We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Check yourcredit card”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lamplighter Motel

Lamplighter Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alamosa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lamplighter Motel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Alamosa
Murdock, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Check yourcredit card”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We liked the room...BUT, after making our reservation by phone...we found that the credit card number had been written on the reservation form. When we went into the office, someone elses reservation was laying on the counter...card number in plain view, no one staffing the counter, we had full access to that info.
When we asked about our own number, the manager was angry and yelling at us. We just wanted our number secure & he was very unaccomadating. Never staying here again!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livinlarge1340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    10
    8
    8
See reviews for
13
16
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We have stayed here four times in the last 3 years. The staff is friendly, the rooms are comfortable, the price is right, and the included breakfast is great! (Not just a coffee and danish, but a real breakfast; eggs, sausage, potatoes, toast.) The rooms are a little outdated, but that just adds to their charm.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Called around mid-day (when hotel are usually not busy). I ask to make a booking and the older gentleman on the phone said something I could not understand, followed by "can you call back later to make a booking?" (I manage a hotel in a different part of the state, if one of my desk clerks ever ask a guest to call back later, they would no longer be employed by me.) So I called back later the evening, hoping to get the evening desk clerk. The same gentleman answered the phone simply with a slurred "lamplighter". He gave me the rate and I ask if there was a senior discount available. He said no and launched into a heated rant about how his rates are so low they have not been raised in 5 years. I tried the next morning, same guy, so I am assuming he is the owner/manager and chooses to not employee any desk staff.

Room Tip: book as a walk-in? Could not find a way to book on-line and they don't wish to take advanced bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ehjut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alamosa hotels

Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
167 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We stayed here when we went to see the Great Sand Dunes. It's about 4 hours from Denver. Clean, good sized room with comfortable beds. Lots of towels. Reasonably priced considering they gave us 2 vouchers for full breakfast - 2 eggs, ham, bacon or sausage, toast, potatoes, coffee. Very nice staff. Also has discount tickets for Colorado Gator Farm.
Downsides: although they advertise indoor pool & spa, they're a few blocks away. Also it's 2 blocks from train tracks, but it wasn't a problem at night as the walls are pretty thick.

Room Tip: Rooms in NE corner of L-shaped building are probably quietest - farthest from street and RR tracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LHelker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We were in town for the Sandhill Crane festival in nearby Monte Vista and just needed a place to stay that was inexpensive, clean and took dogs. The Lamplighter fit the bill perfectly. This is a simple hotel for a great price and breakfast is included. We were able to have our dog, were a block away from the main downtown area (food, bars, shopping) and most of all it was clean. The owners are gracious and the breakfast consisted of eggs your way, bacon/sausage and toast. Plenty for us.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdventurousColorado2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Basic, clean, warm, comfortable beds, strong wifi connection in rooms, excellent working man's breakfast incl. bacon, eggs, toast, hash.
Cons: threadbare and small towels, lock to room sticky & hard to enter.
Overall, a good experience amplified by the excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurajoshb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We passed by Alamosa on our recent road trip and I had chosen to head for this motel due to the low price and the reviews.

I think our visit was well justified. From the moment we arrived the staff were friendly and helpul. The room we had was a little dated but was very clean and well looked after.

Breakfast (in the adjoining restaurant) would be one of the main reasons for us to visit again as it was really good and helped set us up for the next day.

The only downside I can see is that the pool is 5 blocks away making it inconvenient to use. The location is great for downtown though.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alamosa hotels
0.3 mi away
Riverside Inn of Alamosa
Riverside Inn of Alamosa
#8 of 13 in Alamosa
93 reviews
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 13 in Alamosa
480 reviews
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Alamosa
Super 8 Alamosa
#3 of 13 in Alamosa
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Alamosa Inn
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Alamosa
Days Inn Alamosa
#7 of 13 in Alamosa
228 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Alamosa
Hampton Inn Alamosa
#2 of 13 in Alamosa
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamplighter Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamplighter Motel

Property: Lamplighter Motel
Address: 425 Main Street, Alamosa, CO 81101
Location: United States > Colorado > Alamosa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Alamosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing