We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent vacation destination.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antonito
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rainbow Trout Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An excellent vacation destination.”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

The Rainbow Trout Ranch is a very well run operation in a family oriented environment. They have excellent staff, horses, lodging and food and there are many options for activities; horseback riding, fly fishing, hiking, or just taking it easy on the big porch. We just returned from out third visit and each time we meet wonderful people and have a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
128
45
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, GA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

My husband and I started taking our three children to the Rainbow Trout Ranch back in 1996 and we've been back every year since! Now, we are accompanied by our grandchildren as well. It is truly the perfect family vacation because there is something for everyone: activities for the different aged kids; fishing the Conejos River; eating wonderful home-cooked food; hiking the trails; relaxing on the porch of the old picturesque lodge or the porch of your pine cabin; enjoying the breathtaking views of the San Juan Mountains; and, of course, horseback riding. It is the riding program that I think makes this dude ranch stand out among all the others. The emphasis is on SAFETY with plenty of instruction, the horses are excellent, and the trail riding into the mountains is such a heady experience! For teens and adults (and weather and fire conditions permitting), there is even an overnight campout which always proves to be the hightlight of our family's stay. You would think that we would tire of all this, year after year, but we've found that each visit is very different from the last- different guests, different staff, different weather, etc. However, what always remains the same is the incredibly wonderful hospitality shown to us by the owners and operators of the Rainbow Trout Ranch, the Van Berkum family. They have provided experiences that have filled our past with so many fantastic memories and they stoke our imagination for future visits. By the way, I highly recommend a day or two visit in Santa Fe before drivng to the ranch. It gives you a chance to acclimate to the altitude, enjoy New mexican cuisine, and buy western wear (although you don't really need it at the ranch but it sure does make it more fun!). And, I also suggest taking the route up through O'keefe country and through the little town of Chama, NM where you might get a glimpse of the Cumbre-Toltec train. Happy Trails!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Timetraveler48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeburg, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2011

This ranch is one of 7 Guest (Dude) ranches we have visited over the last 16 years (2nd time here). It is by far the best. 8800 feet in the Rockies with breath taking views in all directions. The owners and staff provide 5 star service.

Room Tip: 20 cabins all good suited to size of family/group
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshine3708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

This was our 1st visit to a dude ranch and this one exceeded our expectations. First, the setting is stunning - in the Southern Rockies with a river running through it. The Van Berkum family is very hands on and does a nice job making everyone feel welcome and at home. There is a terrific horse program for all levels of ability. The horses were well-trained and responsive. The kid's program and counselors were outstanding. My 6 year old son had never been on a horse before and was loping comfortably by the end of the week. The food was almost all homemade and very good. I highly recommend this ranch for any family looking for a true western experience!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerry22201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Our experience at Rainbow Trout Ranch was wonderful! The Van Berkum family are all wonderful and really know how to run a dude ranch. Each member of their family adds a special touch to the whole atmosphere of the ranch. The horse program is woderful! The food and the overall hospitality is great. My family, which includes four children 9-14 years of age, all had a great time and want to go back. The staff of young adults they hire are truly exceptional. We also were able to meet some other really nice families. It was sad to see the vacation come to an end but we hope to go back next summer!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

I can't say enough about this place. The owners which included Doug, Linda, Jane and Dave go absolutely out of their way to make sure your holiday is the best it can be. The staff of college age kids were awesome. If you want to go to a dude ranch, you are crazy if you do not go to this place. I felt more at home here than when at my real home.

Food is good and served family style. There are a few things I would change but I was pleased with the food and there was plenty of it.

The childrens program was excellent. Absolutely the best.

We had incredible rainbow trout fishing while we were there. My ten year old caught a couple of rainbows that must have been 20 inches.

It takes a bit of effort to get to the ranch but it is worth it. I plan to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sromero100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Every year, I nag my parents to come here because, it is the best vacation experience I ever had. It has the excitement of Disneyworld mixed with the friendliness of sleepaway camp and the relaxation of a spa. no matter what age you are, you will always have something to do. The staff is amazing, making sure everyone is comfortable and having fun. The family that runs the ranch gives definition to Western hospitality. The food is great, and the staff is willing to make special preparations for you if you certain dietary needs or a picky eater on your hands. RTR is truly the greatest experience of my life.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mybuddy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Antonito
21.2 mi away
Chama River Bend Lodge
21.4 mi away
Elkhorn Lodge Chama
Elkhorn Lodge Chama
#3 of 8 in Chama
97 reviews
20.6 mi away
Narrow Gauge Railroad Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Steam Train Hotel
Steam Train Hotel
#2 of 4 in Antonito
77 reviews
20.8 mi away
Indiana Jones Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Trout Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Trout Ranch

Property: Rainbow Trout Ranch
Address: 1484 Fdr 250, P.O. Box 458, Antonito, CO 81120-9303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Antonito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Antonito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular guest ranch set at 9000' in the southern Colorado Rockies. Superb riding and fishing, fun kids' and teen programs, evening activities, trapshooting and more. The adventure of a lifetime. Share our special brand of western hospitality and see why folks keep coming back for more! Member of all accredited associations, Horse Safety certified. Top Ten Dude Ranch. Signature Ranch. All-inclusive, and exclusive. Wonderful experience in every way. Come share it with us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rainbow Trout Ranch Hotel Antonito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing