We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, peaceful, high quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The La Fonda Hotel in Avila is a sure bet. The facilities are wonderful, clean, well decorated, and comfortable. You cannot beat the customer service and hospitality. Have stayed multiple times and every time has been a fantastic experience. They go above and beyond to make an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (885)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 885 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

We really wanted to love this hotel, we needed a beach town getaway, and this one came so highly recommended. And we DID love Chris and the kind staff and the great amenities, we almost never needed to go out to eat, we could pretty much eat at their happy hour, the late night pies, the afternoon snacks, the morning croissants. Also, we were able to use the washer dryer in the evenings that the maids use during the day, which was really a nice perk. Also, we loved the towels. Ok, now, THE ROOM. There was just nothing upscale or comfortable about it. We couldn't stand to be in it. It was incredibly dark, we were on the first floor and right on the front sidewalk outside (which was quite busy) also right near the back door, stairs, and maid room, which were loud. The jacuzzi was difficult to get into and not great for 2 people. The bed was uncomfortable, the shower was small, the furniture was cheap, and the air conditioner was like a portable unit we kept tripping over. It was such a shame to have the room conditions really drag down our stay when everything else was so nice. We don't spend a lot of time in the room, but when we do, we want it to be inviting.

Room Tip: Demand an upstairs room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SFSpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

From the moment we walked in we were greeted with friendly service and throughout our entire stay the hospitality was awesome! The hotel and rooms are decorated beautifully. The beds/pillow are comfortable and the jacuzzi tub was amazing! The specail treats were good just wish they had more. Prices for snacks were true, inexpensive. We are locals and so happy to have found this wonderful place! It's one block from the beach. Friday nights farmers market and Bob Jones Trail are a must go.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUBBY21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The wifey and I wanted to relax so we decided to take weekend trip up the central coast. We had driven up the central coast from Southern California before via the 101 Freeway for family camping trips to Lake San Antonio. We have always enjoyed the scenery and had noticed the Avila Beach area before. To our amazement you arrive to Avila Beach like entering a secluded community. La Fonda Hotel had great reviews. We decided on a Spa Room. Upon arrival the wifey was taken aback by the rustic theme, waterfall in the lobby, and detail surrounding the hotel. Upon check in we were notified of all the perks that come with staying at La Fonda. Wine from 5-6:30 pm,, freshly made pies at around 8pm, fresh chocolate chip cookies at 9 or 10pm, nachos/corona beer/ and mexican bottle Coke Cola happy hour at 2pm. Oh, I forgot about chocolate chip croissants in the mornning along with enough coffee to wake you up. We enjoyed each perk. After checking in we unpacked our bags in our more than generous sized room. There was the jacuzzi, tv, mini fridge, balcony, and of course the magic area. After walking the beach, wifey and I picked up some goodies from local convenience store and relaxed in the jacuzzi while admiring the rustic accomodations. Overall everything was pleasant. I do have to warn that the walls are thin and the hallway conversations can be heard if loud enough but considering the patrons it was not bad at all. We chose to ignore it. When it was our time to leave we really wanted more of La Fonda time. We will definitely come back for more.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We loved our stay at La Fonda. This was our 2nd time staying here and would not consider going anywhere else. Chris was on duty when we checked in and I can tell you he is an amazing person. He is very dedicated and provided excellent customer service. He made us feel so welcome and at home. I can't say enough good things about him. We travel quite a bit and for us to say something that positive about any one individual is rare .I hope that you will keep him happy so he stays with you for years to come and so we can see him too when we return. Loved all of the personalized service from the chocolate croissants in the morning to the hot toll house cookies at night. As soon as we came home it was diet time and off to the gym.
PS Zach was also very sweet and provided awesome customer service!
Thanks,
Denise and Joe McCarthy

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The LaFonda is a new discovery for us! It is a beautiful Spanish style hotel which feels much more like a B&B - welcome basket upon arrival, along with champagne and birthday cake for our anniversary and my husband's 50th. Welcome snack basket, fresh-baked croissants in the mornings, nacho hour at noon, wine tasting at 5 and fruit pies at 8 - what more could you ask for!?! Oh, the rooms! Beautifully appointed, most comfortable bed and towels, showers with dual heads and jets, spa tub (in the spa room, which was wonderful!), large flat screen tv, DVD, coffee maker with fresh coffee, free wi-fi, free parking, DVD/game library...the list just goes on and on. A block to the beach and they'll even lend you chairs, umbrellas and towels. Wonderful, wonderful staff and just a great experience overall. We'll be back!

Room Tip: For a romantic getaway, choose the spa room. For big groups, check out the Owner's Suite or the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PRGirl9495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We very much enjoyed our brief stay at Avila La Fonda. Our room and the common areas were lovely -- rustically luxurious. The staff made us feel like we were guests in the owner's home. I would definitely recommend the hotel to others, and in fact did so later on our trip up the PCH.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie1240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
0.9 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
686 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
761 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Avila Beach
Inn at Avila Beach
#4 of 5 in Avila Beach
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,476 reviews
2.8 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
856 reviews
5.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila La Fonda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila La Fonda Hotel

Address: 101 San Miguel Street, PO Box 217, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avila Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Avila Beach
Price Range: $231 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avila La Fonda Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avila La Fonda isn't merely a hotel; it is an experience that transports you to a 19th-Century Mexican Village. The Inn is completely new and features an intimate design inspired by traditional Spanish and Mexican architecture. Colorfully adorned with eight Casita style facades, and inspired by eight actual homes in Mexico, the Inn takes on an old world style all its own. From the intricate stained glass windows, which were custom made to depict scenes from the local area, to the many delightful fountains; guests are surrounded by unparalleled luxury and beauty at every turn. Located one short block from the Pacific Ocean, our boutique hotel features twenty-eight elegantly appointed rooms and suites, each featuring a Jacuzzi tub for two, multiple-head shower, fireplace, and a 48-Inch HDTV. Rich furnishings partnered with warm colors, and stunning artwork help to create refined luxury in an inviting atmosphere. Prepare to enjoy countless pleasures and culinary delights from the moment you step through the doors. Our evening wine reception is the perfect time for our guests to change gears and prepare for a restful and indulgent stay-featuring hot and cold appetizers, hors d'oeuvres, two local wines and scrumptious desserts, our wine reception is held every evening from 5-6:30PM. Enjoy fresh baked pie from locally renowned Avila Valley Barn every evening from 8-10PM. Add a scoop of ice cream, a glass of milk, and a cup of our award winning Intelligentsia(C) Coffee to create the perfect evening indulgence!Each morning guests are encouraged to rise early to enjoy fresh baked chocolate chip croissants, award winning Intelligentsia(C) Coffee and fresh organic orange juice!Don't checkout just yet! Our nacho bar is held daily from 12-2PM featuring Coronitas and fresh-fruit margaritas!For those late night cravings be sure to visit our 24-Hour Chocolate Pantry. Candy bars, soups, snacks, sodas, water, energy drinks, sundries and toiletries all sold AT OR BELOW COST! We are pet friendly and are a couples retreat hotel. If you are traveling with anyone under the age of 18, please contact us directly for alternative accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Avila La Fonda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila La Fonda Beach
Avila La Fonda Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing