We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A trip back in time!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avila Hot Springs

Avila Hot Springs
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A trip back in time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

I recently enjoyed a trip up to the hot tubs... and believe me it was a trip back in time! The establishment is first rate and offers luxury rooms with tubs on the balcony. My trip here was to experience the natural hot springs (they have private tubs scattered on the hillside.) We loved the privacy of the setting and the natural hot spring waters.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank slofoodie_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    14
    7
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California Central Coast
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Old, Funky, Fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Avila Hot Springs has been operating for years– since I was a kid!
They offer a wonderful, warm pool for swimming and a hot mineral spring pool for soaking. There is a sign that says, no outside food, which makes picnicking difficult.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MtDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a spa!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a place you can take your kids to swim in a warm pool. Don't think it's a spa environment, or you may be disappointed. It's very casual and "rustic" experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Popular spot for locals and visitors and me!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a soak and a swim you need not look any further. This very popular low key relaxing spot is ideal, and a bargain too if you time it right.
If you come after 5 p.m. any day, or on Mondays you can enjoy the swim, soak or both for only $5!

Wednesday and Saturday after 5 p.m. they even include a family friendly movie for that same $5. If you miss these times it is still only $8.

This retro style casual and affordable spot is popular with kids and campers. They have a cafe too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank yippyiay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Love the communal feeling of this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

It is almost a must that I stop by the thermal pool every time I go through the Central Coast. I also love the big swimming pool that is nice and warm for swimming even in the winter. I think of it as an establishment!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avila Hot Springs also viewed

Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Avila Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing