We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel is just a block from the Avila Beach water front restaurants and boardwalk. We had a "spa room" which had a great fireplace. The room was big and had amenities such as an iPod speaker docking station, free snacks, a TV, and DVD player. The staff provides snacks downstairs as well almost all day including breakfast, coffee, pie at night, wine and fresh baked cookies. Overall, a great hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Addie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (937)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

608 - 614 of 937 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel 3 times in the last 5 years and we love this hotel! 5 years ago the spa room was approximately $169/179. We have always said that this hotel was "Our little little place" we'll I just logged onto the Internet to reserve a room for August 2013 for my husbands birthday and was saddened to see that the rooms have gone up to approximately $400 and above. Guess this will not be our little place much longer. We stayed at La Fonda in August 2012 for $269/night and I felt that was a fair price but come on... $400 and up is a big jump. Unfortunately we will probably be looking for another hotel :(

Room Tip: Spa room upstairs above fountain is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catstephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahotelguy, Owner at Avila La Fonda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank You so much for the great review! We are so pleased you have considered Avila la Fonda Hotel your favorite place .Since you were concerned about price .
Couple hints on getting better deal ..
Always call hotel direct do not use third party sites .You will always get best deal calling direct .

August weekends is HIGH HIGH Season highest of year . Every hotel on coast sells out and turns away hundreds of guests during this busy time ,so expect to pay more ,just as in January expect to pay much less .
.If you can come day earlier Sunday -thursday usually alot less .
Just month later prices drop by $50-100.So when you come effects price more than any other factor .
We also still ofer Costco discount of 20% off to regular customers ,that will save you $80.00 night on $400 room ,365 days year !! .
Join our facebook page and our email list (on website) and you will also receive unpublished last minute deals .
So there is alot of ways to save ..But we also must mention we are not a budget hotel .We are a special occasion hotel and do alot extras to be that special place ,from pies,chocolate crossiants ,welcome baskets ,at cost pantry ,best coffee money will buy ,hundreds of extras .We
will continue to strive to be best boutique hotel on coast so it will cost more, but what we do promise is extradionoary guest experience not matched anywhere for price .Hope to see you again soon!
Birthday ? Anniversary ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

OK, I've determined that ratings are all relational, depending on what your experience is with hotels. First the staff at the Avila la Fonda is very nice and accommodating. Then hotel does have some very nice amenities which you would expect of a larger hotel such as a little happy hour, mini breakfast, other little food opportunities, and good coffee. The rooms do have a microwave, frig, complimentary and generous snack tray, in-room coffee maker, even plates, silverware and wine glasses. There is adequate, free parking underneath. The Wi-Fi is very unpredictable and is dependent on what part of the hotel you are in. Do ask for a 2nd floor room as it will be quieter. Some rooms have a little balcony which is nice. If you want a relaxing setting...this is NOT it, if you want in town close to the beach you are good to go! We had planned to stay two nights, but checked out after one. The bed was not very good and sunk in the middle making for a very stiff back in the morning. I actually took a bath towel and tried to "build it up" in my lower back which helped some. While most things appeared very clean...there were some used towels left under our sink which they promptly removed and apologized for...the carpets were quite worn and at the very least needed cleaning. We have stayed in hotels all over the world and I definitely would not rate this 5 stars. In my opinion, it is a good solid 3.

Room Tip: Choose 2nd floor balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ginger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahotelguy, Owner at Avila La Fonda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for your kind response .
It appears you liked great deal about hotel ,but were also disappointed .
Please contact our General Manager Chris King next time you are in area ,he will do his best to accommodate you . Always make hotel aware of your disappointment while there ,I know at la Fonda we never want to see guest disappointed in any way .
Our beds are replaced on ongoing program ,carpets are also being replaced .We are committed to keeping Laa fonda areas premier hotel .
Thank you again
micheal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I have never been treated better! The attention to detail and customer service is above and beyond anything I've ever experienced! From the warm chocolate croussants for breakfast, nachos at noon, wine/appetizers at 5, and warm pie at 8 to the huge gift basket of treats awaiting you in the room when you arrive; from the fireplace and double jaccuzi tub in the rooms to the complementary movies and laundry facitlity, this place is just extraordinary. Avila is such a cute town as well! From the hotel, you are a block from the beach (and they provide you with towels) and a few miles from wine tasting, hot springs, and the most incredible farmer's market/ice cream and fudge shop (and they provide you with umbrellas, if it's raining). I can't really say enough good things about this place. No wonder they don't need to spend a lot of money on advertising! I've told everyone I know about this place since we came home. Remember to tell them if you are a member at Costco, because they give a great rate. In fact, staying there for two nights more than pays for your Costco membership for a year! I will definitely be back! Kudos to the owner and all the staff!

Room Tip: If you have your own food, you can stay in the room with a full kitchen. If you don't need the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahotelguy, Owner at Avila La Fonda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Your best guest EVER!
Thank You! for taking the time to write such great guest review it meant alot to us ...we have shared it among the all the staff . We really don't advertise ANYWHERE,I know that seems strange but we think it's wrong way to run a hotel. It's really simple math if we make everyone happy they come back again ,maybe more than once ..if they tell their family and friends thats best reccomendation we can get .
So thank you again for getting what we try to do... lots new services coming plus we are looking at how all our current services and asking how can we do them better.
But it begins one guest experience at a time .
Hope to see you soon ,look for Santa Claus looking guy and say hi .
micheal kidd
co owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

My wife and i have stayed at the La Fonda at least 5 times. Every time we come away marveling at how this hotel just gets it. No nickel diming you on the little amenities. every little snack is either free or at the hotel's cost. Did I mention the free chocolate chip cookies warm out of the oven all day long.
Rooms are beautiful with the amenities mentioned in many of the other reviews on this website.
It is not overpriced as one guest said but a great value.
Consider that the happy hour has so much goodies including winetasting that you do not even need to eat dinner there is so much food.
Last time we were there they had just started the 8 P.M. pie service. free as usual. We had eaten so much at the happy hour and dinner that we did not indulge but we will next time. Did i mention the people staying at the hotel. Never have I met so many down to earth salt of the earth people as the guests who stay at this hotel.
I think it is because the staff treat you like royalty and family and most of the guests would probably like to keep this gem secret amongst us. Mum's the word.
Oh well, I guess I have spilled the beans. Visit Jomama Coffee house and Nekkid Spa while you are there. Let's support the ownership so they are never tempted to sell out to modern hotelry.

as a former Governor was fond of saying" I'll be back. again and again and again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

From the moment you walk in, you are welcomed by the smell of freshly baked cookies, among other goodies. Checkin is a very simple process, having a very intimate feel. The rooms are beautiful, again with that little "welcome" in the form of a basket of goodies, some of which brought me back to childhood! Across the way from our room, a pantry with VERY afordable prices! In the evening, yet another spread of Wine and goodies to go with! Only a half-block away from the beach, it was difficult to decide whether we wanted to stay in our room or enjoy the sand and sea! we did both... going back and forth was so easy! This hotel did not disappoint!

Room Tip: Make sure you enjoy all of the treats the kitchen has to offer, and check out the DVD selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel is so quaint and homey feeling. The staff was warm and welcoming. We have stayed here several times and each time was better than the next. The rooms are spacious and lovely. They do special little touches that make your visit really memorable! Recommend very highly!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rochelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
0.9 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
689 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
811 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Avila Beach
Inn at Avila Beach
#4 of 5 in Avila Beach
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,559 reviews
5.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,128 reviews
5.2 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila La Fonda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila La Fonda Hotel

Address: 101 San Miguel Street, PO Box 217, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Price Range: $233 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avila La Fonda Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avila La Fonda isn't merely a hotel; it is an experience that transports you to a 19th-Century Mexican Village. The Inn is completely new and features an intimate design inspired by traditional Spanish and Mexican architecture. Colorfully adorned with eight Casita style facades, and inspired by eight actual homes in Mexico, the Inn takes on an old world style all its own. From the intricate stained glass windows, which were custom made to depict scenes from the local area, to the many delightful fountains; guests are surrounded by unparalleled luxury and beauty at every turn. Located one short block from the Pacific Ocean, our boutique hotel features twenty-eight elegantly appointed rooms and suites, each featuring a Jacuzzi tub for two, multiple-head shower, fireplace, and a 48-Inch HDTV. Rich furnishings partnered with warm colors, and stunning artwork help to create refined luxury in an inviting atmosphere. Prepare to enjoy countless pleasures and culinary delights from the moment you step through the doors. Our evening wine reception is the perfect time for our guests to change gears and prepare for a restful and indulgent stay-featuring hot and cold appetizers, hors d'oeuvres, two local wines and scrumptious desserts, our wine reception is held every evening from 5-6:30PM. Enjoy fresh baked pie from locally renowned Avila Valley Barn every evening from 8-10PM. Add a scoop of ice cream, a glass of milk, and a cup of our award winning Intelligentsia(C) Coffee to create the perfect evening indulgence!Each morning guests are encouraged to rise early to enjoy fresh baked chocolate chip croissants, award winning Intelligentsia(C) Coffee and fresh organic orange juice!Don't checkout just yet! Our nacho bar is held daily from 12-2PM featuring Coronitas and fresh-fruit margaritas!For those late night cravings be sure to visit our 24-Hour Chocolate Pantry. Candy bars, soups, snacks, sodas, water, energy drinks, sundries and toiletries all sold AT OR BELOW COST! We are pet friendly and are a couples retreat hotel. If you are traveling with anyone under the age of 18, please contact us directly for alternative accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Avila La Fonda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila La Fonda Beach
Avila La Fonda Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing