We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Alamosa
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

New hotel. Very clean and nice. Staff were very friendly and attentive. The rooms were large and well furnished. Fresh cookies in the evening and hot breakfast in the morning. Nicest hotel in Alamosa and the price is reasonable. Will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NMfore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlamosaGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your feedback...YES THE FRESH BAKED COOKIES NITGHTLY are a real treat, addictive too!!
Rooms are the largest in all of the Alamosa hotels...they are great and spacious.
Come back and see us soon....
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    83
    15
    14
    8
See reviews for
99
71
11
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

A good place if you're looking for somewhere to lay your head after a long trip (which we were). There isn't much there and it's on the edge of town so you need to drive realistically to get anywhere. The breakfast was disappointing, very limited selection and average quality. Plastic cutlery! No bar or restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arandu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlamosaGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your comments...we appreciate the favorable ones, but also appreciate the guest input on area's that we could improve. The breakfast is always changing...each day a new hot item, so the daily hot menu is varied, but we have many staple hot and cold items.
Did you try our signature Cinnamon Rolls that we get from Nemo's bakery in Chicago??
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
137 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here while visiting nearby wildlife refuges and riding the Cumbres and Toltec Scenic Railroad. Our room was very nice. The breakfast was excellent, served by a pair of friendly, helpful people. The evening snacks and drinks were nice.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JoefromOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlamosaGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your review...many of our guests simply love the evening welcome of fresh coffee, lemonade and our freshly baked cookies for all to enjoy. Glad you liked it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We spent one night at the Holiday Inn Express Suites at Alamosa in mid-September. It was a stop-over for us, on our way from Denver to Durango, so we weren't looking for anything fancy. Holiday Inn Express has a nice base-line that from hotel to hotel that we wanted and got: clean, well managed, nicely decorated/furnished, and a nice breakfast to get us on the way.

We arrived in the late afternoon to find the lobby filled with soccer players. Perhaps there had been a tournament? Soccer players were all over town. We worried about noise, especially since our room was close to the pool. However, the folks at the front desk seemed to have a handle on things and we even received a welcome bag with bottled water, a bag of chips and a welcoming note (all much appreciated!). That night the hotel was quiet or at least we didn't hear anything (good noise insulation/sound barriers between walls? good management keeping an eye on potential noise problems? tired soccer players?) and we got a great night's rest.

The room was clean and tidy and neat. Looked like they had done some fairly recent remodeling or redecorating. Room highlights: the hot water and the cinnamon scented toiletries.

The super highlight that made this place a memorable stop on our trip, however, was Ramona at the breakfast buffet. She was cheerful, on the ball, and helfpul. She made sure we had fresh coffee and walked around with fresh orange juice, offering it to those eating before she put it on the buffet. She also really talked up the cinnamon rolls. So helpful and great service. Ramona stood out on her own, but even more so after we stayed at another Holiday Inn Express property in Glenwood Springs later in the week. There, the person minding that buffet was more interested in the tv expose than the guests or the food. There, the food was fine, but the coffee was getting cool and the gravy for the buscuits was getting that layer on the top that happens when it sits too long under the heat lamps. When the pancake machine didn't work, it took awhile to get the attendant's attention and help. My husband and I both looked at eachother and knew what we were thinking...this Holiday Inn needed a Ramona to make our day start right!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Biblia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlamosaGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your review...our 16 item FREE hot breakfast buffet is a winner to all...and the breakfast staff is a plus when it comes to great customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed here one night and found our room very clean and the beds were quite comfortable. We got a restful night's sleep which we appreciated after a long drive that day. There is shopping and a Chili's restaurant close by where we had a good meal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerab55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlamosaGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is appreciated! Our Pillow toppers on all our beds are great and glad your nights stay was enjoyable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Holiday Inn Express in Alamosa, CO, overall is a nice hotel. We did not have any issues with this hotel until after we departed. They charged us $35.00 for 6 missing hangers which we did not take. We had several conversations with Deborah Clark, the General Manager of the hotel and explained that we did not take any of their hangers. She simply continued to chant over and over that there were 6 hangers missing from the room and therefore we were charged. I have worked in the travel business for 30+ years and have never been treated so poorly by a hotel General Manager and accused of being a thief and a liar. I suggested that they should have a checklist of all the standard items in a room to present to their guests upon checkin, and should also do a walk-thru with the staff to be certain that all listed items are actually in the room so as to avoid being charged erroneously after departure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Susanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlamosaGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
I understand concerns stated, did not make implications to guest just stated to the guest that all rooms have a standard room inventory and it is checked by our Executive housekeeper and the Manager after every guests stay. In the event of any missing item in the room during any guests stay , it is hotel policy that the guest be charged unless property is returned to the hotel.
I thank you for the comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had a wonderful stay until an erroneous $35 charge was found on my credit card bill several weeks after our stay. The General Manager, Deborah Clark, charged us for "hanger theft", even though we had numerous conversations on the phone explaining that we did not take 6 hangers from the room, nor were we even aware of any hangers in our room. We even suggested that she investigate possible employee theft, but Deborah would not budge. Deborah Clark kept repeating over and over again that it was "corporate policy". When we asked for the phone number of the contact person who was over her in their corporate office, Deborah even refused to provide that information.
Beware of erroneous charges on your credit card bill....Deborah may portray a "smooth as silk exterior", but Deborah's business practices are questionable. A word of advice....count your hangers upon entering your room and verify the quantity with Deborah first or you may receive unjust charges on your credit card bill. We are wondering if Deborah is stealing from the company while charging her clientele's credit cards. CHECK YOUR CREDIT CARD STATEMENT!

Room Tip: Count your hangers and towels - you may be unjustly charged for missing items.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 10coggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlamosaGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
I thank you for your comments, and certainly ment no implications as expressed to guest. All guest rooms have a standard room inventory and this is checked daily by the Executive Housekeeper and Manager. It is hotel policy that in the event an item is missing from the room that the guest will incur the replacement charge of that item unless the item is returned to the hotel, and lots of times items are returned.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alamosa
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 13 in Alamosa
4.5 of 5 stars 435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Alamosa
Hampton Inn Alamosa
#2 of 13 in Alamosa
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Alamosa Inn
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Alamosa
Super 8 Alamosa
#3 of 13 in Alamosa
4.0 of 5 stars 497 reviews
2.8 mi away
Days Inn Alamosa
Days Inn Alamosa
#7 of 13 in Alamosa
3.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa

Property: Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa
Address: 3418 Mariposa St, Alamosa, CO 81101-2053
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Alamosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alamosa
#4 Family Hotel in Alamosa
#5 Business Hotel in Alamosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guests voted Holiday Inn Express & Suites as ALAMOSA's #1 HOTEL IN THE SOUTHWEST/SOUTHEAST REGION 2014 !! Enjoy the beautiful surroundings of Alamosa, Colorado's best kept secret, with over 300 days of sunshine each year. Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alamosa welcomes you to the gateway of the Great Sand Dunes National Park, Rio Grande Scenic Railroads, the Cumbres and Toltec Scenic Railroad. Our NEWLY RENOVATED 2014 hotel offers luxurious amenities to keep you comfortable. All our executive rooms are equipped with refrigerators, microwaves, hair dryers, cable TV and FREE high-speed Wi-Fi Internet throughout the entire hotel. We have a guest laundry facility, fitness center, indoor pool, hot tub and sauna. The front desk is staffed 24 hrs a day, offering message and FAX services along with a business center with computer/printer use. Utilize our meeting/conference room and business center for your corporate meeting or your special occasion. After a restful night sleep, enjoy our DELUXE complimentary 16 ITEM EXPRESS START hot breakfast bar. Visit Alamosa, CO and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites where your satisfaction is our priority making your stay a memorable one while in Alamosa, CO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Suites Alamosa Hotel Alamosa
Holiday Inn Express Alamosa
Holiday Inn Alamosa
Alamosa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing