept pretty well. The staff was pleasant and helpful. And the location, while not quite in the very heart of Aspen, is within reasonable walking distance of most of the dining and shopping options.
Bring your own shampoo/conditioner/body wash! We found none in our room (and had brought none). A hike down to Carl's Pharmacy solved that. We were supplied with a hair dryer when we inquired at the office, but it would be safest to bring your own.
There are certainly nicer places to stay in Aspen, if your budget allows. You may be able to do nearly as well at the Annabelle Inn, which is a far nicer property. But if you're trying to save a buck and are willing to forego any touch of luxury, the Tyrolean may be your place. And if you want a low-cost room with a kitchenette, the Tyrolean probably IS your place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grumpy_Dutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.2 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
2.1 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#13 of 35 in Aspen
203 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#10 of 35 in Aspen
515 reviews
0.1 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#15 of 35 in Aspen
559 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aspen Meadows Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyrolean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyrolean Lodge

Address: 200 W Main St, Aspen, CO 81611-1712
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Aspen
#2 Green Hotel in Aspen
#11 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
#12 Family Hotel in Aspen
Price Range: $88 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tyrolean Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tyrolean is a classic small Aspen Lodge, family owned and full of ski history. Rooms are clean, well maintained, surprisingly spacious and have new fully equipped kitchenettes. Each room has 2 queen beds, 1 twin bed and sleeps 1 to 5 people. Our sixteen comfortable hotel rooms are ideal for the budget minded, economy traveler in search of a hidden gem. The Tyrolean is Aspen's most affordable quality lodging. There is an antique Ski Museum and Aspen History throughout the hotel. All rooms are non-smoking. Centrally located on Aspen's Main Street, within easy walking distance of the bakery, brew pub, downtown shops, restaurants, bars, Aspen Mountain and the Music Festival. The free skier shuttle to all four ski areas stops in front. For value and tradition, come visit the Tyrolean Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tyrolean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyrolean Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing