We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Out of the park”
Review of Plato's Restaurant

Plato's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Plato's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 160 Restaurants in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $44
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: We offer a shuttle service every half hour (full and half hour) to town and back, stopping at Ruby Park and the Hotel Jerome.
Description: Plato's Restaurant "The first and greatest of necessities is food, which is the condition of life and existence." - Plato's Republic, Book 2 Bask in the golden sunset as you dine on the finest and most inspiring cuisine in the city at Plato's Restaurant, featuring local and regional fair as flavorful as the surroundings. Our exceptional Culinary Team selects the perfect seasonal ingredients to make your meal a truly memorable one. Come early and unwind with a glass of wine or specialty cocktail by the fire in the Hefner lounge. The magnificent view becomes as much a part of the experience as the delicious meal. Thank you for a wonderful winter season. We look forward to seeing you in June!
Brazos Bottom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Out of the park”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

This is one of the best restaurants in the country. Every dish over several courses for our party of 6 was stellar. The originality of the menu, the precision of the preparation and the artful presentation tell you this is rarefied country. Service, ambiance, and heavenly view made for a night to remember. The Avalanche bloomer stole the first course show and pork chop with peach chutney and farro the next.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank speedymack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    24
    10
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“New leader in Aspen dining”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Truly a place that you could recommend to anyone who loves food and wine. Literally everything ordered by those in our party of six was a home run. Best view in Aspen. Best service. In my opinion, AaronSchmude is a new super-star among chefs. He has put together a talented team. Although some at our table expressed concern that too strong a review would make reservations at Plato's a challenge, we decided that any accolades were well deserved.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Glorious Food, Glorious Service, Glorious Setting”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

If you're looking for a superior dining experience in Aspen, look no further than Plato's at the Aspen Meadows Resort.

Not only is the setting unforgettable, but Chef Schmude and his staff have crafted a delectable menu that includes, among other wonderful creations an Onion Soubise with Pedro Ximenez that takes rich and delicious to new heights.

My husband had the chicken, despite my offering that it's rarely a treat to order chicken at a restaurant. Guess what? Order the chicken!

We were also delighted by our server, Thomas, who offered not one, but 3 wine recommendations to complement our meal. To his credit, Thomas dissuaded us from our first wine choice, even though it was the most expensive one.

If you're looking for haute cuisine without hautiness in a glorious setting, make a reservation at Plato's. Plato himself might come back and pen the sequel to The Republic on the patio.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob-Marisol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aspenme, Manager at Plato's Restaurant, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Rob-Marisol,

It was with much pleasure, that we “Surprised’ you both. Everyone here at Plato’s takes pride in providing excellent service to go along with Aaron’s cuisine. We look forward to your return visit.
Thank you

Bonnie Calderon, Plato’s Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Level Contributor
136 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food; excellent service”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

We had excellent service on a recent trip to Plato's and the place is beautiful, but the food was good, not great. The pork and bass dishes were fabulous; the chicken, salmon and burger; however, were only good. We had had better similar dishes elsewhere. Our waiter Tom took very good care of us and we had a lovely evening at Aspen Meadows Resort.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Clif S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aspenme, Manager at Plato's Restaurant, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Clif S,

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We always appreciate hearing from our guests. Please come back again soon.

Ashley Lynch, Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
“A Wonderful beginning to my Aspen experience.”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I came to Aspen for the weekend to visit my daughter who has been living there for the summer. She did some research and decided to make us reservations for dinner at Plato's restaurant which is connected to Aspen Meadows Resort. I couldn't have been happier with our experience. We were immediately greeted by a cheerful hostess who made us feel extremely welcome. Our waiter, Mat I believe his name was, also did an outstanding job. Along with the exceptional service was the OUTSTANDING food. I have been to many fine dining restaurants but Plato's definitely comes out on top of the list. Our beef tartare and scallop appetizer was to die for. I ordered the halibut and my daughter ordered the chicken and both of our entrees were delicious as well as plated beautifully. Spending time with my kids is something that I cherish and to be able to have this great of an experience was marvelous. I want to thank all of you for this spectacular start to my weekend in Aspen.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aspenme, Manager at Plato's Restaurant, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Greg B,

Thanks for the rave review! We are delighted that your daughter chose to try Plato’s during your visit and that you had a fantastic experience. We hope that next time you are in Aspen you will join us again.

Ashley Lynch, Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plato's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Plato's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing