We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

A bit pricy but totally worth it. Service was great, room has a full kitchen not a kitchenette. Even has a dishwasher. Balcony off our room was great, clean, fluffy towels. Large bathroom tub with jets. We found this place by accident but will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms will be good rooms!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barronbjjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahotelguy, Owner at Avila La Fonda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Sometimes the best experiences are the surprises you find by accident. But now you have found us, don't forget we are great place to celebrate birthdays /anniversaries .Please honor us again with a return visit! Very kind of you to take the time to write.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (872)
There are newer reviews for Avila La Fonda Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

532 - 538 of 872 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

My husband and I booked our 5 night/ 6 day stay for Spring Break 2013 immediately after returning from a one-night stay in January 2013, as we were throughly impressed with the hotel's beautiful decor, amenities and overall ambience. We even wrote a letter of our appreciation directly to the owner after our January stay, expressing how much we couldn't wait to return! For Spring Break, we booked 3 rooms (a great room and adjoining spa suite to accomodate our 4 children), as well as an additional spa suite for my mother. Our total, considering we extended our stay to 6 nights, was just over $4,000, however we were disappointed with the services rendered for this fee! There were definite pros, such as nicely appointed rooms, friendly staff, beautiful cake in celebration of our son's birthday and snack and wine amenities not typical of most hotels. Unfortunately, the cons outweighed the pros. We were sadly disappointed that nearly every day of our stay, our rooms were not cleaned until well after 4 pm considering we made it a point to leave between 10 and 11 am each morning, and NOT until we brought it to staff attention. This is not acceptable, especially when you are occupying several rooms with small children! The noise level on the ground floor (our room was on the uppper floor our first stay) was overwhelming at times! The staff "office" was directly across from our room and they would tend to hang out and chat with each other there, because we could hear them, regularly, especially in the morning hours. If we were trying to relax from a long day at the beach with the kids, the evening reception in the lobby nearly prevented that as the echoing sounds of guests socializing was so distracting! The sounds of guests walking in the rooms above us was deafening at times, though I could only imagine if our children would have been on the upper floor instead! Simple housecleaning duties were neglected, such as changing the sheets/comforter, pulled off of the bed, our young son accidentally peed on while sleeping! I can't believe that we have any complaints at all after the amount of money we spent to stay nearly an entire week at a hotel we just couldn't wait to get back to. We are sadly disappointed as we treasure our family and the vacations we choose to spend money on.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are definitely quieter, though be mindful of downstairs occupants if you have young c...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ilfornaio817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahotelguy, Owner at Avila La Fonda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for your review ..it is always good to have feedback from regular guests .First , so pleased your first two visits were such a pleasure and you choose to return .
Noise is factor in every hotel,,but because we have tile floors everywhere, sound is major problem ,especially when we have ALOT of children over holidays .Unfortunately ,your four small children impacted other guest stays as well, we had number complaints regarding your stay . .. .It seems that during Spring Break the number of excited wonderful behaved children pushes us to noise level, we don't normally experience .
As you know, we are special occasion hotel for couples and that is our market ,we never advertise anywhere we are suited for or ideal children hotel . Tho we have regulars who bring their children without any other guest complaints, the problem appears to be over certain holidays when multi children groups in hotel at same time .We are just two small to handle that impact .. I can assure any future guests who come as couples that won't be problem in future .

Based on your review ,we will in future advise guests with multi- children that maybe we are not best hotel for their vacation and best they stay elsewhere . . .A couple years ago we considered making it a totally non children hotel , just because of your concerns .We are not prepared to do that, but will limit children to no more than one or two in future per party to reduce noise level . Regularly we put children only on first floor to reduce noise ,but over holidays just too many .
In regards to house cleaning we always do stay overs last, so we can get new arrivals in hotel .But we will always accommodate any guest request for house cleaning at their wishes 24 hrs a day .Especially if made aware a child has soiled a bed . .Its appears by your review after you informed us, we accommodated your requests ,that as well .

Again thank you ,we do appreciate your business and glad you enjoyed so much of the hotel ...But we sadly have to agree with you, that we are not right hotel for four small children .But anniversaries ,birthdays ,special occasions ,when you get sitter and leave kids at home we are wonderful hotel, we look forward to those returned visits . .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My friend essentially insisted we stay here on our trip down Highway 1 and boy, were we glad we did! Avila is a quiet, but cute little seaside town. The hotel is inviting, with beautiful and relaxing fountains and spacious rooms, but the best part is the hospitality. There are freshly baked chocolate croissants and coffee in the morning, afternoon nacho bar with margaritas and Coronas, evening wine and cheese with chicken wings and other snacks, nightly freshly baked pies (probably my favorite) and freshly baked chocolate chip cookies all the time! There's a big DVD collection to peruse, a complimentary snack basket in the rooms and a chocolate treat on your bed every evening. The towels were soft and plush, even the bath mat was great! Highly recommend staying here and there's a discount for Costco members!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cl361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahotelguy, Owner at Avila La Fonda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

PIES? PIES? I'm sure couple of readers wondered about pies in hotel ? Not to many hotels host a nightly(8pm) pie reception .But than no where else is like La Fonda,is it? .We have wonderful local baker famous for their fruit pies ,so we convinced them to prepare us seasonal fruit pies from their orchards .So everynight we bake pies apple,strawberry,peach,oilinberry,cherry ,pumkin,(more) are baked by our staff every evening .Guests stop in on way their back , dinner and join other guests for pie (ice cream and whip cream are of course available) .
Unusual maybe, but not at La Fonda.

Our hotel is all about simple math formula ...
Extra-ordinary service + unusual/unexpected amenties (jacuzzi tubs for two ,showers with six heads,towel warmers,fireplaces ,in every room and suprises like pie ).
= guests who want to return
often to duplicate their last extraordinary experience and they than tell their friends .
Very simple math 1 happy guest = many return visits ..
Thank you for sharing and thank your friend for us for insisting you stay ...Your turn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Booked our rooms for one night. We checked in and liked it so much, we decided to extend our stay.
The hotel and staff are great. They have the welcome basket in your room. They have you fed all day. From 6:30am to 10 pm. The location is only a short walk to beach and restaurants. All I can say is we will be back soon. Avila La Fonda is our new home away from home while in the Central Coast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MasanoriT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahotelguy, Owner at Avila La Fonda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Yours is a familiar story ,nearly each morning several guests visits the lobby desk and asks to stay another night .What a nice compliment ,to what we all try to do ..make each guest stay memorable enough to return .It's secert to our sucess ,we concentrate on the guest at hand ,and they return and tell their friends . Thank you for telling your story with your friends on facebook ,please honor us by returning soon .
We do reccomend staying two nights to experience La Fonda ,you can relax and not worry about checking out .Sleep in have a crossiant right from our oven and sip the best coffee you ever had in hotel anywhere .We love coffee so its part of La Fonda experience . This summer we are moving our Local wine reception to back to lani deck and to take advantage weather and warm nights ,extending it to 5-745pm .Just in time for our fresh baked pies at 8pm ..linger alittle longer and enjoy our outdoor fireplace .(yes fresh cookies are always there when you need one).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed there for one night only. Great location. Short walk to the beach and beach front restaurants. Hotel staff very friendly and very accommodating. They offer complimentary breakfast items, beer & tacos mid day, wine in the afternoon and fresh warm pies in the evening. Amazing.

Now for the unusual things. We booked what we thought was a queen bedroom but were surprised to find out our room (all non-spa rooms?) have complete kitchens and dining areas but no bed in sight. Bed is a pull down "Murphy Bed". Not something we wanted and management upgrated us to a King/spa room which was more to our liking. Only odd thing in that room was that air conditioner was a portable unit that was vented to a window via a large rubber tube. Worked well, just odd.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank krep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahotelguy, Owner at Avila La Fonda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

First thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review.
So glad ,you noticed all "awesome stuff" ,I don't know of a hotel anywhere that has an all day hospitality room with so much wonderful complimentary food,beverages, and snacks.It was patterned after the airline VIP rooms from 70s ,that use to make first class travel so much fun.

On odd things not so odd really..we designed hotel to be all suites (casitas) or indidvual rooms (you can book both or either side (you booked great room which is a studio apartment by day and than bedroom at night ,actually to our suprise and delight, the most popular option). Seems that a lot guests like the comfort of having "Great room " family room setup much like in your home,particularly if you have friends stopby ).
So sorry for confusion,looks like you didnt call hotel direct ,but made on third party internet site,they often alittle weak in explaining features and benefits of both styles .Always better call any hotel direct you get better rate and avoid this type mistake . We are sorry for any mis info or lack of details we always try our best to explain differences when you call in person.,But most important ,was glad our staff accommodated your preferences and foound rght room for your stya. .

Because of Avila's year round mild weather we didn't include air conditioning when we built our 1920s style building ,made alot sense to those of us that live in Avila, all year round .But some our Valley customers thought it was the craziest idea , they ever heard of ,to open a window ,(see only negative reviews back in first year) But we listened to our tripadvisor friends ,and found the best portable units we could find .We move them in or out based on guest preference .As you mentioned they do work great ,if desired .Personally i still prefer opening windows and letting in clean ocean air (and since Avila is so safe not problem either way ).
Again thank you for many kind comments ..Please come often and tell a friend ,glad you gave us chance to explain,a great review!
kindest regards,
micheal kidd
co owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed there mid week and it was great! it was a birthday surprise and was everything I thought it would be and turned out to be a great surprise for my partner. We stayed in the king spa room and really enjoyed the jacuzzi tub and fireplace. The staff was great and very helpful! I was talking with the staff and was telling me about the pies they offer for dinner, and I told him my favorite, well when we got back from dinner he had made sure one of the pies was the one I wanted! Thanks so much to the staff ! It was a great getaway and we are already planning our return and have told many people about it and they are looking to book a trip there as well! Thanks for the great memories!

Room Tip: Sleep with doors open to hear the fountain and ocean
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollyE88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahotelguy, Owner at Avila La Fonda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank You Holly,
We appreciate that you trusted us for your special occasion getaway . Almost 1/2 our business is anniverasary /birthdays and special occasions .I especially liked the part about the pie! First who doesnt like homemade pie,just baked , out of the oven .( i have been known to come by often to insure quality ,ha)It's been a big hit ,and welcomed suprise to our guests ..But the fact that a staff member listened and than made special trip to our pastry chef ,to get your favorite pie and than baked it , just for you ,is what we are really all about, "extraordinary service ." We know a birthday/ anniversary is special time ,so we go out of our way to make it memorable and not just another day ..Hope to see you before than , if not ,"same time next year!" And thank you for telling friends ,we don't do traditional advertising only word of mouth from one friend to another .If we
kindest regards
micheal
co owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed a weekend at this hotel and were very impressed. We stayed in one of the spa rooms which had a large jacuzzi tub, and a fireplace. Very nice touches. The most amazing part were the daily amenities which included Nachos and beer at noon, wine and appitizers at 5:00 and unbelievable pies at 8:00. The staff had to be one of the best we have experienced at hotels. They are so friendly and professional and will do anything to make your stay more enjoyable. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boston09_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahotelguy, Owner at Avila La Fonda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

What nice review!! We are constantly looking for ways to improve the La Fonda Hotel with new amenties and services ! You mentioned couple brand new ones .. Welcome Nacho Bar whether you are leaving the hotel and one last snack for road or midday welcome our complimentary Nacho Bar is great way say goodbye or meet the staff and other guests! And complimentary Coronas,mexican Cokes,and Virgin marquritas add to La Fonda experience .
It's all about giving extraordinary service ,all day throughout your stay. Our hospitality concept is
unique to our industry, we spend our marketing dollars on our guests ,they return and tell their friends. Other hotels are always trying to attract new customers, we work to insure our current ones come back .Thank you for kind comments!
micheal kidd
co owner
And your right we have awesome staff members!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
0.9 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
685 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
743 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Avila Beach
Inn at Avila Beach
#4 of 5 in Avila Beach
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,447 reviews
2.8 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
844 reviews
5.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila La Fonda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila La Fonda Hotel

Address: 101 San Miguel Street, PO Box 217, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avila Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Avila Beach
Price Range: $230 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avila La Fonda Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avila La Fonda isn't merely a hotel; it is an experience that transports you to a 19th-Century Mexican Village. The Inn is completely new and features an intimate design inspired by traditional Spanish and Mexican architecture. Colorfully adorned with eight Casita style facades, and inspired by eight actual homes in Mexico, the Inn takes on an old world style all its own. From the intricate stained glass windows, which were custom made to depict scenes from the local area, to the many delightful fountains; guests are surrounded by unparalleled luxury and beauty at every turn. Located one short block from the Pacific Ocean, our boutique hotel features twenty-eight elegantly appointed rooms and suites, each featuring a Jacuzzi tub for two, multiple-head shower, fireplace, and a 48-Inch HDTV. Rich furnishings partnered with warm colors, and stunning artwork help to create refined luxury in an inviting atmosphere. Prepare to enjoy countless pleasures and culinary delights from the moment you step through the doors. Our evening wine reception is the perfect time for our guests to change gears and prepare for a restful and indulgent stay-featuring hot and cold appetizers, hors d'oeuvres, two local wines and scrumptious desserts, our wine reception is held every evening from 5-6:30PM. Enjoy fresh baked pie from locally renowned Avila Valley Barn every evening from 8-10PM. Add a scoop of ice cream, a glass of milk, and a cup of our award winning Intelligentsia(C) Coffee to create the perfect evening indulgence!Each morning guests are encouraged to rise early to enjoy fresh baked chocolate chip croissants, award winning Intelligentsia(C) Coffee and fresh organic orange juice!Don't checkout just yet! Our nacho bar is held daily from 12-2PM featuring Coronitas and fresh-fruit margaritas!For those late night cravings be sure to visit our 24-Hour Chocolate Pantry. Candy bars, soups, snacks, sodas, water, energy drinks, sundries and toiletries all sold AT OR BELOW COST! We are pet friendly and are a couples retreat hotel. If you are traveling with anyone under the age of 18, please contact us directly for alternative accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Avila La Fonda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila La Fonda Beach
Avila La Fonda Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing