We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Nearby Hotels
Avila La Fonda Hotel(Avila Beach)(Great Value!)
$219
$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avila Village Inn(Avila Beach)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Avila Beach(Avila Beach)
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$295
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$604
$332
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spyglass Inn(Pismo Beach)(Great Value!)
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn at the Cove(Pismo Beach)(Great Value!)
$219
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shore Cliff Hotel(Pismo Beach)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pismo Lighthouse Suites(Pismo Beach)(Great Value!)
$279
$229
Pismo Lighthouse
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (858)
Filter reviews
858 results
Traveler rating
562
185
71
24
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
562
185
71
24
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsputting greenping pongocean frontbreakfast roompool areaking suiteyogurtperfect locationgreat for familiesfamily vacationpool and hot tubshops and restaurantshard boiled eggsnice poolbeautiful propertyoff seasonfree breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
681 - 686 of 858 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We rented a room for one night so we could have my daughter's 12th birthday party at the pool. Alyson checked us in and was incredibly helpful. She really went the extra mile to make us feel welcome. She is the BEST front desk clerk I have EVER encountered. Professional, accommodating, truly helpful AND sincerely cheerful! ALL this while she was training a new clerk (Ella who was also very kind). I have traveled a LOT and the service at this hotel was the best I have ever received. The birthday party was a success and the other parents enjoyed it so much one of them has already said she wants to do the same thing for her daughters birthday. The hotel is on the beach, surrounded by the aquarium, playground, shops and restaurants- perfect location for families OR couples. Great job and give Alyson a raise- she is a HUGE asset to your company! We'll be back!

Room Tip: We were right across from the playground and it was still quiet!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SloSmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvilaLighthouse... G, General Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Nothing makes us happier than hearing positive feedback from our guests. Avila Lighthouse Suites is perfect for birthday parties and we are thrilled that you had the opportunity to take advantage of it. Our property has a game deck that offers plenty of activities to keep children entertained. These activities include ping pong, life size checkers, a putting green, and our pool and spa which are heated year round. We wanted to also thank you for giving Alyson the recognition she deserves and are happy to hear that you loved her as much as we do. Hopefully you will be returning soon for one of your friend’s birthday parties!

Respectfully,

Kim Hodge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

California's central coast is still a bit of an enigma. With miles of pristine beaches, a native sea lion population, and encircled by wooded hills, this is a truly lovely place, enhanced by the recent explosion of wine production. Traditionally, the beaches have been host to downscale businesses, lacking the expensive resorts one might find in Carmel or San Diego.

The Avila Lighthouse suites is a step in the right direction, one of the newer properties, located in tiny Avila Beach close to the pier, beach, and Front Street. The rooms are truly suites with a separate sitting area with its own sofa-bed, two-sinked baths, and a view. There grounds and rooms conspicuously well maintained, and quiet, conducive to a good night's sleep, even though the local bar, Rik's place, is a two-minute walk for those who spend their nights out. The included breakfast, good for up to six(!) per room, is better-class standard American hotel fare.

There is no kitchen so eating out means visiting one of the local establishments, notably the Customhouse nearby.

Room Tip: The direct ocean view rooms might be a bit noisy, suggest 2nd floor "pool view" for a combination of provacy, quiet, and view.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JsKorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvilaLighthouse... G, General Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you for such a wonderful review. You have described both the beautiful Avila landscapes, as well as our favorite features of the hotel. After the town was rebuilt local businesses and residents worked together to provide all the necessities, as well as keep the town and beaches pristine.

Avila Lighthouse Suites offers fabulous ocean views off a private patio or balcony, and the opportunity to listen to the sound of waves while sleeping. Our housekeeping department prides itself on the upkeep of our property and does a wonderful job at maintaining the charm that this hotel has to offer. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the continental breakfast that comes with each room. We thank you again for your kind words and hope to see you soon for another visit!

Respectfully,

Kim Hodge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My rating is 4.5 stars, but I'm rounding up. I was there for one night and was lucky to book the last available room. It happens to be quite a splurge for one night but this hotel has the best location. Rather than calling it a suite, you can call it a fair size, long room split by the restroom so I don't consider it a true suite, at least not the kind of suite like the one's in Vegas.

Staying one night was good enough to allow the kids nearly two full days on the beach.

Good: Location. Cleanliness. Service. Parking. Great for one day stays.

Not so good: Breakfast is average, kinda like what is standard at say a Holiday Inn or Fairfield Inn and Suites. Price is high although being beachfront was unforgettable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chanhners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvilaLighthouse... G, General Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thank you for your most recent stay with us here at the Avila Lighthouse Suites. We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed the luxury of having an ocean front view from your room and were able to spend quality time at the beach! Thank you for feedback on our breakfast, as we are continuously looking for ways to improve our guest’s experience. We look forward to having you stay with us again on your future trips to Avila Beach.

Respectfully,

Kim Hodge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This place is magical!!! We generally like to try new places each time we travel. Avila Lighthouse Suites is the first place we loved so much that we just had to go back again! This place does not disappoint. The property is gorgeous and the staff...superb. We stayed in an ocean front king suite both times. We love the view and the sound of the surf from our own private patio. At night it is so peaceful & quiet too. We love to enjoy the evening wrapped in the super plush robes just relaxing and soaking it all in. We plan to come back for thirds!

Room Tip: Actually there was no room service available. There are plenty on near by places to grab some great food though.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeamFranz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvilaLighthouse... G, General Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thank you for your patronage, as we truly appreciate our loyal guests. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your previous stays with us and chose to come stay with us again! We have the unique opportunity to offer our guests a relaxing trip to the beach with a breathtaking view from their suite while our dedicated staff helps to ensure a pleasant stay. As always, we appreciate your feedback and strive to make all of your stays with us unforgettable!

Respectfully,

Kim Hodge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful, right across the street from the beach, great place! Very kid friendly, great little town within walking distance. Excellent service. Breakfast is very good. The pool and spa areas are very nice and look out to the ocean.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlehmansc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvilaLighthouse... G, General Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Thank you for your compliments! We are thrilled that you liked the location and facilities on our property. The shops and restaurants are just a stroll away, truly adding to our small town feel. We are also pleased that our array of breakfast items was just what you were looking for. We hope to see you again soon.

Respectfully,

Kim Hodge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews