We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family stay at Avila Lighthouse Suites!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We found Avila Lighthouse Suites while looking for a halfway stop between LA and Monterey, spending two days driving up the coast to sight see. The road into Avila is stunning (one road in and one road out!) with a wonderful golf course and gorgeous topography. The town itself is tiny - it was the site of toxic oil seepage underground and received a settlement and massive cleanup which has resulted in most of the buildings and the public spaces being tastefully rebuilt in the past 8 - 10 years. The town faces south and is protected on both sides, so it is a sunnier and warmer beach than most (and much less likely to be fogged in during June and July). The hotel is fairly new, very comfortable with modern amenties, and done in a cute cottagey style. The service was excellent as they were able to provide us with a rollaway bed which we had not previously requested, and they had a great laundry facility which we desperately needed. We had dinner down the block at one of the three restaurants but sadly did not have much time to explore more of the area, though we'd love to return sometime. The ocean view rooms look over the pool and the beach and have small balconies which are lovely. It is a great place for a short visit and/or for little kids.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Avila Lighthouse Suites. We are thrilled to hear that you found us as a midway stopping point for your road trip from LA to Monterey. It sounds like you learned some fun facts about Avila Beach during your visit and were able to explore a bit of the town. We are very lucky to have warm sunny days almost year around in Avila Beach and look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy them again soon.

Kind Regards,
Kalie Howard / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (761)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

534 - 540 of 762 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2014

My wife and I and two kids spent two nights here and it was very nice. We paid a little more for the ocean view and were rewarded with the sound of the waves putting us to sleep each night. We did awaken one morning to a garbage truck, but that's life right? Waves put us back to sleep again. Very clean and decorated pleasantly. Staff was attentive and polite. Avila is a small beach and we knew/wanted this so we were fine with just 2-4 restaurants. Breakfast was lean, but one day I was late because I did a bike ride (really beautiful ride btw) and the staff allowed me in late which was very nice. Great for kids, and pleasant for adults.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Steve M. – Thank you for the glowing review about your recent stay at the Avila Lighthouse Suites. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be so friendly and attentive. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to enjoy the sound of the waves again soon.

Warm regards,
Kalie Howard / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile




Trip advisor. Lighthouse Inn Avila Lovely property, grounds immaculate. Our room 108 faced both the pool and beach, had a semi private patio w nice shade and sun for both our tastes. The jacuzzi was comfortably hot not quite 102 but the ocean views added to the calm. The breakfast was fine, a bit too many sugary offerings. My husband enjoyed his do it yourself waffles w fresh strawberry compote and for me peeled hard boiled eggs and instant plain oatmeal were good protein options along w wheat bread and fresh fruits, very good coffees and tea selections. The suite was spacious, very clean, with robes, pool towels and plenty of bath towels, double sinks. Ladies, bring your own magnified mirror.

My only complaint is the bed linens and pillows. Old, poor quality, pilled and rough sheets w lumpy foam pillows. These could both use an upgrade pronto.

The staff were very accommodating to bring us a standing oscillating floor fan because there is no AC or ceiling fan to keep the still, summer warm air moving at night. This made sleeping pleasant enough with the sliding door wide open. Sounds of the surf added to the beachy atmosphere. All in all the weekend fulfilled our need to get away, to do very little and relax by the sea. We recommend eating at 2 restaurants. Ocean Grill for a truly gourmet farm fresh meal. Ask them for fresh bread which does not come out automatically. 15 mins later out comes a freshly baked, crusty French baguette with sweet butter!! Also for a super fresh crab cake, shrimp and local fish dinner try Old Port Inn on Harford pier. Bring your own bottle of wine, no corkage. We will go back to Avila Beach.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank BABS-FO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterCoveGM, General Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Barbara B– Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us at the Avila Lighthouse Suites. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the spaciousness of our suites and sound of the ocean from your room. Thank you for your feedback regarding what you enjoyed and how you feel we may improve, this feedback is very valuable to us. Ocean Grill is the newest restaurant to Avila Beach and the Old Port Inn is always a fantastic choice, we are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed both of these wonderful dining options. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Avila Lighthouse Suites during your next Avila Beach get away.

Warm regards,
Kalie Howard / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights. Overlooking the beach and ocean was lovely, the hotel was quiet and the service friendly. However, the beds were not at all comfortable and the room was rather drab. Given the price, more quality was needed. The absence of good nearby restaurants is another drawback.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABE2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Pros: proximity to beach, patio, pool/hot tub, free guest parking, free light breakfast, outer room with sofa bed and fridge, microwave, 2nd tv, well maintained with nautical theme, family friendly

Cons: could use a couple more breakfast selections.

Overall a great stay right on beautiful Avila Beach!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank bobafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvilaLighthouse... G, Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Thank you so much for the helpful freedback! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed our accommodations! Please come back soon. We'd love to see you again!

Best,
Kyli Frauenheim
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Booked several rooms here to celebrate a 75th birthday party. Had the party in the conference room. At 10:07 pm security showed up to shut us down. We gathered quietly in one of our rooms to quietly continue the celebration. Shut down again by the rent a cop. Better options in Morro Bay, San Luis, or Santa Barbara. Don't go here unless you want your memorable vacation ruined.

Great if you want to be in bed by 8.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tompquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Loved this hotel! Great staff, beautiful hotel with view of ocean, walking distance to restaurants and shopping, nice pool and enjoyable breakfast. They even have a nice pool area. Beautiful drive up coast to nice secluded, small beach town which is a hidden gem. Friday night street fair is very fun! Short drive to other small towns like Cambria, Morro Bay, Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo & Paso Robles. Great restaurants and unique shops nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view room. Worth every penny!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulaI525NP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvilaLighthouse... G, Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time in Avila Beach, and that gorgeous ocean view that our suites and pool area has to offer. While Avila Beach has so many fun things to fill your time (how great was our Fish & Farmer's Market on Friday?!), we love our close location to all the neat towns that make the Central Coast such a special place. Thank you for the awesome feedback! We can't wait to see you again!

Warm Regards,
Kyli Frauenheim
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
1.0 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
686 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
885 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at Avila Beach
Inn at Avila Beach
#4 of 5 in Avila Beach
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,476 reviews
5.3 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,037 reviews
2.9 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila Lighthouse Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Lighthouse Suites

Address: 550 Front Street, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Avila Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Avila Beach
Price Range: $205 - $614 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avila Lighthouse Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the sand, the Avila Lighthouse Suites is perfectly nestled in the quaint beach town of Avila Beach between the mountains and the sea. Our all-suite beachfront hotel offers comfortable and spacious two-room suites, each with a private balcony or patio to admire the beautiful views. Guests enjoy a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, parking, spa services at our on-site spa facility, beachfront heated pool and Jacuzzi and family play areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Avila Lighthouse Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Lighthouse Hotel Avila Beach
Avila Lighthouse Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing