We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bubbly and service”
Review of Cuvee Champagne Bar - CLOSED

Cuvee Champagne Bar
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At CUVEE a great experience starts with the freshest ingredients available. Our team of professionals are passionate about pleasing and only serving the very best of what nature's gifts have to offer. Avila Beach is easily California's greatest getaway. Close, convenient and economical - yet a world apart.
Coarsegold, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good bubbly and service”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My wife loves this place. I am not a champagne drinker, but they do have wine and beer. The appetizers are excellent.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Coarsegold93614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Amazing champagne bar within steps of the beach!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

When researching champagne tasting opportunities on the Central Coast, Cuvee kept popping up (along with not much else). Although I had more of a winery experience in mind for the kick-off of my girlfriend's birthday weekend, I took a chance, especially since we'd never been to Avila Beach. Turns out, our stop for a late lunch and champagne sampler on our way to Santa Barbara was one of the highlights of the weekend! When we arrived at 2 p.m., we had the place to ourselves, but were treated like royalty by Laine and her co-worker. We ordered the champagne tasting and an amazing antipasto plate. When we mentioned we are gluten-free, we got extra Parmesan crisps (only cheese--no flour needed). Since their chef makes them by hand, Laine could tell us exactly what was in them.

The selection of champagnes was truly stunning, from a local option from right down the road to a rare find that's almost impossible to get in the United States--and everything in between. We are not picky and regularly drink prosecco and cava as well as official champagne (from France) and California sparkling wine. Everything we tasted at Cuvee was spectacular and presented knowledgeably, but without a hint of pretension. Afterward, we walked on beautiful Avila Beach before continuing south. We will definitely be back. In fact, we wish we were there now.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldbutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cute place with good food and drinks!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The ladies that run this place are great!Really nice people. It's a perfect place to relax and chill. It's small and there are just two people working there. Don't go there if you're looking for a rushed meal. It's not that kind of a place.They try very hard to make the customers happy. The food is really good and the desserts are delicious. They also have low key live music. We always enjoy ourselves when we go there and they are one of the few places open later then 6pm!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
voxboston
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Inept execution of a possibly OK concept”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I'd love something similar to Cuvee to thrive, but based on my visit I'm not sure if this actual bar will.
Group of friends came in for desert, drinks.

- super slow service (one other party of @ 7)
Food is mostly made with a toaster oven - so they should probably get a couple of them to handle parallel orders, right?
- failed basic sequencing of drinks, food (eg get the small, new party's drink orders in before getting round #3 to the other table).
- CRAZILY expensive. I travel all over, love high end places (and dives too). I'm totally happy to pay for value.

Cuvee charged @ $20 (!) for a simple champagne cocktail - bitters, champagne, etc.
That's steep for New York, much less a back street of Avila.

It seems Cuvees concept it to soak tourists. Avila has a limited number of options (basically, the Custom House / Mr. Ricks is it) - so there's definitely a need for more choices and specifically more 'loungy' / less loud drinking spots. But there's expensive and good, and there's just silly. Cuvee is on the silly end of the spectrum.

For me, the tacky decor (pseudo-bordello meets thrift store), bright harsh lighting, slow service, limited food choices, and FANTASTICALLY expensive drinks combine to make Cuvee a must-miss.

Perhaps they've improved things (my visit was over a month ago). Proceed with caution.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank voxboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great little find”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Fun place to stop in. Owner is a mother- daughter team. Everything is vintage. Very welcoming. Nice place to relax with a glass of champagne or try the flight for a fun taste of 4 sparkling wines and champagne. Fun foods to pair with the champagne. Enjoy!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ram95032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuvee Champagne Bar also viewed

Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing