We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant with accommodating staff”
Review of Custom House

Custom House
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Just steps away from the beautiful Avila Beach, Custom House offers a casual dining experience with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Come and have a drink at our cocktail bar, or dine on our patio while gazing out across the beautiful San Luis Bay. With favorites like fresh fish, hand cut steaks, refreshing salads and our specialty appetizers, our menu has something for everyone. Our food is prepared with the utmost attention to quality. We receive fresh meat, vegetables and fruit daily. With our kitchen only steps away from the ocean, we are able to serve the absolute freshest seafood available. At Custom House, an excellent dining experience is our top priority. Our Central Coast beach-side location holds beautiful views with a casual atmosphere, the perfect spot for a meal with family and friends.
Evanston, IL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great restaurant with accommodating staff”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I ate the custom house twice while staying in Avila Beach for business. The food is very good, the atmosphere is nice, and the staff was very accommodating - they even put a Bulls game on for me and let me switch tables as well. It's too bad I live 1000+ miles away, but I would definitely recommend the custom house.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank IJFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    311
    106
    28
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“do not eat here”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

My wife & I had fillet of sole. It was not fresh. It had that fishy smell that fish gets when kept too long. We asked for butter with our bread. The butter was too old: It had a sour taste. The Chardonnay was good but overpriced. Save your money; go someplace else. The service was not too great either.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PatH95120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We ate inside. The outside patio looked lovely. Service was great, the waiter was funny and attentive.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank juanits R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and location”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We went to the Custom House Restaurant for lunch. The food was great, large servings and wonderful atmosphere. Custom House is located across the street from Avila Beach. Prices are definitely lower for lunch than for dinner, but there are more fish dishes at dinner. Location is great, definitely worth coming back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dario_Espinoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanford
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The main restaurant in Avila Beach”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The restaurant has a large inside eating area. The outside eating area has some covered tables and some pub tables a little further out from the restaurant. The lunch prices are less than the dinner prices. The food is good. I usually order fish when I eat there.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 611Rhana611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Custom House also viewed

Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Custom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing