We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Avila Lighthouse Suites are awesome. They are located across the street from the beach,you can go to sleep listening to the waves. We have been coming to this hotel for 7 years and it never fails to disappoint. The rooms are spacious with a separate living room and a large bedroom. We prefer the rooms on the second floor,ocean front. All the rooms have large balconies. The grounds are nice,with a pool,jacuzzi,small putting green and ping pong table. Breakfast is included,but through the years it has gone down in quality. Stale bagels and donuts,cold cereal,and waffles.The town of Avila Beach is one street about 3 blocks long,fronting the beach. We love the Hula Hut for breakfast and lunch. There is also a great coffee place called Momma Joes. Stay away from The Custom House,the food is sub-par at best. Avila Beach is beautiful and very quiet at night,but close to San Luis Obispo,Morro Bay and the cute little town of Cayucos. Also Avila Valley Barn is great,with farm animals,great fruits and vegetables,and the best apple cider. Avila Lighthouse Suites is a great place to relax and getaway from it all!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Californian62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvilaLighthouse... G, General Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We greatly appreciate your feedback on our breakfast; your comments have been shared with our management team and will be addressed in our next department meeting. Thank you for the lovely compliments on our grounds, our staff takes great pride in keeping our property pristine. We are so pleased to hear you have come back year after year to stay with us and can’t wait to welcome you back soon.

Respectfully,
Kim Hodge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    145
    55
    15
    14
See reviews for
344
200
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Livermore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is a beautiful little Inn in a beautiful small town, a very well kept secret. The suites are lovely, those looking out to the beach having small terraces with comfortable furniture and cocktail tables. Everything about this hotel seems to be brand new, beautifully kept, with special play areas for children and a lovely pool area. Breakfast in the morning is free and ample. The hotel is right across the street from the beach and next to the boardwalk where there are shops, a small market, and a very nice restaurant serving great food. This was a wonderful discovery for us, and we will return very soon.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvilaLighthouse... G, General Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We are so happy to hear your enjoyed your time with us at the Avila Lighthouse Suites. We do our upmost to exceed the expectations of our guests and we are glad you had a great stay! Come visit us in the Fall for unbeatable weather and sunsets! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Respectfully,
Kim Hodge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. george, utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We spent countless hours booking a hotel for our 3 nights/4 days in Avila and were extremely pleased with the Lighthouse Suites. Location was perfect--within walking distance to everything, although Avila is so small you really don't have tons to walk to :) There is a great trail system nearby though if you are an avid runner/walker which would be very convenient and useful. We booked the cheapest room we could which we loved. We had a lovely view of the aquarium next door and the San Luis Bay Inn and a partial ocean view. We were right above the lobby which was nice in the morning to be able to go down and stock up on coffee. Bed was very comfy. Beautiful patio to sit out on a enjoy the beautiful evening. Pool area was fabulous! Our son LOVED it! Plenty of chairs and tables and you can see the ocean :) Breakfast was great...very sugary and decadent but great for vacation. I tried to stick to the hardboiled eggs but would usually splurge on a donut as well. Our son loved the waffle makers.

Overall we would stay here again...especially since they gave us a coupon for our next visit when we went down to checkout in the lobby. We absolutely loved Avila! It is the best beach we have ever been to for kids. Our son was able to get out in the ocean shoulder deep--hardly any current/tides in the summer. The kids had a blast boogie boarding all day long. Custom House was great as was Joe Momma's Coffee. Definitely do wine tasting at Alapay! Their wine's are fabulous!

Room Tip: Definitely request a higher level room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acw80_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvilaLighthouse... G, General Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you had such a great time during your stay here at the Avila Lighthouse Suites! It is always nice to receive such positive feedback from our guests and we hope that you will return for your future stays in Avila Beach. Our staff is dedicated to making your family get-aways a memorable experience. We try our best to keep our property up to date and provide our guests with the essential amenities for a relaxing stay at the beach. It is also great that you were able to take full advantage of the many things to do here in Avila. It is a small beach town, perfect for families with small children. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Thank you again for your thorough and lovely review of your stay with us.

Respectfully,
Kim Hodge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was such a pretty place to stay, right on the beach. The room was a nautical theme and was perfect. I was staying overnight on my trip from San Francisco to Los Angeles and would loved to have stayed another night. Miss Pismo Beach and stay at Avila Beach. The included breakfast was fantastic too. The kids loved it.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the pool area so there is a buffer between the people passing by in the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ekmannaliese F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvilaLighthouse... G, General Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are thrilled you were able to take advantage of our location right in the middle of San Francisco and Los Angeles, we are a perfect stop along the way. Many guests enjoy our quaint, small beach town feel and are happy you did as well! We hope to have you here with us again soon.

Respectfully,

Kim Hodge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We only had a single night here and wished we could have stayed longer. The room was very clean, large, and appeared to be freshly painted. The decor was very nice with a high-end feel. The people at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. We used the guest washer and dryer and they were clean and in good working order. Although we didn't use the pool, we saw that it was well-maintained. The views from the pool area are outstanding. An easy walk to the beach and shopping made this a great destination for us.

Room Tip: The double queen suite accommodated our family of 5 (2 adults + 2 teenagers).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvilaLighthouse... G, General Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel’s property here in Avila Beach! Our housekeeping staff strives to ensure that each of our guests have a clean and comfortable environment for a relaxing stay with us. The views in Avila are spectacular, and we are so glad that you enjoyed our destination location. We look forward to having you here with us again soon!

Respectfully,
Kim Hodge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
2 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Great family get away. Everyone enjoyed the suite, pool and closeness to the beach. What a great time. We will definitely go back to this hotel in the future when we want to be near San Luis Obispo.
The service was excellent from all of the staff.

Room Tip: Suites were not huge, but the proximity to the beach was awesome. Close to shops and some restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevins57022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvilaLighthouse... G, General Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! It is so nice to hear that your family enjoyed the easy access to the beach and surrounding areas. Being so close to towns such as Pismo Beach and San Luis Obispo allows our guests to explore both Avila Beach and its promenade as well as nearby downtowns and additional shopping options such as the Pismo Beach Outlets. We appreciate your feedback in regards to our staff’s service as all members of our staff do their very best to provide a wonderful experience for our guests. We hope you can stay with us again soon!

Respectfully,
Kim Hodge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We rented a room for one night so we could have my daughter's 12th birthday party at the pool. Alyson checked us in and was incredibly helpful. She really went the extra mile to make us feel welcome. She is the BEST front desk clerk I have EVER encountered. Professional, accommodating, truly helpful AND sincerely cheerful! ALL this while she was training a new clerk (Ella who was also very kind). I have traveled a LOT and the service at this hotel was the best I have ever received. The birthday party was a success and the other parents enjoyed it so much one of them has already said she wants to do the same thing for her daughters birthday. The hotel is on the beach, surrounded by the aquarium, playground, shops and restaurants- perfect location for families OR couples. Great job and give Alyson a raise- she is a HUGE asset to your company! We'll be back!

Room Tip: We were right across from the playground and it was still quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SloSmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvilaLighthouse... G, General Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Nothing makes us happier than hearing positive feedback from our guests. Avila Lighthouse Suites is perfect for birthday parties and we are thrilled that you had the opportunity to take advantage of it. Our property has a game deck that offers plenty of activities to keep children entertained. These activities include ping pong, life size checkers, a putting green, and our pool and spa which are heated year round. We wanted to also thank you for giving Alyson the recognition she deserves and are happy to hear that you loved her as much as we do. Hopefully you will be returning soon for one of your friend’s birthday parties!

Respectfully,

Kim Hodge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
0.1 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
799 reviews
1.0 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at Avila Beach
Inn at Avila Beach
#4 of 5 in Avila Beach
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,290 reviews
5.3 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,871 reviews
2.9 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila Lighthouse Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Lighthouse Suites

Property: Avila Lighthouse Suites
Address: 550 Front Street, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Avila Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Avila Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avila Lighthouse Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the sand, the Avila Lighthouse Suites is perfectly nestled in the quaint beach town of Avila Beach between the mountains and the sea. Our all-suite beachfront hotel offers comfortable and spacious two-room suites, each with a private balcony or patio to admire the beautiful views. Guests enjoy a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, parking, spa services at our on-site spa facility, beachfront heated pool and Jacuzzi and family play areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avila Lighthouse Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avila Lighthouse Hotel Avila Beach
Avila Lighthouse Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing