We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hard to Beat in Aspen” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tyrolean Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tyrolean Lodge
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Hard to Beat in Aspen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Got there early evening after hiking in the Maroon Bells area and had to park on the street, but luckily they don't bother with restrictions after 6p or on Sundays. The gentleman at the lodge made sure I was parked in a tow-free spot, gave me a city map with a few recommendations, and off I headed to my room. The room was spacious, slept 5 and had all the amenities you'd want for a few days. The Tyrolean is in a great location right in the center of town, and I enjoyed the bakery a few blocks away for breakfast. Overall, with the amenities, location and price, I don't see how you could do any better. Only niggles are the aforementioned lack of on-property parking and the slightly chintzy door lock (thus the "4" rating, but really more like "4.5"), but there is also one of those bar locks as well for added security. I'll definitely be back next time I'm in Aspen.

Room Tip: I was on the ground (or sub-ground technically) floor and didn't really hear any noise, as the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thunderable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    51
    15
    1
    5
See reviews for
39
54
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Thank you tripadvisor. Based upon reviews I booked two nights here and it was an excellent choice. Fantastic value, the room was large, the little kitchen updated and everything spotlessly clean. The location is perfect. David is a wonderful host, one of the best we've encountered, couldn't do enough to make our visit enjoyable. Would not hesitate to recommend or stay here again. Loved it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottytrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

The room was very clean and appeared to have some recent updates. This was my second stay at the Tyrolean and I am already thinking about my next stay. Dave, the gentleman at the desk (owner?) Is a real hoot and helps create a unique experience. You can't beat the price in Aspen. It is Aspen for the rest of us. ;)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PittsburghPhotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were only in town for one night but found our room very suitable. Enjoyed everything about the short visit. Would stay here again, especially to avoid eating out in Aspen, which is extremely expensive. Go to Maroon Bells - it is amazing!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adnaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This is a very convenient and affordable place to stay in Aspen. We stayed in a mid-level room. The rooms are very large and have kitchenettes, with plates, utensils, pans and small refrigerators. The ability to make our own breakfasts and trail lunches made the stay in Aspen, where eating out is quite expensive, much more reasonable. The hotel is within easy walking distance of everything in Aspen. Beds are comfortable and our kids appreciated being able to each sleep in their own bed (rooms have two full size beds and twin). It is very clean, and the front office personnel were very helpful and had good ideas about where to eat and what to do in Aspen. Noise from the road beside the hotel can be a bit of an issue, especially if it is warm and the windows are kept open, but this is a minor complaint. The Trylolean Lodge is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I was fortunate to find this treasure by Googling. I honestly chose it because the price was most affordable, but I cannot imagine any place in Aspen more perfect, esp. Room 301. I'm a brief walk up right off Main St., convenient to walking everywhere and the (free) bus stops plus main venues for The Aspen Music Festival. Kitchen is generously supplied with everything needed to use the microwave, fridge (with ice trays and freezer that works!) and stove! I could go on & on but the no vacancy sign since arriving 3 days ago speaks for itself.

Room Tip: The view of Mt Aspen from the kitchen table is ridiculously picturesque. Street noise during the da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PMSavannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
479 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We picked this spot to spend one night in Aspen for the rate which is extremely affordable for Aspen. You can walk anywhere in town and the rooms are very large with nice little kitchenettes. I really liked the fact there was a ceiling fan in the room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dil345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.2 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
0.1 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#12 of 36 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 stars 487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#10 of 36 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#13 of 36 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
0.3 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyrolean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyrolean Lodge

Property: Tyrolean Lodge
Address: 200 W Main St, Aspen, CO 81611-1712
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Aspen
#2 Green Hotel in Aspen
#11 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
#12 Family Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Tyrolean Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tyrolean is a classic small Aspen Lodge, family owned and full of ski history. Rooms are clean, well maintained, surprisingly spacious and have new fully equipped kitchenettes. Each room has 2 queen beds, 1 twin bed and sleeps 1 to 5 people. Our sixteen comfortable hotel rooms are ideal for the budget minded, economy traveler in search of a hidden gem. The Tyrolean is Aspen's most affordable quality lodging. There is an antique Ski Museum and Aspen History throughout the hotel. All rooms are non-smoking. Centrally located on Aspen's Main Street, within easy walking distance of the bakery, brew pub, downtown shops, restaurants, bars, Aspen Mountain and the Music Festival. The free skier shuttle to all four ski areas stops in front. For value and tradition, come visit the Tyrolean Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Tyrolean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyrolean Hotel Aspen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing