We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view, yummy food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Custom House

Custom House
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $35
Cuisines: American, Bar, Soups, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Just steps away from the beautiful Avila Beach, Custom House offers a casual dining experience with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Come and have a drink at our cocktail bar, or dine on our patio while gazing out across the beautiful San Luis Bay. With favorites like fresh fish, hand cut steaks, refreshing salads and our specialty appetizers, our menu has something for everyone. Our food is prepared with the utmost attention to quality. We receive fresh meat, vegetables and fruit daily. With our kitchen only steps away from the ocean, we are able to serve the absolute freshest seafood available. At Custom House, an excellent dining experience is our top priority. Our Central Coast beach-side location holds beautiful views with a casual atmosphere, the perfect spot for a meal with family and friends.
Frazier Park, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great view, yummy food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

We really enjoyed the food here. Nice ambience & view on the patio. The hub & I ended up making a meal out of appetizer items. The sashimi was perfect & fresh. Their clam chowder is one of the best we have had. Great cocktails, as well. Very good service, a little slow at times, but I don't mind that. I hate being rushed, which can happen at beach restaurants, but that never happened. We had a nice leisurely dinner.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LA_Native
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    301
    102
    28
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
222 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good place for lunch.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

A large patio on the Ocean Front. Excellent location. We had to wait for the area we wanted to be in. No problem and we understood it was lunch hour. Our server was very good and helpful. The food was good, calamari was excellent and the sauces spicy and tasty. Fish tacos ( grilled not battered) were also very good. We would definitely go back if we were in the area. Washrooms were very clean, which is always appreciated in a high traffic tourist area, or any area for that matter.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“DISCOURTEOUS STAFF AND INEFFICIENT MANAGER”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

I have enjoyed Custom House for years HOWEVER today cured me as far as EVER returning,
Three of us with a baby were told by a hostess it would be 10 minutes for an outside table. I understand times fluctuate however after 25 minutes we decided we could no longer wait and asked for a manager. I was called a liar by one hostess and the manager did nothing to resolve the situation, needless to say we went elsewhere to eat. When i asked the hostess how she could call me a liar, i was told that SHE didnt say 10 minutes, the other hostess had. To be called a liar i take VERY seriously. NO ONE apologized or tried to correct the situation. A little kindness would have gone a long way. Sad that they are not getting the training they need.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poor lady maui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Compliment to the Management”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

After waiting nearly an hour to be seated, I was unhappy with the hostess for her dismissive attitude to our predicament. A party of 13 with 5 hungry children! At last the one table they had set aside for a large party was free, and Steve (one of the managers) realizing we were at our wit's end kindly compensated us with appetizers! They were incredible! Giant coconut prawns, fantastic quesadillas... just thinking about them makes my mouth water. Once seated, the service was speedy and friendly and the food was great. We sampled soups, salads, fish n' chips, and the specialty pizzas. My husband's hamburger was grilled just to his liking. We will come again, Steve, and again and again. Great food, supportive staff and a spot on the Avila Front Street where you can gaze out at the pier and watch the world stroll past.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great food and service ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

The chowder was delicious! The service was also very friendly. I am assuming it is off season because there were not many people there but it was great. Right on the beach!

Helpful?
Thank Caitlin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Custom House also viewed

Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Custom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing