We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious. A little cool on patio..waiter produced blankets for us”
Review of Custom House

Custom House
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Just steps away from the beautiful Avila Beach, Custom House offers a casual dining experience with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Come and have a drink at our cocktail bar, or dine on our patio while gazing out across the beautiful San Luis Bay. With favorites like fresh fish, hand cut steaks, refreshing salads and our specialty appetizers, our menu has something for everyone. Our food is prepared with the utmost attention to quality. We receive fresh meat, vegetables and fruit daily. With our kitchen only steps away from the ocean, we are able to serve the absolute freshest seafood available. At Custom House, an excellent dining experience is our top priority. Our Central Coast beach-side location holds beautiful views with a casual atmosphere, the perfect spot for a meal with family and friends.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“delicious. A little cool on patio..waiter produced blankets for us”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Yellowfin Ahi appetizer was outstanding...my husband had clam chowder..very good. Service was great..right on the boardwalk...easy access...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jean48_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    311
    106
    28
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous location”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The food was good, great choices- LOVED the mussel appetizer! Service started slow but improved by the end.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank P90X2mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food was great. Sat outside facing the beautiful ocean!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Service was good. Place was crowded and food came out quickly. Prices and portions were great, too. View of the beach and ocean. Great for families. Dog friendly too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phoenix P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“We were asked to leave after waiting 25 minutes to be seated.”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We came for the farmers market and wanted to grab a drink after a long day at the beach and before going into the market. We asked the hostess for patio seating and she said it would be a 25 minute wait. What she did not tell us is that you have to order food or you would be asked to leave. So we finally got seated and we ordered drinks and the waitress returned with the drinks. ( Beer selection, by the way, not so great. ) She then informed us we would have to leave unless we ordered something. We were a little taken aback and we apologized for not knowing but there were no signs and the hostess did not tell us. Her attitude was "too bad". She was very snotty. We finished and paid for our drinks and tipped her a buck which i thought was a buck too much.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darkbeergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, prices, and view”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We enjoy the Custom House whenever we travel to Avila or the surrounding area. It's clean with reasonable prices and good food. The service has always been excellent!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hammark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Custom House also viewed

Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Custom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing