We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean; A Good Value By Aspen Standards” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tyrolean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tyrolean Lodge
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Clean; A Good Value By Aspen Standards”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Like others, we chose the Tyrolean mostly for the price when we planned our long-weekend motorcycle getaway. Our room (#300) was clean and served us well enough. Some of the linens were past due for retirement, but the mattress was very comfortable and we slept pretty well. The staff was pleasant and helpful. And the location, while not quite in the very heart of Aspen, is within reasonable walking distance of most of the dining and shopping options.
Bring your own shampoo/conditioner/body wash! We found none in our room (and had brought none). A hike down to Carl's Pharmacy solved that. We were supplied with a hair dryer when we inquired at the office, but it would be safest to bring your own.
There are certainly nicer places to stay in Aspen, if your budget allows. You may be able to do nearly as well at the Annabelle Inn, which is a far nicer property. But if you're trying to save a buck and are willing to forego any touch of luxury, the Tyrolean may be your place. And if you want a low-cost room with a kitchenette, the Tyrolean probably IS your place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grumpy_Dutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    55
    15
    1
    5
See reviews for
41
56
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

My daughter & I went to Aspen to watch a friend perform in one of the Aspen Music Festival's orchestral concerts. Chose the Tyrolean Lodge mainly for the price. While it's probably one of the least-expensive options for lodging in Aspen, the room & customer service were top-notch. Paid $160 for a room with 2 queens & a twin, a small, but perfectly functional kitchen, WiFi, etc. The gentleman at the front desk (Louis?) was very friendly & helpful. While is is located on West Main St., road noise was not an issue (the lodge is perpendicular to Main St., so, if you want quiet, ask for the furthest room from the street). No dogs (minor bummer...). Read the Lodge's cancellation policy (which they are very up-front about...) carefully before booking. About a 10 min. walk to the concert tent. Also highly, highly recommend New York Pizza, just a few blocks away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carderock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, co
Level Contributor
184 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Friendly owner. Large Rooms were clean, comfy and full of amenities. Fridge, microwave, table with chairs and TV. Free wifi. Great location. Loved this place. Close to town.When in Aspen, this is a great place to stay. Will definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sillytia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This lodge is well located and reasonably priced comparatively, so I see why this place is well regarded in a town full of expensive everything. We stayed on the top floor and paid extra for that. I'm not sure why that was recommended. There are no "views" from this location on any floor. The room is large but everything inside is dated. The room was okay clean when we arrived, but despite our being out of the room almost all day, they didn't clean our room. We got in late to discover this and so we had to go hunting for towels early the next morning. This would be a solid place for a group to stay for a fun skiing vacation with two queens and a twin bed right at the entry, but you will pay extra for every extra person in the room. Service was fine. Not particularly impressed. Don't think I'd choose this hotel next time...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Runtheworldgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed here for a 11night ski holiday, location is great - bus stops to all mountains right outside the hotel and town is a 5min walk or you can jump on the free buses. The rooms were nicely decorated, had an alpine lodge feel, the hotel was clean, warm and cosy. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Great for the price of the rooms, little kitchen area was handy too!
Would definitely return!

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor - early one morning the people upstairs woke us up walking around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gapyahher192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with friends on a skiing holiday. The hotel manager was excellent and really helpful throughout our stay. The bus stops were right outside the hotel that went to all 4 mountains. I would highly recommend to anyone looking to ski in Aspen.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CatherineGreen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

The lodge is OK and has a good location but read the fine print before you rent a room here! I had a ski accident a few weeks prior and ended up on crutches. We almost lost $400! The policy is that the entire LODGE has to be rented out or you lose everything. Think about that: this means the lodge, if not full, could keep the entire room payments of anyone and everyone who cancels! This made for some pretty tense moments watching to see if the lodge did fill up. In the end it did-barely-and they still dinged us for $50....for clicking a mouse a few times. Would not stay there again, cause, hey s*** happens sometimes! For us-we lead pretty active lives-it's simply not worth the risk to save a few bucks.

Room Tip: Read the fine print before you book!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelerofplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre W, General Manager at Tyrolean Lodge, responded to this review, December 17, 2014
We really try to work with people to re-book cancellations and get their deposit back as we did with yours. We have updated our cancellation policy to 14 days. Aspen is a destination resort that is a long way from Denver, during the winter season everything is reservations. Most Aspen hotels are 30 to 60 days and everyone has a $50 cancellation fee. I am sorry it was stressful. The Tyrolean is several hundred dollars a night less than even the average Aspen hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.2 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
0.1 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#13 of 35 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#9 of 35 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Gant
The Gant
#4 of 35 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#12 of 35 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyrolean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyrolean Lodge

Property: Tyrolean Lodge
Address: 200 West Main Street, Aspen, CO 81611
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Aspen
#3 Best Value Hotel in Aspen
#11 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
#12 Family Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Tyrolean Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tyrolean is a classic small Aspen Lodge, family owned and full of ski history. Rooms are clean, well maintained, surprisingly spacious and have new fully equipped kitchenettes. Each room has 2 queen beds, 1 twin bed and sleeps 1 to 5 people. Our sixteen comfortable hotel rooms are ideal for the budget minded, economy traveler in search of a hidden gem. The Tyrolean is Aspen's most affordable quality lodging. There is an antique Ski Museum and Aspen History throughout the hotel. All rooms are non-smoking. Centrally located on Aspen's Main Street, within easy walking distance of the bakery, brew pub, downtown shops, restaurants, bars, Aspen Mountain and the Music Festival. The free skier shuttle to all four ski areas stops in front. For value and tradition, come visit the Tyrolean Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Tyrolean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyrolean Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing