We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Avila!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Hills, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Avila!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

We recently stayed at Avila La Fonda and have stayed there many times! It has become a yearly tradition. The hotel is beautiful and clean. It is just one block from the ocean and pier. We always stay in a room with the jacuzzi tub right in the room where the bed is and also enjoy the fireplace. The rooms are large and the bathroom is also fantastic with two shower heads. They offer a large complimentary basket full of goodies and drinks in each room. Every night they have a wonderful wine and hordeurves reception at 5:00. There are always homemade cookies out. and at 8:00 every night they serve fresh pie! You then wake up every morning to fresh chocolate croissants! We ate so much food there, we never actually went out to dinner or breakfast! It is just a fantastic place to stay and we will continue going back every year! We love Avila Beach! The people are also friendly and helpful! Each room also has a little balcony, they haven't left anything out, it has all amenities! If you're a Costco member you can get a better rate. ALso, every year in December they offer gifrt certificates at 30% off, so you can buy a 100$ gift certificate for $70.00, so we always buy a few and then use them the following year! Hope this help!

Room Tip: We like the rooms that face out to the beach, more so then the parking lot, so request a room facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindyda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    97
    24
    22
    12
See reviews for
96
574
22
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

We have stayed here several times and have recommended to several people. It is THE BEST. We took my 88 year old parents here last weekend to celebrate their 65th wedding anniversary and it was perfect. The staff is so helpful and friendly. Towels and bath mats are lush, high quality. We had planned to fix dinner in the room but my parents enjoyed Happy Hour so much, we just watched a movie in our room and had soup. Have stayed at many high end hotels but none have the homey, friendly feel like the La Fonda. Can't wait until we sneak away again for a relaxing weekend at our "home away from home". Thanks everyone for another great weekend.

Room Tip: We always like to get a room overlooking the fountain, usually a spa room on the second floor but wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAREN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

After reading the reviews I went to Avila. The staff was so nice. I arrived late but there was wine and fresh baked pie in the lounge. I got the spa room which was so lovely. The baskets of free goodies were welcome treat. I liked that they had a library of dvds with new releases. Next morning Intelligensia coffee and chocolate croissant. Awesome. Only down side is that I didn't get the 30% discount cause I'm not a Costco member.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cinartny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

My husband and I got away just the two of us to Avila Beach which in itself is a little slice of heaven. We arrived late but were greeted warmly with hot fresh chocolate chip cookies and homemade apple pie. The room was perfect- quiet, HUGE tub, fireplace, basket of complimentary goodies, fluffy robes, and a very comfortable bed. In the morning there was coffee, juice, fruit and homemade chocolate chip croissants. The evening brings a cocktail hour and turn down service with chocolates on the pillows. The staff was friendly, the atmosphere inviting and relaxing..I definitely recommend the La Fonda and we will definitely go back ourselves! These isn't a pool, but who needs one with the beach a block away. no fitness room, but again with the beach block away, who needs it? Our walk up and down the coastline was so much better than any fitness room!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holdeners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avila_La_Fonda_Hotel, Manager at Avila La Fonda Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell others about our hotel! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the amenities we offered were in line for what you were searching for. We hope to see you back at the La Fonda soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

We met some friends here for a weekend getaway. The hotel staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. All the little extras were what set this place apart. There is a welcome basket full of snacks & goodies, an evening wine reception, fresh baked pies at night before bed, complimentary turn down service. The hotel offered a library full of DVD's and books, there was a little pantry where you could purchase snacks, drinks and other necessities, which was open 24 hrs, and when we left, there was even a departing gift. Our room was clean and comfy. We enjoyed the huge jetted tub. My only complaint is that our fireplace wasnt working. The staff offered to come fix it, but we were already getting ready for bed at the time. There are cute shops, restaurants and eateries within walking distance. We are really excited to come back for a visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdom01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avila_La_Fonda_Hotel, Manager at Avila La Fonda Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review! We truly pride ourselves on not only the product we offer, but the people that make the product what it is. We feel that the building and the decor are only half of the product. Our staff really does treat the hotel as they would their own home, and we strive to treat our guests as our family and friends. We look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

Lovely small hotel, very friendly staff, beautiful location! On our list of favorite places to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mratgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avila_La_Fonda_Hotel, Manager at Avila La Fonda Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Thank you from all of us here at the Avila La Fonda Hotel. We are so happy you chose to stay with us, and were pleased with the hotel and staff. We are certainly thrilled that you have chosen us as one of your favorite hotels, that is truly a great honor and we hope to live up to your expectations for years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

During my two week R&R from Afghanistan I had little time to plan let alone reserve a hotel room for my wife and I to spend some quiet time. The staff at La Fonda Hotel was more than accommodating in helping me reserve a room. My wife and I were taken back by the beauty and comfort of the room, as well as the hospitality of the hotel staff. One of the first things I want to do once I return from my deployment is visit the hotel with my wife. Thank you once again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jav D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
0.9 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn at Avila Beach
Inn at Avila Beach
#4 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
5.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,873 reviews
2.8 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila La Fonda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila La Fonda Hotel

Property: Avila La Fonda Hotel
Address: 101 San Miguel Street, PO Box 217, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avila Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Avila Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avila La Fonda Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avila La Fonda isn't merely a hotel; it is an experience that transports you to a 19th-Century Mexican Village. The Inn is completely new and features an intimate design inspired by traditional Spanish and Mexican architecture. Colorfully adorned with eight Casita style facades, and inspired by eight actual homes in Mexico, the Inn takes on an old world style all its own. From the intricate stained glass windows, which were custom made to depict scenes from the local area, to the many delightful fountains; guests are surrounded by unparalleled luxury and beauty at every turn. Located one short block from the Pacific Ocean, our boutique hotel features twenty-eight elegantly appointed rooms and suites, each featuring a Jacuzzi tub for two, multiple-head shower, fireplace, and a 48-Inch HDTV. Rich furnishings partnered with warm colors, and stunning artwork help to create refined luxury in an inviting atmosphere. Prepare to enjoy countless pleasures and culinary delights from the moment you step through the doors. Our evening wine reception is the perfect time for our guests to change gears and prepare for a restful and indulgent stay-featuring hot and cold appetizers, hors d'oeuvres, two local wines and scrumptious desserts, our wine reception is held every evening from 5-6:30PM. Enjoy fresh baked pie from locally renowned Avila Valley Barn every evening from 8-10PM. Add a scoop of ice cream, a glass of milk, and a cup of our award winning Intelligentsia(C) Coffee to create the perfect evening indulgence!Each morning guests are encouraged to rise early to enjoy fresh baked chocolate chip croissants, award winning Intelligentsia(C) Coffee and fresh organic orange juice!Don't checkout just yet! Our nacho bar is held daily from 12-2PM featuring Coronitas and fresh-fruit margaritas!For those late night cravings be sure to visit our 24-Hour Chocolate Pantry. Candy bars, soups, snacks, sodas, water, energy drinks, sundries and toiletries all sold AT OR BELOW COST! We are pet friendly and are a couples retreat hotel. If you are traveling with anyone under the age of 18, please contact us directly for alternative accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avila La Fonda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila La Fonda Beach
Avila La Fonda Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing