We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable and affordable”
Review of Valley Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Valley Motel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Alamosa
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and affordable”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The room was clean, the beds were comfortable, there was plenty of hot water and the breakfast, included in the low price, was the best we've had in any motel we have stayed in. Management is very friendly and accommodating. I'd stay here again if I was traveling through the area.

Room Tip: Room was on the small side but beds were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    43
    24
    10
    10
See reviews for
44
48
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
241 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Those who have followed my reviews know that when I give a budget hotel like the Valley Motel, I mean that this is a very good value for the money. We paid $60 bucks for the room using the 10% discount available on the hotel website. This is NOT a fancy place by any stretch of the imagination, but the room was clean, it has wireless internet and a good selection on Cable TV. The breakfast wasn't bad either. The Comfort Inn in Alamosa was asking almost twice as much per night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nils62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The owners are obviously trying very hard to upgrade this old motel and have invested in new tile floors in the baths and maybe new carpeting, but it was not a comfortable stay. There was not a shelf, rack or any surface in the bath to place so much as a tube of toothpaste and the sink hung at a precarious angle from the wall. Only one lamp in the room. We had to ask for hangers for the cubbyhole that was the closet. Hot water was frequently nonexistent and at other times scalding hot. After reading some "okay" reviews on trip advisor we decided to give them a try. Indeed they seemed to be booked up every night, but as I titled this review, I just can't recommend it, not even at half the price.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl5353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Fork, Colorado
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

My husband and I live 45 miles from this motel. We were going to spend the evening with friends and did not want to make the long drive home. we did not want to spend a lot of money, but wanted a good night's sleep in a clean room.

Throughout my life, I have passed by this motel literally hundreds of times. It has always been a quaint little motel. Recently, it came under new ownership. They literally worked it over from head to toe. The flooring was all brand new and our room was huge! Our particular room had 3 double beds and a sleeper sofa!

Another added bonus is the fact that they accept pets. We took our small dog for a minimal fee of $10. There was so much room! I don't believe all of the rooms are that large, but all of them have been refinished. We even had a mini fridge, a coffee pot, and a microwave oven.

They are still in the process of remodeling the motel. They do have plenty of rooms though! Being a native of the San Luis Valley, it warms my heart to see old businesses brought back to life. This is such a great area and so heavily traveled with tourists, it's nice to have some clean affordable places for people to stay.

The only reason I did not get this 5 stars across the board is because the door lock on our room did not work properly. The deadbolt would not work at all. I'm sure they will address this as they continue to improve the motel. We were not overly concerned, however, because Alamosa it is not a high crime location.

The room was spotless! If you are looking for high-end furnishings, this is not the place. If you are looking for a clean, comfortable, affordable motel, this is for you! The owners were very friendly! They were very concerned about meeting our needs. If we ever have to stay in Alamosa again, we will definitely be staying here!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PearmanCasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2012

The Valley Inn in Alamosa continuously works to make your stay comfortable and affordable. I work out of town and have stayed there for seven weeks. Walkways are well lit and noise is not a problem. I enjoy a coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave, cable TV and WI FI. Lately a phone has been added to my room. The beds are new and I get a great nights sleep. All this at a great rate.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2012

For some reason, Alamosa is not a great place to search for budget accommodations; everything is rather pricy. The Valley Motel stands out because for under $50, you get a clean, freshly remodeled room and a super friendly owner. my girlfriend and I stayed here on our way to the Sand Dunes Park, and we would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

I had a job interview in Alamosa and am currently unemployed so I needed a safe, clean room for a little money as possible. I found it! The hotel is apparently under new management and they are upgrading. I got a non-smoking, two double bed room with microwave, stove, and fridge for $50 TOTAL! That's after the 12% tax is added. It had a tv with remote and a kitchen table. Bathroom was fine (clean) and no better/worse than a Super 8 or Motel 6. The shower was hot, stayed hot and lots of fresh towels. The bathroom/kitchen area was a little cool but only b/c they are further away from the heater, which worked great by the way. The hotel is in a great location, the owners/clerk were friendly, and they serve a typical budget continental breakfast. As a single woman who just needed a place to sleep and get ready for an interview, I was very happy and would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alamosa hotels
1.5 mi away
Riverside Inn of Alamosa
Riverside Inn of Alamosa
#8 of 13 in Alamosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Alamosa
Super 8 Alamosa
#3 of 13 in Alamosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Alamosa
Days Inn Alamosa
#7 of 13 in Alamosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Alamosa Inn
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 13 in Alamosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Alamosa
Hampton Inn Alamosa
#2 of 13 in Alamosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Motel

Property: Valley Motel
Address: 2051 Main St, Alamosa, CO 81101-2322
Location: United States > Colorado > Alamosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Alamosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Valley Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Valley Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing