We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice easy 5 miler. Great for walking, cycling, dog walking”

Bob Jones City to Sea Bike Trail
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A nice easy 5 miler. Great for walking, cycling, dog walking”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

*Nice flat trail
*Meanders thru woods, over bridges, to the beach
*Good for families
*Follows San Luis Obispo Creek
*Playground for kids just beyond Woodstone Market, to the west
*Bird sanctuary
*Bathrooms in parking lot
*Dogs must be leashed
*From Hwy 101, exit #196, go west, turn onto Ontario Rd. Drive .8 miles and turn left into parking lot

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MsFunmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    37
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Orange County
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Trailhead Location Info”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The trailhead and parking lot for this ride is at Ontario & Higuera, across the street from a Buddhist Temple. There is a restroom by the parking lot. The narrow trail is paved and pretty easy & full of walkers with dogs so bring a bike bell to ring. Bike down to one of the piers and visit the seals, the beer pub and the fish market. A restaurant called Red Luna near the pier was recommended to us. I wish we had tried it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SanClementeMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great Way to Stretch Your Legs After a Brunch at Woodstone”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

After brunch at Woodstone we took a hike along this trail. The varied scenery, people watching and the descriptive plaques along the way trail make this a very enjoyable walk. I wish we had more time in our schedule to have hiked more of the trail.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“a nice bike ride to avila beach”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

this was a wonderful way to enjoy a Friday! road out to Farmers Market and we stopped on the way back at the little café on the trail and enjoyed the Ahi Salad - really nice!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Trail”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We are in our 50's and rode our bikes. We really enjoyed the trail to the beach and back. We had a picnic at the tables looking out over the ocean. Take the trail you won't be sorry!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank hlpuread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bob Jones City to Sea Bike Trail also viewed

Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Bob Jones City to Sea Bike Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing