We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest Place in Avila Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2010

This hotel is clean, staff is helpful, parking is easy, access to beach is across the street, pool scene is above average. We stayed at the Inn at Avila Beach and the Lighthouse wins hands down. Rooms are expensive $300+, but that is the market.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aliveinsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (784)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

721 - 727 of 784 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2010

We stayed at the lighthouse for the zz top concert. the suite was clean and comfortable. the inn was close to everything, but avila beach is so small so is any other hotel. the staff was friendly and couteous. i would definitely stay again

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank deliveryman53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

My wife and I booked two nights as part of our honeymoon along the California coastline. To say we were disappointed is an understatement - we left after the first night.

We paid for an ocean view room, which was one of the most expensive of our entire trip. The room was just OK - the balcony was nice but completely shaded with only a partial view of the sea and beach. The carpet was filthy - after walking barefoot around the room for 10 minutes our feet were black with dirt.

We headed out for dinner to the nearby restaurant that had been recommended by the hotel. We should have known better. Food, wine and even tap water were a disappointment - and the price was shocking.

Breakfast was included in the room rate. It was dreadful. For the rate we paid it was insulting to have to use paper plates, styrofoam bowls and plastic cutlery. The food itself was not fresh - the muffins were still partially frozen.

Internet was available for free in the lobby but the computer crashed every time we tried to use it.

In all this was the worst hotel I have ever visited. It's a shame because the beach is a fantastic amenity and the Lighthouse is in a great spot. If they made an effort they could really have something special.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveller_david7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

I love this place, it has a great location across from the beach and next to a small park. The rooms are very big, the bathroom is lagre enough for 2 sinks, and the bed room is huge with the siding door opening to a large deck and a beautiful view of the beach. The service was top notch with smiles from everyone at the hotel. The grounds were well kept and there were hotel staff working every day to keep it manicured nicely. Another good thing about the hotel is that everything worked, the lamps, the doors, everything.
The only down side is that they need a restaurant and bar. But since there are a number of restaurants within steps of the hotel it works out ok, I like room service for lunch, but you can't get this at the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RetirHap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Just back from Avila Beach and the Lighthouse Suites. If you want the Pacific right in front of your room and a beach where you can actually swim, this is the right place. Lots of families with kids around - so if you don't like that, stay away! We enjoyed our stay very much! Suites are bright and clean with comfortable beds, a second TV in the living room and a kitchenette.
We got the 1st floor master suite facing the ocean that we had requested. Amazing view and very quiet. Breakfast is rather basic and very noisy (too many people in a small room).
Don't miss The Olde Port Inn Restaurant at Hartford Pier (5 min drive). Srumptious seafood!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alsace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Avila Lighthouse Suites offers everything for a relaxing family vacation at the beach. Great weather, small town feel, and great accomodations. Food choices are not many but restaurants are a short drive away.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank proamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2010

While travelling between San Francisco and Los Angeles, we were lucky to take a turn to Avila Beach and get the last room at this very nice resort. If they had have had a room available for the next night we would have stayed too! Our suite had a King bedroom, as well as a large lounge room and bathroom. Included is a microwave, small fridge & sink. So perfectly suitable to stay a few days & relax. Avila Beach is such a beautiful quiet location. We enjoyed a good meal and lovely beach & pier walk before our departure. The facility is definitely geared towards families and/or conferences. We were neither (just a mature couple on a road trip) but would still recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
1 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
686 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at Avila Beach
Inn at Avila Beach
#4 of 5 in Avila Beach
557 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,504 reviews
2.9 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
868 reviews
5.3 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila Lighthouse Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Lighthouse Suites

Address: 550 Front Street, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Price Range: $170 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avila Lighthouse Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the sand, the Avila Lighthouse Suites is perfectly nestled in the quaint beach town of Avila Beach between the mountains and the sea. Our all-suite beachfront hotel offers comfortable and spacious two-room suites, each with a private balcony or patio to admire the beautiful views. Guests enjoy a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, parking, spa services at our on-site spa facility, beachfront heated pool and Jacuzzi and family play areas during their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Avila Lighthouse Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Lighthouse Hotel Avila Beach
Avila Lighthouse Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing