We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, great food”
Review of Custom House

Custom House
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $35
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Just steps away from the beautiful Avila Beach, Custom House offers a casual dining experience with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Come and have a drink at our cocktail bar, or dine on our patio while gazing out across the beautiful San Luis Bay. With favorites like fresh fish, hand cut steaks, refreshing salads and our specialty appetizers, our menu has something for everyone. Our food is prepared with the utmost attention to quality. We receive fresh meat, vegetables and fruit daily. With our kitchen only steps away from the ocean, we are able to serve the absolute freshest seafood available. At Custom House, an excellent dining experience is our top priority. Our Central Coast beach-side location holds beautiful views with a casual atmosphere, the perfect spot for a meal with family and friends.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service, great food”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Calamari was melt in your mouth good. I had the sole, very tender and tasty. My husband had the ribs and he said they were the BEST he ever had! Melt in your mouth, fall off the bone great he has eaten ribs from all over California so these must of been really good for him to brag about them. A must place to eat while in Avila Beach!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    309
    105
    28
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
396 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Great feed, great views”
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We loved the Tuna melt & BLT here. First time we'd tried Olallieberry pie & we weren't disappointed. Lovely service & great times and views at Custom House.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Some good, some not so good!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

I love fish tacos but not these.... several piece of fish with shredded cabbage pile on top of corn tortillas - no dressing. My husbands wedge salad was huge and very flavorful,and our friends fish and chips were very good. We also tried the clam chowder and it was very good. The atmosphere is great, and our waitress was very attenative.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ARtraveling_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yumm....”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Ate here three times and so yummm! Prices totally affordable and great amount of variety. Seafood very fresh and breakfast plentiful

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank natalie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san luis obispo, ca
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dinner on a Thursday evening”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My wife's birthday and a 2 for 1 offer from Custom House prompted us to have dinner here on a Thursday evening. Our server Sasha was very friendly and we ordered pork chops and the dinner with shrimp and scallops and 2 beers. The meals were good and the clam chowder was excellent. The problem occured when we presented our coupon and Sasha told us she would have to have the manager sign off on it. We waited for at least 30 minutes and finally asked the hostess to track down Sasha and bring our bill. Sasha advised us that the manager was on the phone.
We thought we might get a little dessert but it was not offered. The total bill with a mandatory 18% tip because of the coupon was $48.00 or so.
Were locals and will probably go back, but would not expect a well run operation. They need a floor supervisor, a manager who cares about the customers and can see what is going on. Many customers were waiting too long for a Thursday evening. If they see people waiting an inordinate amount of time at least they need to let them know what is going on and they are not being ignored. We certainly were ignored and it ruined our evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SLOFOODIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Custom House also viewed

Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Custom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing