We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Fresh Fruit Miniature Pies” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Das Meyer Fine Pastry Chalet

Das Meyer Fine Pastry Chalet
Ranked #3 of 10 Dessert in Arvada
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
436 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Excellent Fresh Fruit Miniature Pies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

They go fast! Try the fresh fruit miniature tart pies. The off street site, quaint farm house setting, surrounded by large trees seems like you have gone into grandma's house for your favorite childhood treats.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    5
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

The pastries are very fancy and taste good but tend to be on the high end of the price list. I thought the staff seemed aloof when I had questions about the food before I purchased it for a meeting.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Esther_Roybal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best cakes & pastries EVER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

The best! They did our wedding cake. Go in for coffee & pastries too!

Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place for coffee and pastry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

Das Meyer is a family owned and operated business that has a small area for having a cup of coffee or tea and one of their delicious, made on the premises pastries. We love the neighborhood feel of the place. It also does an amazing job on decorating birthday, wedding and other kinds of cakes. Check it out!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Exploremore08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
202 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“It's a cake shop/bakery! Tea and bikkies.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

After driving past this for so long curiosity finally got the better of me. Quaint Germanic setting - except for all the gargoyles - with a white timber building with light green shutters and trim, I can imagine if they spruce it up a little it would make a delightful reception location for low-key wedding or anniversary (although the garden area is right along W 64th Ave with no hedge or fence to deflect traffic noise). They have a function facility set in an old home with the same basic Germanic style and a shop to the side where they operate their bakery.

The bakery / tea room is adorned with extravagant wedding and ceremonial cakes on display in an assortment of detail and creativity; a quick tour around the room is a must! On this day there were two "cake consultants"(?) and another few ladies working behind the counter.

It would be a fun place to return with a friend to take a seat by the window and have a cup of tea and something tasty from their pastry collection. They offer coffee from a standard drip filter machine so this is no connoisseur coffee shop so to speak - it's basically tea and bikkies.

My inference from the visit is that they run an eventful cake baking/decorating service in an inviting surrounds. Friendly too. ... I didn't ask what was up with all the gargoyles though ...

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IMJetlagged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Das Meyer Fine Pastry Chalet also viewed

 

Been to Das Meyer Fine Pastry Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing