We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Nearby Hotels
Avila Village Inn(Avila Beach)(Great Value!)
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avila La Fonda Hotel(Avila Beach)(Great Value!)
$399
$291
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Avila Beach(Avila Beach)(Great Value!)
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $313/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$268
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cliffs Resort(Pismo Beach)
$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dolphin Bay Resort & Spa(Pismo Beach)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spyglass Inn(Pismo Beach)(Great Value!)
$229
$190
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn at the Cove(Pismo Beach)(Great Value!)
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shore Cliff Hotel(Pismo Beach)(Great Value!)
$352
$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Luis Bay Inn(Avila Beach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (877)
Filter reviews
877 results
Traveler rating
578
187
72
24
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
578
187
72
24
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsputting greenping pongpool areabreakfast roomocean frontking suiteperfect locationfamily vacationyogurtgreat for familiespool and hot tubshops and restaurantsnice poolhard boiled eggsbeautiful propertyfree breakfastoff season
Filter
Updating list...
723 - 728 of 877 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Room was spacious and clean. There was plenty of room for us and our two teenage boys. Nice amenities. Nice breakfast. Nice pool. Internet was a little slow, but we weren't there to be on the Web. People were friendly. Let us stay after checkout at the pool. Just a perfect spot. Definitely nice enough to come back and recommend. And we love Avila.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank LindaByb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvilaLighthouse... G, General Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback about your recent stay. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. As an all-suites, ocean front property, we are proud to be able to accommodate families of all sizes in our two-room suites. It is our goal to create the most enjoyable experience possible, and we do so by providing excellent amenities in the rooms and on property, as well as making great customer service a priority. We sincerely thank you for recommending Avila Lighthouse Suites, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Kim Silverman-Hodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We've been to Avila LIghthouse Suites many times...at least 5 times starting in 2005 or so. The suites are nice, well built and beautifully situated along the curve of Avila Beach. The suites are not always as clean as they could be especially for the price. We've had refrig's that are kind of iffy and on our last visit (July '12) the lower part of the door storage on the fridge was completely cracked thus unusable. (Ya' need all the space you can get in tiny fridges!) Sometimes the spaces along the walls behind doors were pretty dingey. The real problem, however is the outrageous price of these accommodations. Seriously, full ocean front on a weekend in the summer will set you back 400 big ones plus a night. (that's where we used to stay). The teeniest suites in the back that face the traffic lights on the road to 101 and a bit of a park exposure, just cost us 288 per night plus tax. (over 300) For these prices you really start to expect that maybe a four course dinner will be brought to the room or you and another family member will get a massage thrown in. Oh no...You get a mediocre breakfast and just keep shelling out. We've, albeit reluctantly, but realistically, decided to nix any further visits to Avila Richo Riche Suites. Even if you're rollin' in dough, the bang for your buck is just not there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvilaLighthouse... G, General Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

I am very sorry to hear your stay with us did not meet your expectations. I am glad to hear you enjoy our location as much as we do. Thank you for your comments regarding our continental breakfast, we serve an extended continental breakfast and offer so much more than just the simple muffin and coffee. I also appreciate your feedback on our refrigerators. We do have our housekeeping manager, supervisor, and inspector who check all suites before guests can check in and I am sorry that the door of your fridge was missed. Your feedback has been shared with the appropriate departments to ensure this does not happen again. Can you please contact me directly so I personally ensure this suite has been taken care of? I would also like to hear more feedback regarding our continental breakfast. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we hope you consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,

Kim Silverman-Hodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Besides a little mix up with the bill we had a great time, we took the package with the Kayaking and lunch and it was awesome. I would recommend it very much. My husband and I had a wonderful time. The Hotel is a very clean and the a beautiful view of the ocean and the restaurant next door to hotel was awesome. Breakfast room is a little tight when you get all the people in there but was a good way to start your morning. If you are up in the morning and walk the beach before the tide is in take a walk down the shore and look at the amazing rocks and the ocean life that God has provided California with, BEAUTIFUL, We will definitely go back to this hotel when back on the west coast.

Room Tip: Ocean front room are wonderful
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GumbyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvilaLighthouse... G, General Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry to hear there was a mix up with your bill and we have taken proper action to avoid this situation in the future. I am very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to get a glimpse of the amazing coastal area we live in. The Savor Your Time Package is one of our best packages to showcase the central coast and I am pleased to hear you thought so too. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Kim Silverman-Hodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Great beach access hotel with family environment. Rooms are very comfortable.
Breakfast room is small for size of establishment. Always crowded and difficult to find seating. Long lines for breakfast items. Did not enjoy chaos of breakfast room.
Employees very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvilaLighthouse... G, General Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. We are very pleased to hear that you did enjoy the family friendly atmosphere which our hotel provides to our guests. Our hotel is ocean front, with only a small service street between our property line and the beach. We take pride in the fact that our ocean front rooms have the closest views of the ocean in all of Avila. Thank you for your comment about our friendly employees. We strive to provide our guests with superior customer service, and are always pleased when our guests are satisfied. I am, however, sorry to hear about your discomfort with our extended continental breakfast. We offer indoor and outdoor seating and try to keep all of our food items laid out in an accessible manner. Being a family friendly hotel of only 54 suites, we do tend to get fairly busy, especially in these summer months. We appreciate your feedback, and hope you enjoy the rest of your summer.

Sincerely,

Kim Silverman-Hodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Convienent location - across from beach. If you have an oceanfront room - be prepared that what divides you between the beach and you is a "parking lot" - and the lot fills up early and quick! Great people watching and the people can watch you too! But get past this - and it's just fine! Rooms decorated to reflect the beach ( loved the lamps) - lobby is very welcoming- you can walk ( so close) to a row of bars, shops, restaurants super cool gift shops. The town shuts down early 9-10... The only negative was the room above us - I could hear them all night long, walking, talking, shutting doors - bouncing balls- maybe had 4 hours sleep :(- hard to have patience when you pay over 430.00 a night... called front desk - offered to move us to another room - but no oceanfront - just tough when you pay the kind of $$$ but no sleep. Great family place and really love how everything is so close.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toobastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvilaLighthouse... G, General Manager at Avila Lighthouse Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to respond to your recent stay with us. Our oceanfront rooms offer beautiful views from their patios and balconies. We love hearing that our guests enjoy their time soaking up the views that our hotel and Avila has to offer. It is refreshing to hear that you had fun exploring the downtown promenade, full of shops and restaurants. Although we are an ocean front property, there is a small service street dividing our property and the sands of Avila Beach which does tend to fill up with cars during these summer months. However, our raised first floor rooms still offer great views of the ocean. Avila is indeed a small town, but prides itself on remaining family friendly and welcoming to tourists. We hope to be as accommodating as possible for our guests’ needs and I apologize that you experienced more noise than usual during your stay. For your next stay, please call us and ask about our ocean view master suites, as I believe these would better accommodate your needs. These are guaranteed to be on the second floor behind the pool area, yet still offer great views of the ocean. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope you enjoy the rest of your summer as well.

Sincerely,

Kim Silverman-Hodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews