We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent Day on the Water

Even though the whales were not around this day, Capt Mark still provided a wonderful experience on... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
bpacker1977
Great morning whate, dolphin and seal watching

Capt Dax was fun, informative, patient and sensitive. He was lovely to share the trip on and spoke... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Debbie S
,
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Read all 371 reviews
  
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveler rating
369
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
369
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain mark whale watching central coast sailing trip sea life humpback whales local history beautiful boat snacks and drinks his knowledge power catamaran great captain amazing experience mother and calf great trip hour trip highly recommend this trip
Filter
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 371 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2017

it was not a great day for whale watching , but being just my girlfriend and i,
we had the opportunity for a one on one sailing lesson.
Captain Mark was a fantastic teacher.
A GREAT day!!

Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark K, Owner at Central Coast Sailing and Avila Beach Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2017

Thank you for the kind words about my sailing adventures. It was fun to share the art of sailing with you , there is just something magical about working with the wind and seas to move a boat around the bay. After 46 years of sailing it still never gets old. Cheers Capt Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2017

Captain Mark summoned perfect weather and a pair of humpback whales to hang out with. When my teen boys said it was really cool, you know it was a hit.

Thank 699kurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark K, Owner at Central Coast Sailing and Avila Beach Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2017

Thank you,
It was a joy to sail with and your family. Cheers Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2017 via mobile

Captain Mark is the greatest! Friendly, welcoming and so knowledgeable. Our afternoon adventure group lucked out with beautiful weather and two humpbacks who let us hang out with them for a while and get pretty close! This is an absolute must-do if you're in the area!

Thank MelissaDub14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark K, Owner at Central Coast Sailing and Avila Beach Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2017

Thank you for the woderful review! It is a lot of fun to share this amazing place with such fantastic people. Fare thee well Capt. Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2017

Yet another amazing day sailing with Captain Mark! This is absolutely the greatest way to spend time in Avila. We’ve sailed with him now about 7 times and each trip has been the best! The weather was gorgeous and we saw several grey whales. Even if you’re not staying in Avila, it’s worth the drive just for this. Often we drive from home and back (6 hours) in one day just to spend the afternoon on the sea with Captain Mark. Besides being a very experienced sailor he is a great storyteller that keeps your trip lively and fascinating. Even if you don't see whales, it 's a wonderful way to spend the day, just relaxing on the sea. Highly recommended!

1  Thank jwmidwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark K, Owner at Central Coast Sailing and Avila Beach Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2017

Thank you for the wonderful words about my tours. The Bay here at Port San Luis makes my job easy as there is always so much to see on any given day . What really makes this all worthwhile is seeing the smiles on so many happy people's faces when they experience something new and wonderful in the sailing of our boat upon the sea. You have been sailing with us on some epic trips with whales all around and even out in the rain but no matter what we see or do you are always smiling. Thank you for that for it is what keeps me excited and engaged when going out on these tours. Cheers. Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2017 via mobile

Captain Mark is knowledgeable and treats his guest like royalty. We had an amazing time on his afternoon trip. With only 6 guest captain mark was able to honor everyone's wishes for the tour. We went by the sea caves and then out to look for whales. We found a large pod of dolphin and sat watching them for @ 30 minutes it was a magical experience. We have been on many trips around the world and have seen many whales and dolphins. This was one of my favorite trips. Thanks, captain Mark!

Thank KJR33235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews