We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once Great, has fallen notably”

Golden Europe Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 261 Restaurants in Arvada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: German, Polish, Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Level Contributor
132 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Once Great, has fallen notably”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We were among this restaurant's very first customers when we lived nearby and went literally weekly. We returned after a moderate absence all ready for really exceptional food and got merely very good. Once one of the best restaurants in Denver area, period, it is no longer. The Red Cabbage is like out of a can, new recipe unappetizing. Main entrees and some desserts are rather good, but some are average at best.

It is still a very good value and things such as the wursts and schnitzel are rather good, but the sauces are compromised vs. the originals. My heritage is the three cuisines featured here - German, Czech and Polish, so i should know. Not up to the old standards, waaaah. Still a great place nonetheless and a great spot for European Beer instead of all that "Craft" stuff that is so out of balance.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank redanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    18
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Taste of "home"”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

If you're missing Central European cuisine offered in larger cities, this is a perfect place for good Czech and German food, not to mention an excellent representation of proper European beers (pivo!)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank lpdesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
108 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“German, Austrian, Czech cuisine”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

If you like honest straightforward German food in a unassuming location, eating with locals, and having very large portions of tasty food, this is the place for you.

Try the liver dumpling soup - they serve it every day. They are famous for their Svickova. (Czech style sauerbrauten - lightly marinated beef topped with sour cream gravy). The servings are very generous, including the sides. The sauerkraut and red cabbage and spaetzle were authentic and delicious.

Save room for the apple strudel with ice cream.

You won't go home hungry, but you will go home happy.

They are closed Sundays and Mondays and the month of July.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Crookedridges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I enjoyed our meal here. It was very good. I ordered the duck and it was prepared very skillfully. Duck can be greasy if not done right. The pork cutlet was also yummy.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther_Roybal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, CO
Level Contributor
113 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very Good, Why Did We Wait?”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We have lived in the area for over 15 years and have driven by this restaurant at least once per day and were always skeptical. We recently visited Germany and wanted to find similar fare locally and decided to give it a try based on reviews. We are so glad we did and are sad we waited so long. The restaurant was packed when we arrived but we were accomidated quicly with friendly servers. We were quickly served drinks and bread by a firendly Gentleman. The schnapps was very good as was the beer. The Roast Beef was tender enought to cut with the fork and very delicious. My Husband order the Weiner Schnitzel, Pork Sausage and Duck combination which was more than he could finish in one sitting. While not all of the food tasted authentic to Germany, we did not expect a perfect match but were very satisfied and will definately be back.Good Service, Great Food and Very Clean and Cheery!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fifidudedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Europe Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Golden Europe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing