We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely respite, very comfortable lodging”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Comfort Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Alma B&B and Inns
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely respite, very comfortable lodging”
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We spent a night at Mountain Comfort in Alma, Colorado, to celebrate our anniversary. We were delighted with the lovely Mountain Comfort - and comfortable it is! Our room - the Log Cabin room - came with a large bathroom, gas fireplace. It was quiet and private. We took wonderful hikes right from the front door to see the golden aspens. Breakfast was so plentiful that we didn't need lunch while hiking the Coiorado Trail. At night, after a good dinner at the little Italian restaurant down the road in Fairplay, we sat in the 64-jetted hot tub under a clear, starry sky, listening to elk bugling. Sandy and Ernie went out of their way to meet our every need and to make this a wonderful, memorable mini-vacation.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Insalata17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
53
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

We've twice taken our cast and crew to Mountain Comfort B&B for our television series LIP'EM & RIP'EM with Lefty Larsen. We videotaped Ernie & Sandy's beautiful Bed & Breakfast and have featured it numerous times on our tv series. It is warm, comfortable, centrally located to Fairplay and Breckenridge, and the food is great. We still talk about our "to go" breakfast of hot eggs, sausage, cheese, and hashbrowns, all combined in a steaming hot cup as we head out fishing at 5am. LOVED IT! Check them out on LIP'EM & RIP'EM on the Sportsman Channel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TVPro2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Springs, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2010

This B & B is a gem in the mountains as described in other reviews. The overwhelming personal attention of Sandy and Ernie to their guests' comfort and well-being is unique in our many years of travels. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with them and hope to come back for a future vacation. We highly recommend Mountain Comfort B & B.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkonecny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Springs, MO
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

A bed-and-breakfast owner needs to strike a fine balance between friendliness and obtrusiveness. The owners here strike that balance perfectly. They were welcoming and inviting, but had the sensitivity and tact to give us our privacy and leave us alone when we wanted it.

The breakfasts were awesome, and the evening desserts were as well - not an easy feat when baking at 10,000 feet or so.

Our room was very comfortable - fireplace, luxurious bed, jacuzzi tub - and they thought of everything: free hot chocolate, hot tea, coffee, popcorn for movie watching, large DVD collection.

We will definitely go back if we get a chance. It's a great base from which to climb any of the local 14-ers - Democrat, Lincoln, Bross, Quandary, Sherman, etc. and then come back to a great bed and a hot tub on the deck.

Thanks Ernie and Sandy - we'll recommend this to everyone!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madfrisbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, CO
1 review
Reviewed December 13, 2009

We had such an amazing time. The B&B is beautiful with cleverly decorated rooms. We stayed in the Moose room. Breakfasts were so delicious. The owners were warm and welcoming. We came as strangers and we left as friends. It would be a great place for a wedding.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jreu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2009

My son, Daniel, and I were hosted by proprietors Ernie and Sandy Dumas for two days after climbing several 14,000 foot peaks in the area. We were overwhelmed by the Dumas' warm welcome and attention to detail. They took us in as if family, and we traded tales and information about the local area, our common Midwestern roots, the joys and perils of raising kids today -- you name it.

My nine-year-old and I were both awed by the fanciest hot tub west of the Mississippi, which allows you to sit back and be worked over by multiple pulses of water as you stare up into the star-stuffed Colorado night sky while being lightly bombarded by built-in water fountains. Just what the doctor ordered after a hard day's climb.

My son also was quite impressed by the wild rabbits on the property, the fabulous breakfast prepared by Sandy (banana "split"?), and the array of kid-friendly games on hand (after a try or two, he finally beat the take-no-prisoners Sandy in Sorry).

Ernie saved the day for us with critical advice on local eating, fishing and weather. He even gets credit for preventing Daniel from continuing to suffer from altitude sickness, as he directed us to a natural remedy sold at the local Al-Mart store in Alma, CO used effectively by endurance athletes. We swear by it now, as Daniel summitted two more Fourteeners after leaving the Mountain Comfort B&B and never felt any ill effects after popping a pill or two each morning.

The place was designed and practically built by the Dumas' all by themselves, and their attention to detail and insistence on quality shows. When we arrived, we found them out back staining the log walls to meet their own exacting standards. That type of focus and care is evident throughout the B & B, with the two having designed the place themselves and Sandy having decorated each room to a particular wildlife theme.

Staying at the Mountain Comfort offers the odd but welcome combination of low-tech outdoors activities and high-tech indoor amenities. For instance, the last time we saw Ernie he was taking a guest to show her the take-off point for a day hike on Mosquito Pass; yet the previous evening another guest (and Daniel) had been pleased as punch to watch the Denver Broncos' preseason game on a mammoth 77 inch screen in the loft that rises off the resort's spacious common room. Something for everybody.

I'm sure there are plenty of beautiful mountain resorts sprinkled across this grand land. What makes the Mountain Comfort B & B so special is the ease and common purpose that defines Sandy and Ernie's relationship. Their joking-yet-tender comfort with each other is palpable and genuine, and that, along with their joint determination to make their retirement B & B dream succeed, is what truly makes this place stand out from other B & B's I've visited over the years.

Scott O.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2009

Fantasitic View
Many Many amenities
Like new condition
Spacious room
Great for Reunion or wedding
Friendly and helpful hosts
Away from the maddening crowds
Super family friendly, thinks for the kids
Top service oriented BandB

Just book a visit and you will see....

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cokidco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alma
4.7 mi away
A Riverside Inn Hotel
A Riverside Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fairplay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
13.3 mi away
Delaware Hotel
Delaware Hotel
#1 of 9 in Leadville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
14.4 mi away
Wedgewood Lodge
Wedgewood Lodge
#2 of 23 in Breckenridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#11 of 23 in Breckenridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Fairplay Hotel
The Fairplay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fairplay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Western Inn Motel & RV Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Comfort Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Comfort Bed & Breakfast

Property: Mountain Comfort Bed & Breakfast
Address: 52516 Highway 9, Alma, CO 80420
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Alma
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Alma
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Comfort is a new ten inch log b and b 17 miles south of Breckenridge Colorado on Highway 9. We boast of five 14 thousand foot peaks out our front window. The rural setting is quite, majestic and relaxing. Each bedroom has its own Jacuzzi, 27 inch flat screen TV, DVD player, satellite receiver with in-floor heat. We serve the most delicious breakfasts that will surely fill your tummy for the remainder of the day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing