We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Alamosa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Alamosa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Comfortable, clean and always friendly personnel greet you at this Alamosa, Colorado, hotel. San Luis Valley is desolate. The Holiday Inn Express is a welcoming place were you'll get a good night sleep. Room layout and accommodations are perfect - price is a little high. After a long day on the road you'll get a great nights' sleep. Breakfast in the morning is extensive and hot items are offered.
Great Wi-Fi at the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cozephyr1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlamosaGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the hotel. The staff strives to make every stay a great one, come back and see us soon!
GM-Deborah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 304 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013

This is one of the loveliest Holiday Inn Express's we have stayed in....room was nice and breakfast great. The hotel was decorated for Christmas to get us in the Spirit of the Season! We had trouble with the thermostat in our room so we shut it off for the night and the room stayed warm with single digit temps outside. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Hotel is close to the wonderful Sand Dunes
Hot Springs pool with water at 97*, we will comeback to this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the busy hi-way:) above lobby side for a good nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole3218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlamosaGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you for your comments on our hotel....the lobby does look like a winter wonderland with snowflakes all over.
Please come back and see us soon!
GM-Deborah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Arrived in Alamosa, late, the night before a backpack trip in the mountains. Nice staff, nice room, nice breakfast, nice price. Staff member, Deanna, gave us recommendation to best burger joint in town (Wise Apples). Bonus: Hotel is across the street from Kristi's Mountain Sports (outdoor gear store). What more can I say? Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for room facing away from highway (third floor is best).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlamosaGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thanks for the time writing a review of our hotel. We ARE located next to Kristi Mountain sports and did you know that a family can rent sand boards there for the Sand Dunes Nat'l Park too.
Glad you enjoyed the hotel...come back and see us soon!
GM-Deborah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Alamosa's a small town whose economy runs on tourism, agriculture, and a college. It's on two US highways near the Colorado-New Mexico border so it's a natural stop-over. There are dozens of places to stay, ranging from the dodgy old dives dating back to the forties and fifties to many built in the 60's and 70's to handle the road warriors coming through. Holiday Inn Express is the best place in town, and is among the newer properties. It's clean, comfortable and fairly quiet, considering it's right next to US 160. Front desk people were exceptionally friendly when I checked in and have always managed to say hi when I walked by. There's an indoor pool/hot tub facility that looks exceptionally well tended along with an exercise room that has professional looking gear. The breakfast room is a cut or two above average food-wise but what makes it work is the staff: a couple of women who keep the food fresh and the tables clean, not to mention having a cheerful morning greeting for guests. I've been coming through Alamosa for many years and this was my first shot at this place. It has now become my first choice.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms face the highway but have a view of the San Luis Valley. Even numbers face the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank consumerchamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlamosaGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for your loyalty and for staying at my hotel. The comments regarding my staff will be passed along...and go on our "wall of fame" for them.
The staff is proud to service our guests and again thank you for your comments and come back and see us soon.
GM-Deborah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We needed a place to stay as we traveled from Durango to Denver. This was a beautiful hotel, well appointed and conveniently located within walking distance to a new Walmart and Dollar Tree. The staff was well trained, friendly and helpful. the breakfast was the best I've seen for a Hotel and there were several attendants checking the temperature and quality of the food. The indoor pool and spa were immaculate and a very inviting shade of blue. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shopavecme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlamosaGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thanks for your comments on my hotel, we appreciate our guests taking time to rate us!
My staff and I are dedicated to our guests and i am excited to see that we met your expectations in every way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

For the past few months, I've had to stay in Alamosa on a weekly basis due to my work schedule. As I have done in the past, I chose Holiday Inn Express due to consistency with their accomodations and overall facilities. After my first night, there was no doubt that I would be staying there till my work was done. The front desk (Janelle, Deanna, Brandi and Sara) are always friendly with a welcoming smile and ready to go the extra mile to make sure I have a pleasant stay. Housekeeping does a great job with the rooms, ( I must have stayed in all of them) always confortable and clean. Wendy and Desire' work very hard to have a hot breakfast ready by 6:30, ( service is better that many restaurants I have visited).
Never met anyone from maintanance, maybe because they stay on top of any issues so the guests don't have to worry?
Nice size indoor pool to relax in and a confortable exercise room next to it makes this a "home away from home".
With Wolf Creek Ski area an hour west and The Sand Dunes 30 min. east, this is the perfect hotel to stay at for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucianoItri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlamosaGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

THANK YOU for taking the time to review my hotel. THE TRUE TEST OF ANY HOTEL IS OUR LONG TERM STAY GUESTS for they see it all both the good and the not so good.
I am pleased that the hotel is your "home away from home"...we appreciate your business and your loyalty. I will pass your comments along to my staff...and as always
Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Alamosa
GM-Deborah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Rather than stick blindly to just one chain, I use TripAdvisor to select the hotels we use on our trips. This Holiday Inn in Alamosa has got to be a real jewel in their chain. It stands up to any hotel in its class and beats many of those more deluxe hotels that charge much more. The room had all the facilities, including a large counter in the bathroom, the new "easy to keep clean" TV remote, etc. An extra mirror above my desk was a nice touch. A good night's sleep is the first requirement, of course, and that was no problem here. The bed was very comfortable and we heard no noises at all during the night--very quiet. But the highlight has to be the breakfast room. It is large with regular, identical tables and chairs rather than a hodgepodge of different furniture. The layout was good, too, with good spacing to avoid congesting spots. And the ladies that work there are the real secret. Many breakfast areas have one person, maybe good, maybe not, trying to handle the whole thing. Difficult at best. I saw three different ladies, at least, working this breakfast, even though this was not a busy day and there weren't many guests eating. The breakfast hours are from 6:30 to 9:30. Would you believe I saw a lady bringing out fresh bacon at 9:22? By then, most would be shutting down already. So, well done, Holiday Inn. You could teach other hotels how to do business.

Room Tip: We chose a room away from the highway to avoid traffic noise. I don't know if it would have bee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ArtColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlamosaGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

I thank you for your review of my hotel. We are fortunate for I believe we have the largest breakfast room ever!! The hotel mantra is "JUST DO IT RIGHT" and this is what the Holiday Inn Express Alamosa does.
I am pleased that you found your room accomodations pleasing also.
Come back and visit us real soon !
GM-Deborah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alamosa hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 14 in Alamosa
596 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamosa
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Alamosa
Hampton Inn Alamosa
#3 of 14 in Alamosa
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Alamosa Inn
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Alamosa
Super 8 Alamosa
#2 of 14 in Alamosa
670 reviews
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Alamosa
Days Inn Alamosa
#7 of 14 in Alamosa
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa

Address: 3418 Mariposa St, Alamosa, CO 81101-2053
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Alamosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alamosa
#4 Family Hotel in Alamosa
#5 Business Hotel in Alamosa
Price Range: $94 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guests voted Holiday Inn Express & Suites as ALAMOSA's #1 HOTEL IN THE SOUTHWEST/SOUTHEAST REGION 2014 !! Enjoy the beautiful surroundings of Alamosa, Colorado's best kept secret, with over 300 days of sunshine each year. Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alamosa welcomes you to the gateway of the Great Sand Dunes National Park, Rio Grande Scenic Railroads, the Cumbres and Toltec Scenic Railroad. Our NEWLY RENOVATED 2014 hotel offers luxurious amenities to keep you comfortable. All our executive rooms are equipped with refrigerators, microwaves, hair dryers, cable TV and FREE high-speed Wi-Fi Internet throughout the entire hotel. We have a guest laundry facility, fitness center, indoor pool, hot tub and sauna. The front desk is staffed 24 hrs a day, offering message and FAX services along with a business center with computer/printer use. Utilize our meeting/conference room and business center for your corporate meeting or your special occasion. After a restful night sleep, enjoy our DELUXE complimentary 16 ITEM EXPRESS START hot breakfast bar. Visit Alamosa, CO and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites where your satisfaction is our priority making your stay a memorable one while in Alamosa, CO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa Hotel Alamosa
Holiday Inn Express Alamosa
Holiday Inn Alamosa
Alamosa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing