We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best OSSo Bucco”
Review of Ute City Bar and Grill - CLOSED

Ute City Bar and Grill
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Ute City is a gathering place where resort guests and locals alike enjoy mouth-watering food in a warm atmosphere. Chef Peter Coyne's original interpretations of American classics with European flavors create a delectable menu that includes signature entrees like the ale braised beef short ribs, slow cooked for 15 hours, and the sweet potato lasagna, a vegetarian delight. Boasting the only pastry chef in its price range, Ute City's desserts are unparalleled. European trained, Chef Coyne was an early advocate of farm to table, regional cooking and incorporates local flavors at every opportunity. At Ute City, dishes are created, not merely cooked. Ute City's wine list offers an extensive selection from around the world, sure to delight any taste and budget. Whether you are waiting for a table in the Main Dining Room or just stopping by for a quick bite to eat, slide up to the bar at Ute City. If a cocktail is all you need, let the skilled bartenders make you the best in town.
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
160 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Best OSSo Bucco”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I recently went on a restaurant binge and noticed that OSSO BUCCO was on many menu's. Some were tough, over seasoned or boring . Ute City offered an ELK Osso Bucco with a lemon essence over the potatoes, the meat was perfect and the light flavor surrounding the heavy meat was a huge winner for me. I would go back for the bacon wrapped shrimp filled with chipolte sauce? not sure but it was delicious as well

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walt H, Owner at Ute City Bar and Grill, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Jon,

"Best Osso Bucco" -- that's an honor, especially coming from someone who has tried the dish numerous times! I'm thrilled to hear you loved our take on it, with elk and the lemon essence. The balance of the flavors is key, and I'll be sure to share your thoughts with the kitchen. Please do come back and try some of our other specialties. We'd love to know what you think!

Thanks very much,
Walt Harris
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    27
    3
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Solid experience”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

3 of us had dinner at the Ute City Bar and Grill last night. I have passed by many times and it is usually busy. Last night was uncrowded, but it is off season here. We shared the Quinioa salad and it was very good. The main courses were; Short Ribs, Salmon and a Flat Iron steak. All three entrees were well executed, sides had as much attention as the main items. I had the Flat Iron and it was a perfectly medium rare as ordered. Creamed greens and a potatoe gratin also excellent. Dessert was only average, we shared a Creme Brûlée and a Chocolate Decadence cake that were obviously from an outside vendor.
The Service was excellent, Joanie was attentive and professional and Walt fantastic behind the bar. I will be back for sure.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alevey64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed a relaxing evening at Utes. The food was great, and the service excellent.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ThomasBuckingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Yummy food, great atmosphere!”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Great pasta for lunch & dinner. Nice bar and nice dining room along with a sidewalk dining area. Can't go wrong with this place.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bev E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Smiling service”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husband and I ate here twice and thoroughly enjoyed the food and ambience. The manager Tutti and his wife were helpful, charming and good fun. We were well looked after and felt valued as customers. Sure it's not cheap, but in Aspen terms it is very good value indeed. The beef short rib was excellent.. We recommend!!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ute City Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing