We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming small hotel in a quaint beach community”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Selah, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Charming small hotel in a quaint beach community”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

What a great find! My dad, son and I booked a "Casita Suite" to accomodate the three of us and we really enjoyed our stay there. The rooms are well appointed, with very comfortable beds and pillows. The staff members were always friendly, gracious and helpful. Had we chosen to indulge, we could have just had all our meals there, what with the all the food and treats they offer throughout the day. From this hotel, you're just a hop, skip and a jump from the beach, a fine wine tasting room and excellent dining options. The next time I return to the area, I will definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    97
    24
    22
    12
See reviews for
96
573
21
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My two daughters and I came for 1 night last week during Spring break and I was looking forward to it all week. And we loved the short stay and do plan to come back for longer. Everything was as expected and more: great B&B style stay with great hospitality/service, ambiance, room amenities (kitchen!, fireplace! snacks! clean!) When we arrived after 7pm we saw several fresh baked pies! Smelled delicious. We ate dinner at Custom House; and forgot to tell the waiter that we were staying at Avila La Fonda for the 10% discount! Dumb us, we ate lunch there the next day and forgot again! We had late night fresh baked choc. chip cookies which my daughter was glad to help. Next morrning we had great choc chip croissants and coffee, and after noon we enjoyed fresh nachos, berry smoothie and drinks! Great touch to offer these thoughtful and much appreciated amenities. We took the large basket of complimentary goodies with us to the beach and for our long drive home. We will definitely be back to enjoy the stay again.

Room Tip: I had room #113 downstairs, across from the "chocolate closet." I would stay 2 nights min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lt291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Avila La Fonda Hotel was a great experience! From the minute you get there you are greeted by professional staff. Matt's customer service was outstanding and he couldn't have been more helpful! You feel like you are in a Bed and Breakfast Inn rather than a boutique hotel. When you enter your room there is a large basket of complimentary goodies with everything you could imagine. Wine and appetizers at 5 pm and then after dinner and a walk on the beach, you return back to find warm fruit pies for a local farm nearby. The continental breakfast was also great! We will stay here again this was a great find, charming and welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PartyPlanner44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahotelguy, Owner at Avila La Fonda Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We really appreciate you taking the time to write.
We will pass your kind comments on to Matt and rest of the staff .In a hotel like La Fonda our staff is really 1/2 , if not more of the experience .Thank you for noticing their hard work! Please continue to tell your friends and come back soon ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

A bit pricy but totally worth it. Service was great, room has a full kitchen not a kitchenette. Even has a dishwasher. Balcony off our room was great, clean, fluffy towels. Large bathroom tub with jets. We found this place by accident but will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms will be good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barronbjjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahotelguy, Owner at Avila La Fonda Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Sometimes the best experiences are the surprises you find by accident. But now you have found us, don't forget we are great place to celebrate birthdays /anniversaries .Please honor us again with a return visit! Very kind of you to take the time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My husband and I booked our 5 night/ 6 day stay for Spring Break 2013 immediately after returning from a one-night stay in January 2013, as we were throughly impressed with the hotel's beautiful decor, amenities and overall ambience. We even wrote a letter of our appreciation directly to the owner after our January stay, expressing how much we couldn't wait to return! For Spring Break, we booked 3 rooms (a great room and adjoining spa suite to accomodate our 4 children), as well as an additional spa suite for my mother. Our total, considering we extended our stay to 6 nights, was just over $4,000, however we were disappointed with the services rendered for this fee! There were definite pros, such as nicely appointed rooms, friendly staff, beautiful cake in celebration of our son's birthday and snack and wine amenities not typical of most hotels. Unfortunately, the cons outweighed the pros. We were sadly disappointed that nearly every day of our stay, our rooms were not cleaned until well after 4 pm considering we made it a point to leave between 10 and 11 am each morning, and NOT until we brought it to staff attention. This is not acceptable, especially when you are occupying several rooms with small children! The noise level on the ground floor (our room was on the uppper floor our first stay) was overwhelming at times! The staff "office" was directly across from our room and they would tend to hang out and chat with each other there, because we could hear them, regularly, especially in the morning hours. If we were trying to relax from a long day at the beach with the kids, the evening reception in the lobby nearly prevented that as the echoing sounds of guests socializing was so distracting! The sounds of guests walking in the rooms above us was deafening at times, though I could only imagine if our children would have been on the upper floor instead! Simple housecleaning duties were neglected, such as changing the sheets/comforter, pulled off of the bed, our young son accidentally peed on while sleeping! I can't believe that we have any complaints at all after the amount of money we spent to stay nearly an entire week at a hotel we just couldn't wait to get back to. We are sadly disappointed as we treasure our family and the vacations we choose to spend money on.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are definitely quieter, though be mindful of downstairs occupants if you have young c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilfornaio817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahotelguy, Owner at Avila La Fonda Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your review ..it is always good to have feedback from regular guests .First , so pleased your first two visits were such a pleasure and you choose to return .
Noise is factor in every hotel,,but because we have tile floors everywhere, sound is major problem ,especially when we have ALOT of children over holidays .Unfortunately ,your four small children impacted other guest stays as well, we had number complaints regarding your stay . .. .It seems that during Spring Break the number of excited wonderful behaved children pushes us to noise level, we don't normally experience .
As you know, we are special occasion hotel for couples and that is our market ,we never advertise anywhere we are suited for or ideal children hotel . Tho we have regulars who bring their children without any other guest complaints, the problem appears to be over certain holidays when multi children groups in hotel at same time .We are just two small to handle that impact .. I can assure any future guests who come as couples that won't be problem in future .

Based on your review ,we will in future advise guests with multi- children that maybe we are not best hotel for their vacation and best they stay elsewhere . . .A couple years ago we considered making it a totally non children hotel , just because of your concerns .We are not prepared to do that, but will limit children to no more than one or two in future per party to reduce noise level . Regularly we put children only on first floor to reduce noise ,but over holidays just too many .
In regards to house cleaning we always do stay overs last, so we can get new arrivals in hotel .But we will always accommodate any guest request for house cleaning at their wishes 24 hrs a day .Especially if made aware a child has soiled a bed . .Its appears by your review after you informed us, we accommodated your requests ,that as well .

Again thank you ,we do appreciate your business and glad you enjoyed so much of the hotel ...But we sadly have to agree with you, that we are not right hotel for four small children .But anniversaries ,birthdays ,special occasions ,when you get sitter and leave kids at home we are wonderful hotel, we look forward to those returned visits . .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My friend essentially insisted we stay here on our trip down Highway 1 and boy, were we glad we did! Avila is a quiet, but cute little seaside town. The hotel is inviting, with beautiful and relaxing fountains and spacious rooms, but the best part is the hospitality. There are freshly baked chocolate croissants and coffee in the morning, afternoon nacho bar with margaritas and Coronas, evening wine and cheese with chicken wings and other snacks, nightly freshly baked pies (probably my favorite) and freshly baked chocolate chip cookies all the time! There's a big DVD collection to peruse, a complimentary snack basket in the rooms and a chocolate treat on your bed every evening. The towels were soft and plush, even the bath mat was great! Highly recommend staying here and there's a discount for Costco members!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cl361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahotelguy, Owner at Avila La Fonda Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
PIES? PIES? I'm sure couple of readers wondered about pies in hotel ? Not to many hotels host a nightly(8pm) pie reception .But than no where else is like La Fonda,is it? .We have wonderful local baker famous for their fruit pies ,so we convinced them to prepare us seasonal fruit pies from their orchards .So everynight we bake pies apple,strawberry,peach,oilinberry,cherry ,pumkin,(more) are baked by our staff every evening .Guests stop in on way their back , dinner and join other guests for pie (ice cream and whip cream are of course available) .
Unusual maybe, but not at La Fonda.

Our hotel is all about simple math formula ...
Extra-ordinary service + unusual/unexpected amenties (jacuzzi tubs for two ,showers with six heads,towel warmers,fireplaces ,in every room and suprises like pie ).
= guests who want to return
often to duplicate their last extraordinary experience and they than tell their friends .
Very simple math 1 happy guest = many return visits ..
Thank you for sharing and thank your friend for us for insisting you stay ...Your turn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marino, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Booked our rooms for one night. We checked in and liked it so much, we decided to extend our stay.
The hotel and staff are great. They have the welcome basket in your room. They have you fed all day. From 6:30am to 10 pm. The location is only a short walk to beach and restaurants. All I can say is we will be back soon. Avila La Fonda is our new home away from home while in the Central Coast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Masanori T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahotelguy, Owner at Avila La Fonda Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Yours is a familiar story ,nearly each morning several guests visits the lobby desk and asks to stay another night .What a nice compliment ,to what we all try to do ..make each guest stay memorable enough to return .It's secert to our sucess ,we concentrate on the guest at hand ,and they return and tell their friends . Thank you for telling your story with your friends on facebook ,please honor us by returning soon .
We do reccomend staying two nights to experience La Fonda ,you can relax and not worry about checking out .Sleep in have a crossiant right from our oven and sip the best coffee you ever had in hotel anywhere .We love coffee so its part of La Fonda experience . This summer we are moving our Local wine reception to back to lani deck and to take advantage weather and warm nights ,extending it to 5-745pm .Just in time for our fresh baked pies at 8pm ..linger alittle longer and enjoy our outdoor fireplace .(yes fresh cookies are always there when you need one).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
0.9 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
657 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn at Avila Beach
Inn at Avila Beach
#4 of 5 in Avila Beach
494 reviews
5.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,871 reviews
2.8 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila La Fonda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila La Fonda Hotel

Property: Avila La Fonda Hotel
Address: 101 San Miguel Street, PO Box 217, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avila Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Avila Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avila La Fonda Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avila La Fonda isn't merely a hotel; it is an experience that transports you to a 19th-Century Mexican Village. The Inn is completely new and features an intimate design inspired by traditional Spanish and Mexican architecture. Colorfully adorned with eight Casita style facades, and inspired by eight actual homes in Mexico, the Inn takes on an old world style all its own. From the intricate stained glass windows, which were custom made to depict scenes from the local area, to the many delightful fountains; guests are surrounded by unparalleled luxury and beauty at every turn. Located one short block from the Pacific Ocean, our boutique hotel features twenty-eight elegantly appointed rooms and suites, each featuring a Jacuzzi tub for two, multiple-head shower, fireplace, and a 48-Inch HDTV. Rich furnishings partnered with warm colors, and stunning artwork help to create refined luxury in an inviting atmosphere. Prepare to enjoy countless pleasures and culinary delights from the moment you step through the doors. Our evening wine reception is the perfect time for our guests to change gears and prepare for a restful and indulgent stay-featuring hot and cold appetizers, hors d'oeuvres, two local wines and scrumptious desserts, our wine reception is held every evening from 5-6:30PM. Enjoy fresh baked pie from locally renowned Avila Valley Barn every evening from 8-10PM. Add a scoop of ice cream, a glass of milk, and a cup of our award winning Intelligentsia(C) Coffee to create the perfect evening indulgence!Each morning guests are encouraged to rise early to enjoy fresh baked chocolate chip croissants, award winning Intelligentsia(C) Coffee and fresh organic orange juice!Don't checkout just yet! Our nacho bar is held daily from 12-2PM featuring Coronitas and fresh-fruit margaritas!For those late night cravings be sure to visit our 24-Hour Chocolate Pantry. Candy bars, soups, snacks, sodas, water, energy drinks, sundries and toiletries all sold AT OR BELOW COST! We are pet friendly and are a couples retreat hotel. If you are traveling with anyone under the age of 18, please contact us directly for alternative accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avila La Fonda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila La Fonda Beach
Avila La Fonda Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing