We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

My husband and I took a few days of needed vacation away and decided to stay here. This was by far the best place we have ever stayed. The staff were incredibly nice and helpful. The morning croissants, afternoon nachos, wine, pies, etc. This place has it all and does not charge for every little amenity. I forgot to mention the generous gift basket, the gorgeous room, and the amazing little town. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avila_La_Fonda_Hotel, General Manager at Avila La Fonda Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Stacie K,

Wow! What a wonderful review. We simply cannot thank you enough for taking the time to let others know about your recent visit to our Inn. It is so nice to know that you felt value in staying with us and that you consider it a place of relaxation and that you were able to take advantage of some of the wonderful things that we do for our guests. We hope to see you again in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Christopher King | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    104
    26
    22
    12
See reviews for
102
601
22
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for an evening as we made our way down the coast for vacation and I gotta say that it was the highlight of our trip. From its old Spanish decor to the family feel, we enjoyed it so much that we actually wished we just stayed in Avila beach and enjoyed the hotel longer.

Since this is a boutique hotel, it's more quaint and you're more likely to get a room if you reserve in advance since it's small. Having said that, you will NOT be disappointed staying here. The staff is extremely kind and courteous and you are immediately treated like family. We received complimentary glasses upon check in and a cute box of truffles when we left as a thank you. They had a lovely selection of books, DVD's and CD's to borrow for your stay at no additional cost as well as an entire 24hr snack room that's all based on the honor system. All snacks and beverages you purchase are sold at wholesale so there's no up charge like most other hotels do. Their philosophy is to keep you happy by treating you fair and not ripping you off like most other hotels do.

During the evening you're invited to the lobby for complimentary wine and snacks followed by homemade fruit pies and ice cream which are awesome!

We lucked out getting a room cause we were just passing through on our coastal road trip and there just happened to be one room available. It happened to be one of the best rooms which included a jacuzzi, terrace, sofa, fireplace, fridge and microwave. Oh yeah, did I forget to mention the snack basket full of complimentary goodies in our room including microwave popcorn for you to enjoy while watching a movie! For my wife and I, it was extremely romantic and certainly rivaled the upscale hotels we stayed at when going through Big Sur earlier in our trip.

Whether it's for a few nights or just an evening passing through Avila beach, this place is leaps and bounds worth EVERY penny you spend! Do yourself a favor and treat yourself by staying here, you will not regret it!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Solo0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avila_La_Fonda_Hotel, General Manager at Avila La Fonda Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Solo0312,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. As a Senior Contributor to TripAdvisor it's nice to know that a seasoned traveler such as yourself found our Inn to be worthy of a 5 star rating. I am so pleased to hear that the staff, accommodations and amenities were up to par with your expectations. Please come back and see us again soon.

Kind regards,

Christopher King | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I came here for my birthday earlier in the year, after researching online for a nice hotel to stay at I decided on Avila La Fonda! What a wonderful decision that was truly. From the wonderful service, to the small touches such as the wine & appetizer hour, or the pies in the evening. The chocolate croissants in the morning were delicious. The room was very lovely, loved the jacuzzi and the guestbook. The bed was a bit uncomfortable, but that was the only downside of the entire experience. My boyfriend and I have a new catchphrase ever since staying here: We are not in La Fonda anymore, would definitely come back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBChick805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is one of the most pleasant and friendly hotels I have every stayed in. The service was excellent - a warm welcome upon arrival and friendly throughout. The room was well appointed with a lovely spa bath and balcony as well as a fire in the corner. There are many lovely little touches such as the freshly baked cookies every few hour

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2013

A wonderful, warm and inviting atmosphere with such lovely people, so friendly! I am telling all my friends to come and experience this hotel. I have never been to a property where I felt so much at home. When you walk in, you are greeted by the smiles of friendly staff and the smell of fresh pie. Tyler and Joe where simply amazing. Tyler gave me a tour of the property and answered all of my questions.

The only bad thing is the fact that I had to checkout the next day. I simply did not want to leave. I will miss the La Fonda and I hope I will have a reason to come back to visit in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 707MMacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We had a wonderful 2 night stay here. All the staff are friendly and very helpful. The hotel is very clean and our room was just the perfect size. It did lack a place to put your clothes so I had to live out of my suitcase. Fortunately we were only there 2 nights. Nice large flat screen TV and big jacuzzi tub. Walking distance to the beach and downtown. Don't stay here if you are looking for a view. Our room viewed the parking lot. Lots of complimentary things such as coffee, juice and croissants for breakfasts, wine and snacks in the afternoon and pie served after dinner. We did the wine package and had a great day touring the winery's in Edna Valley. I would highly recommend staying at the Aviila La Fonda Hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inglewood, California
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Great customer service and nice touches of so many complimentary things for guests to enjoy. There was a large slice of cheesecake with candle for me and a full basket of snacks for us to enjoy during our two night stay. A wonderful, warm and inviting atmosphere with such lovely people, so friendly! I am telling all my friends to come and experience this hotel. WOW!!!!!!

Room Tip: Spa rooms are great! If you want to cook choose Great Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladye2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
0.1 mi away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
713 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
646 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,955 reviews
2.8 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
824 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Luis Bay Inn
San Luis Bay Inn
#5 of 5 in Avila Beach
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila La Fonda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila La Fonda Hotel

Property: Avila La Fonda Hotel
Address: 101 San Miguel Street, PO Box 217, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avila Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Avila Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avila La Fonda Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avila La Fonda isn't merely a hotel; it is an experience that transports you to a 19th-Century Mexican Village. The Inn is completely new and features an intimate design inspired by traditional Spanish and Mexican architecture. Colorfully adorned with eight Casita style facades, and inspired by eight actual homes in Mexico, the Inn takes on an old world style all its own. From the intricate stained glass windows, which were custom made to depict scenes from the local area, to the many delightful fountains; guests are surrounded by unparalleled luxury and beauty at every turn. Located one short block from the Pacific Ocean, our boutique hotel features twenty-eight elegantly appointed rooms and suites, each featuring a Jacuzzi tub for two, multiple-head shower, fireplace, and a 48-Inch HDTV. Rich furnishings partnered with warm colors, and stunning artwork help to create refined luxury in an inviting atmosphere. Prepare to enjoy countless pleasures and culinary delights from the moment you step through the doors. Our evening wine reception is the perfect time for our guests to change gears and prepare for a restful and indulgent stay-featuring hot and cold appetizers, hors d'oeuvres, two local wines and scrumptious desserts, our wine reception is held every evening from 5-6:30PM. Enjoy fresh baked pie from locally renowned Avila Valley Barn every evening from 8-10PM. Add a scoop of ice cream, a glass of milk, and a cup of our award winning Intelligentsia(C) Coffee to create the perfect evening indulgence!Each morning guests are encouraged to rise early to enjoy fresh baked chocolate chip croissants, award winning Intelligentsia(C) Coffee and fresh organic orange juice!Don't checkout just yet! Our nacho bar is held daily from 12-2PM featuring Coronitas and fresh-fruit margaritas!For those late night cravings be sure to visit our 24-Hour Chocolate Pantry. Candy bars, soups, snacks, sodas, water, energy drinks, sundries and toiletries all sold AT OR BELOW COST! We are pet friendly and are a couples retreat hotel. If you are traveling with anyone under the age of 18, please contact us directly for alternative accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Avila La Fonda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila La Fonda Beach
Avila La Fonda Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing