We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay anywhere else in Alma”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Comfort Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Alma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2009

We had such an amazing time. The B&B is beautiful with cleverly decorated rooms. We stayed in the Moose room. Breakfasts were so delicious. The owners were warm and welcoming. We came as strangers and we left as friends. It would be a great place for a wedding.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jreu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 110 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2009

My son, Daniel, and I were hosted by proprietors Ernie and Sandy Dumas for two days after climbing several 14,000 foot peaks in the area. We were overwhelmed by the Dumas' warm welcome and attention to detail. They took us in as if family, and we traded tales and information about the local area, our common Midwestern roots, the joys and perils of raising kids today -- you name it.

My nine-year-old and I were both awed by the fanciest hot tub west of the Mississippi, which allows you to sit back and be worked over by multiple pulses of water as you stare up into the star-stuffed Colorado night sky while being lightly bombarded by built-in water fountains. Just what the doctor ordered after a hard day's climb.

My son also was quite impressed by the wild rabbits on the property, the fabulous breakfast prepared by Sandy (banana "split"?), and the array of kid-friendly games on hand (after a try or two, he finally beat the take-no-prisoners Sandy in Sorry).

Ernie saved the day for us with critical advice on local eating, fishing and weather. He even gets credit for preventing Daniel from continuing to suffer from altitude sickness, as he directed us to a natural remedy sold at the local Al-Mart store in Alma, CO used effectively by endurance athletes. We swear by it now, as Daniel summitted two more Fourteeners after leaving the Mountain Comfort B&B and never felt any ill effects after popping a pill or two each morning.

The place was designed and practically built by the Dumas' all by themselves, and their attention to detail and insistence on quality shows. When we arrived, we found them out back staining the log walls to meet their own exacting standards. That type of focus and care is evident throughout the B & B, with the two having designed the place themselves and Sandy having decorated each room to a particular wildlife theme.

Staying at the Mountain Comfort offers the odd but welcome combination of low-tech outdoors activities and high-tech indoor amenities. For instance, the last time we saw Ernie he was taking a guest to show her the take-off point for a day hike on Mosquito Pass; yet the previous evening another guest (and Daniel) had been pleased as punch to watch the Denver Broncos' preseason game on a mammoth 77 inch screen in the loft that rises off the resort's spacious common room. Something for everybody.

I'm sure there are plenty of beautiful mountain resorts sprinkled across this grand land. What makes the Mountain Comfort B & B so special is the ease and common purpose that defines Sandy and Ernie's relationship. Their joking-yet-tender comfort with each other is palpable and genuine, and that, along with their joint determination to make their retirement B & B dream succeed, is what truly makes this place stand out from other B & B's I've visited over the years.

Scott O.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scotteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2009

Fantasitic View
Many Many amenities
Like new condition
Spacious room
Great for Reunion or wedding
Friendly and helpful hosts
Away from the maddening crowds
Super family friendly, thinks for the kids
Top service oriented BandB

Just book a visit and you will see....

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cokidco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

My wife and I just got back from a one night stay here. From the moment we walked in the door until the time we left, we were treated like family--no, REALLY, she hugged us! Sandy is the most amazing host and goes out of her way to make sure you have the best experience possible (she even volunteers to take care of details you didn't even think of). She makes Mrs. Doubtfire look lazy!

The rooms are cozy and the amenities will exceed your expectations. They have wireless, Cable, DVDs, games, and even exercise equipment! And Sandy makes a pretty mean breakfast (wear something with a loose waistband in the morning).

The view from the 2nd floor great room is awesome and we saw lots of wildlife on the property like coyotes, hummingbirds, squirrels, etc.

Overall, our night there was unforgettable and we're planning on coming back in the fall. Above the door on your way out, there's a sign that reads, "Come in as strangers, leave as friends". I think that is an apt description of our description and all the others we met there.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasonklass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

We traveled to this quaint B&B last month. We have some land in Hartsel and just wanted to check out the scenery. I found this lovely place on the internet and boy, were we surprised when we got there. It was everything we wanted to build on our land and they beat us to it. No, it's a lovely place and the hospitality was unbelieveable. Sandy and Ernie go out of their way to make sure you have a good time. We missed the stage coach which tells you that you've arrived and ended up at the post office and the post office guided us back down the road so be sure to look for the stagecoach as your entrance. We wish Ernie and Sandy the best and will be praying for them that their B&B stays full and that everyone enjoyed it as much as we did.

Faye & Stan Adams

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fayeellen58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2009

Sandy and Ernie are so nice and welcoming to their special log home! We spent Christmas at their cabin and thouroughly enjoyed ourselves. The hot tub, jacuzzi tubs, hot choco, and food were all amazing! Thank you so much! We will be back. M & A U from COS

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank struben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2009

Sandy and Ernie, proprietors of the Mountain Comfort Bed and Breakfast, really go out of their way to make sure that you have a wonderful time. As an example, Sandy baked us an anniversary cake and printed pictures of our anniversary dinner. The bed and breakfast itself is nice with great mountain views and comfortable, well-decorated rooms. The breakfast was enjoyable, but not gourmet. Last but not least, the stay includes access to the "Cadillac of hot tubs", an experience not to be missed!

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank miatatroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountain Comfort Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Comfort Bed & Breakfast

Address: 52516 Highway 9, Alma, CO 80420
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Alma
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Alma
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Comfort is a new ten inch log b and b 17 miles south of Breckenridge Colorado on Highway 9. We boast of five 14 thousand foot peaks out our front window. The rural setting is quite, majestic and relaxing. Each bedroom has its own Jacuzzi, 27 inch flat screen TV, DVD player, satellite receiver with in-floor heat. We serve the most delicious breakfasts that will surely fill your tummy for the remainder of the day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing