We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“relaxation”

Review of The Refuge

The Refuge
Beautiful vacation spot close tp RMNP
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Refuge
Beautiful vacation spot close tp RMNP
Fully-equipped Kitchen
Including washer/dryer Sleep well on a comfortable king sized bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
12 reviews
The Refuge
Beautiful vacation spot close tp RMNP
Fully-equipped Kitchen
Including washer/dryer
Sleep well on a comfortable king sized bed
2nd Bedroom
With double bed
Hot Tub 
your own private hot tub in the woods
Elk Wandering Through
Grazing by the shed
Sunrise at The Refuge
An awesome surprise at daybreak
Beautiful Mountain Scenery
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Allenspark, Rocky Mountain National Park, Colorado

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rose Ann...
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Buyer beware”
Reviewed May 16, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
3
people found this review helpful

This was a nice enough property, although as other reviews have noted, it is actually the basement level of a home. The accommodations were spacious and well appointed. HOWEVER - there is a deposit required to rent this property. In my 40 years of renting cabins in this area, I have never been asked to give a deposit. To make matters worse, our deposit was not fully refunded because the manager said we had used Netflix, (we hadn't, but were still charged $15), and also charged us a handling fee to return our deposit. Attempts to rectify this with the manager were unsuccessful, and she has declined to return our calls. I would not recommend this property to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View of mountains
Liked least: Deposit is a scam
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2016
Unfortunately Pinebrook is totally in agreement with this review. The whole thing was a comedy of errors. We were just in our infancy of doing credit card payments on our web site. These guests shouldn't have been charged a handling fee and when we checked back with our satellite TV suppliers we found (after the fact) that it wasn't these guests who had used Netflix. We had been given wrong information. We are extremely sorry for all of this and have since returned the charges and compensated the guests for the inconvenience.
Sandy at Pinebrook
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B
Ham Lake, Minnesota
1 review
“relaxation”
Reviewed October 14, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

wonderful vacation rental, very clean and well equipped kitchen. Sandy and her staff are outstanding!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this very nice review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Pinebrook
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
osceola wisconsin
Reviewed October 24, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. Yes, we are up in the "boonies" and arriving before dark is a good plan.

Sandy
Pinebrook Vacation Rentals
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kfar Vradim - Israel
Reviewed October 19, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We look forward to your next visit.

Sandy
Pinebrook Vacation Rentals
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wisconsin
Reviewed September 27, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kathy W
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An OK stay, with problems.”
Reviewed September 18, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

The refuge is the lower level of a lady's house. Lots of natural light for a basement - every room has windows, but it is still a basement and smells a little musty. The bigger problem is that you can hear the owner, she has a small dog which barks often (odd she doesn't allow pets in the rental), and while we were there she had numerous social functions with lots of guests. It was quiet in the evening, and when we complained about the dog, we got a sincere apology. We got a 2 BR as we wanted not to have to share a room, but the mattress in the smaller BR is old, worn out, and at 4 am on the first night i gave up and moved into the comfortable large bed in the master BR with my friend. This wasn't really a problem, but we paid for 2 BRs, so it would have been nice to use it. The whole rental is quite large, has a hot tub ( which we didn't use) and satellite tv. Nice kitchen, but oddly few glasses. The weather wasn't great when we were there so we had to spend more time in the rental than we would have liked, which probably led to a more critical review than we normally would have had we been out hiking all day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Horrible Mattress, barking dog.
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2011
The homeowner was mortified that her dog barked while she ran an errand when the guests were there. When the guests told her, she took her dog with her after that. He is getting old and she won't be leaving him at the cabin alone any more.

Haven't had a complaint on the smaller mattress before this but will certainly consider getting a new one. Thanks for telling us more glasses are needed. That has been taken care of.

The owner hosts a knitting group of 4 or 5 women on Tuesday mornings. Usually the weather is good and guests are enjoying the park etc.

Sometimes the weather doesn't cooperate and we're sorry that had to happen.

Pinebrook
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale1008
West Bend, WI
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent home for a week at Rocky National Park.”
Reviewed July 31, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Arrived late on 7/21. It is a bit hard to find in the dark. It is located on a gravel road about 2 miles outside of Allenspark. Beautiful location if you are looking for a quiet setting. The house had everything we needed for the week. The kids (15,13,11) took turns sleeping on the pull out couch (it could use a new matress) as the 2 bedroom house includes a full bed in each room. The two bedrooms were very nice. Washer and dryer was included. Nice size house for family of 5. Great location if looking to do hiking in the Rocky Mtn Park. Only 40 minutes from Boulder and 20 minutes from Estes Park. The house was very clean and well kept up. The kitchen was well stocked for all the utensils we needed. The gas grill on the deck was great. The hot tub worked fine and was a nice touch in the evening after a day of hiking. The house is on the lower level as the owner lives in the main level, or upstairs. Very nice lady. We would definitely stay at the Refuge again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location in the moutains.
Liked least: Sofa pull out matress not very comfortable.
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;