We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a nice sleepy village”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Suisse
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in a nice sleepy village”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

After having changed hotels about every night for a week, we were looking for a place to settle down and relax. We found this place and we really liked it. Avila itself is located about half way between Los Angelos and San Francisco. Thus the place is a good choice, if one wants to break the long ride at the coast into two days. The hotel is located directly at the beach only separated by a small road. The hotel has different types of rooms. A few with sea view, most rooms face a view to the pool, same towards the street on the side (less attractive). Below the hotel, there is a parking garage. Also we found it very practicable that the place has a guest laundry where we could do some washing.

The nice thing about the pool area is that it is surrounded by glass walls protecting this area of the chilly wind from the pacific. The pool area has a pool and a kind of hot tub / whirl pool. The latter is heated more and can even be used in the evenings. Breakfast had good choice and was more than we expected. The rooms are really nice furnished and are separated into a bed room, bath room and a kind of kitchen / living room part. For food the Customs House restaurant is a good choice in walking distance. A bar can also be found next to the restaurant. Shopping Malls are a few miles away north and south on the I 101. In the south there is a outlet mall with all kinds of brands. The few shops we visited seem to be an cheaper alternative to shopping in bigger cities.

The hotel is very clean. Staff is very friendly.

Room Tip: Make yourself familiar with the different types of rooms. The rooms facing the sea provide a great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkEtKatharina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvilaLighthouse... G, Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are glad that you were able to take a break in your travels to relax at our property while take advantage of our oceanfront pool and spa, which we keep heated year round. Since we are the only beach-front property in Avila, it is convenient for our guests to locate the shops and restaurants along the promenade and enjoy a day on beautiful Avila Beach. As we are continuously looking for ways to iensure our guests have the best experience possible, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Kyli Frauenheim
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    154
    56
    17
    14
See reviews for
363
212
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We were lucky enough to stumble upon Avila Beach on our driving holiday down to LA. Without a reservation we were able to secure a great beach front room at the Lighthouse suites. Room was enormous with a very comfy king size bed, separate sitting room and big bathroom. Everything you could need for a beach holiday! The terrace faced west and we had a huge view of the beach. A really nice place to sit and relax after a day in the sun. The resort was immaculate and the gardens and pool area were testament to this. We would love to return and spend more time here as its a great little spot on the coast. Staff were super friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We had room 216 on the second floor - great views and cool breezes - with a large king bed and sitti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvilaLighthouse... G, Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
How wonderful it is to hear that you spent part of your trip down the coast of California with us in Avila Beach! Thank you so much for the kind words about our property and our staff! We are delighted to have been such a positive part of your beautiful trip, and sincerely hope to see you again soon.

Thank you again!

Best,
Kyli Frauenheim
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here Sept 13 and 14th. Although room was wonderful, clean and steps away from the beach, it did not make up for the terrible service we received when having to complain about the noise coming from neighboring guests at room below . Called front desk twice and was told security would look into it. An hour later at way after 11 pm , noise and loud banging noises still going on . So I can't say this is a great place to stay if you want to get away and relax. Maybe try in more off season like winter?? Not sure. After a third call to front desk we were told that several other guests called to complain about the same noise and guests yet nothing had been done. Does Avila not have a police dept? At any rate, the proper thing for management to do is comp us for the night of zero sleep. Again , the room was very clean, beds comfortable but it would have been nice to have been able to enjoy it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kayleeocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvilaLighthouse... G, Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. Avila Beach is a very a clean and beautiful place, which makes it is very popular with families, which is also true for our property. I am sorry to hear about the noise issues from your surrounding guests. Upon check in, each guest must sign our Pleasant Stay Policy, and our staff and security are well trained in handling each specific violation as it happens. I sincerely apologize for this instance, and would love to have you back with us to provide you with a restful and relaxing stay. I suggest the months of November through February; the weather is beautiful and the town is far less busy than our summer months (June - September). Again, thank you very much for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Kyli Frauenheim
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Picked this place from AAA (CSAA) tour book to stay close to Avila Beach Golf Resort (which isn't much of a resort or golf course by the way, in my opinion). The three recommended (3 diamond) places were all expensive but advertised beach front or beach views. ALS had beach view and was right on the beach. You can walk out the gate across small st and right onto the sand. Very protected harbor so Pacific Ocean just slides in and goes kerplunk at the edge. Great for young kids. ALS is suites ($240 total) with LR and BDRM; BDRM had balcony with chairs and view of beach. Clean, fresh, quaint but classy layout , décor and furnishings good. Best place we've stayed on this 9 day trip. Great staff, quiet little village that to totally done by 9PM except for one beach-side bar/poolroom. Friendly natives. If you want quiet and out of way to busy travelers, go here. SBO isn't too far away (5 mi) if you want more choices and action.

Room Tip: They have elevator so beach view- upper or lower- is the choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLGIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvilaLighthouse... G, Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you so much for such a great review of your experience at our hotel! It delights us to hear that you appreciated and enjoyed everything that makes Avila Beach such a special place. Being an oceanfront property in such a quaint and clean beach town allows our guests to have great access to everything in town (or like you said, a short driving distance to surrounding cities), all while having a gorgeous view. We cannot wait to see you again soon! Thank you for the kind words.

Sincerely,
Kyli Frauenheim
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at the Avila Lighthouse Suites for 4 nights last week and had a wonderful time! It is so clean and well maintained. Check-in went well. The suite was just perfect! We loved the location, too, because there are enough restaurant choices close by and a great coffee shop (JoJo Mamas) just down the street. The beach is just across the street and beautiful! We only left to go into SLO for 2 meals and went to Arroyo Grande to a movie one evening. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Whoops! There is no restaurant on the property and couldn't undo the rating for it. They do ser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilly664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvilaLighthouse... G, Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
What a nice review! Thank you very much for your kind feedback. Maintaining our property is a high priority for us because we admire and value our location so greatly, and we make it a goal to reflect our beautiful surroundings within our hotel. Though it is quaint, Avila Beach has a lot to offer, and being able to enjoy a free continental breakfast each morning at our hotel provides more options for other meals throughout your day. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience, and we are excited to see you again soon!

Best,
Kyli Frauenheim
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great location,great room...Room 213...overlooks pool, but not too noisy..nice ocean view...very clean, beachy décor but not overdone..good front desk service...close to boardwalk and restaurants..Love this hotel

Room Tip: Room 213..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean48_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvilaLighthouse... G, Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! It means so much to us that you took the time to share your experience, and information about our hotel, with fellow travelers. We are thrilled to hear that you love our hotel, and grateful that we were a pleasant part of your time in charming Avila Beach. We sincerely look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best,
Kyli Frauenheim
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tehachapi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is right on the beach. It's the only hotel in Avila on the sand that has a pool and a jacuzzi, which is really nice if you want the ocean views and sound of the breaking waves without the sand and getting sticky. We've stayed here numerous times. Without a doubt the best rooms are the top floor ocean front rooms. You have to specify ocean front when you reserve or you may get an ocean view. The ocean front rooms on the top floor allow you to sleep at night with the sliding glass door on the balcony open- great for the ocean breeze and waves sounds. They also have a free breakfast which although not gourmet helps with saving a little bit. Avila is a great little hidden secret, super safe, romantic, and a quaint little town. Great for families or a romantic getaway. During the summer there are more families with little ones that stay because the beach is just a few feet in front of the hotel so be forewarned that this might not be the peace an quiet you are looking for if you are a couple for a romantic getaway. Best times to go are off season Aug- April.

Room Tip: Best are top floor ocean front rooms numbers: 226,225,224,223,203,202,201, & 200
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avcactus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvilaLighthouse... G, Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to express your experience with us! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our property. We agree that Avila Beach is a fantastic hidden gem, and strive to provide our guests with that same atmosphere at our hotel. Our little beach town is quite popular in the summer, and our property is very family friendly, but the weather in Avila is beautiful year round, so there is no bad time for a visit! Thank you again, and we sincerely hope to see you soon.

Best,
Kyli Frauenheim
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
0.1 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
826 reviews
1.0 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at Avila Beach
Inn at Avila Beach
#4 of 5 in Avila Beach
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,921 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,352 reviews
5.2 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila Lighthouse Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Lighthouse Suites

Property: Avila Lighthouse Suites
Address: 550 Front Street, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Avila Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Avila Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Avila Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avila Lighthouse Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the sand, the Avila Lighthouse Suites is perfectly nestled in the quaint beach town of Avila Beach between the mountains and the sea. Our all-suite beachfront hotel offers comfortable and spacious two-room suites, each with a private balcony or patio to admire the beautiful views. Guests enjoy a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, parking, spa services at our on-site spa facility, beachfront heated pool and Jacuzzi and family play areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Avila Lighthouse Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Lighthouse Hotel Avila Beach
Avila Lighthouse Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing