We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real USA Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Zanes Tavern

Zanes Tavern
Ranked #41 of 160 Restaurants in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Real USA Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Good Margaritas and yummy chicken wings in a cosy bar perfect after skiing. It was very much a young men's bar.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    29
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northeast US
Level Contributor
162 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“hidden local hangout”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

neat bar in Aspen. Feels like a local joint. Basic bar. Had the fish tacos which were very good and well priced. You can eat quite a bit for not too much money. Old wood bar feel, not fancy.
bartender was doing table service. had to get the bartenders attention for more drinks, not really a big deal for me. good local joint.
would definitely go again. don't be shy about asking for things. If you want to be waited on like a king or queen, this is not the place for you. good food, good price, neat atmosphere then this is the place for you

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 29paskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best wings in Aspen!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I travel to Aspen a few times per year and this is always one of my stops! Great little local bar,good food and a fun atmosphere! There are plenty of TV's around and the staff is always great. I always order their chicken wings,which are great but they have other typical types of food you would find at a pub! Overall a great stop and hangout in Aspen!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jawa1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generatorx
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“locals bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Cheaps drinks, cheap good food and a local bar to make you feel like a local. Lots of TV to watch sports and the kitchen is right in the middle of the barr. Pretty cool place! We went every night!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank generatorx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
124 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Crazy young and busy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

After research we decided to check out Zanes for football. Just about everyone was a shade over 21 and it felt a little like a frat house. I don't believe anyone was watching any of the college games. The bartender was very attentive and polite offering great service.
The menu is basic (wings, tacos, sandwiches, etc). We tried the fish and chicken tacos and they were great.
I gave this an average because it was "very" good but good - so if we had a good option, that would be the proper choice. The ambiance is blah, I'm sure it would be better during the summer months when the patio area is open or during ski season because it's so close to the mountain.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank PalmBeacher06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zanes Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Zanes Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing