We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite Place To Stay!”
Review of Inn at Avila Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Avila Beach
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2010

The place to go if you want to relax and enjoy the ocean. We have been 5 times in the last 6 years. You can hear the ocean from your room all night, a beautiful beach is just across the street. Every trip we have seen some great wildlife, schools of dolphins, whales, pelicans feasting on schools of fish and this time seals following our kayak. The roof is a perfect place to relax, with a bar-b-que, hammocks, tables and couches for lounging, eating or watching the sun set. Staff is always willing to help and assist you in making your stay the best it can be. Avila Beach is still a quiet town, with plenty to do, but with out the noise of too many people.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanMytych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 549 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2010

My husband and I decided to get away for a week-end and stick close to home. We stopped in on a late Friday afternoon and were sure glad they had room. The Manager was great and up-graded us to an ocean front room at a great price. The room on the 2nd floor and had an awesome view of the Pacific Ocean. We enjoyed the balcony and the view of the sunset. The next day we used their sun deck which has an spectaular view not to mention really the really relaxing hammocks and place to have our lunch. Its' a no frills hotel, be prepared to walk up and down stairs, but it more than makes up for it with their friendly and courteous staff. We took advantage of their free movies and pop corn they had in their lobby for their guests. We also enjoyed a great dinner at the Custom House Resturant that was half a block away! We will be back soon!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandm80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

Having traveled to dozens & dozens of hotels over the years for business and pleasure, none have the relaxing charm of the Inn At Avila. It is the definition of quaint. It dates back to a bygone era, but they have added free access and cable TV. They have chosen to not have phones (who needs them any way?! The front of the Inn is facing the most charming and quiet beach on the California coast. Avila Beach is a 5 minute drive from Hwy 101 along a creek-side, tree covered road. Sort of like disappearing from the busy life! Walk on the beach at sunset and you will see the half mile long beach that is gorgeous and maybe just a handful of people on it! This is not a typical coastal hotel with a distant view or a walk to the beach and massive traffic and parking lots, it literally faces the beach. You can hear the ocean all the time!

It is not a big hotel so don't expect the usual check-in counter lines. You will be met personally in an ocean view lobby. (No Counter!). Every room is different and you never know when you will get a gas fire place and/or jacuzzi. (But you can sure ask when you call)! We love the ocean front rooms where there is an entire wall of glass. At night, when you sleep, be sure to open the curtain so you can watch the lights on the boats in the harbor an the moon reflecting off the water. In good weather we even leave the sliding glass door to the balcony wide open. All of the rooms are 2-4 stories above the sidewalk so the view is great, unobstructed, and private!

Within a 2 minute walk in the safest little town you have ever seen, you can get to a coffee house, multiple places to eat (including a wonderful deli), grocery, wine tasting shops, tourist shops, multiple ice cream shops, a Friday night farmers' market, and a place you can rent wet suits and boards!

We recommend this place to all of our friends for a an escape weekend. We have stayed there many time and have 2 more visits booked for the next six months. I will probably also have a business trip or two to the area. Wow, do they give you a deal for mid-week business travelers!

kbackman
Hanford, CA

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

I called and tried to book a room-I asked questions such as the size of the room and the layout as I have a toddler who needs his crib in an area separate from me and my husband to get a good nights sleep. The man I spoke with became rude and frustrated with my questions but there was no picture on the website showing the room he suggested so I asked about 4 questions-I was finally told, "well do you want it or not" unbelievable at the rude way in which he spoke to a potential gues.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Service
2  Thank ronronmeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

The first night we stayed in room 311, which was nothing like i thought it was gonna be. i think it was called a family suite. it was like another reviewer said a converted weekly apartment from the 70's or something. carpet looked gross, restroom was old and i did not want to shower in it. the room smelled , like i dont know what, but it was not a nice smell. the room was tiny with a queen size bed and a couch at the end that did not have a sleeper. I was disappointed, for the price.
BUT, the next night we stayed with some friends, last minute decision, and the place was booked, and they were in room 213, which was a lot nicer, i think it was a spa room. that one looked like a different hotel.

I dont know if i would recommend because of the two differences.
oh, and you definitely can hear everything that is going on outside, and if you want to party all night this is not a good place to stay because you have to be quiet by 11.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marsmedina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2010

Rooms clean but really dark and very loud. I could hear everything going on outside and in the room above me;including the child that cried all night. They claim to have wifi, but it is only in the lobby not the rooms. Could be okay for a beach stay with the family but not for relaxing...

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gatoventura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2010

I booked the family suite which looks nothing like the pictures on the web page. The family suite was supposed to come with a kitchen and appliances which it had none of these. The room had no air conditioning, room was dirty and the toilet did not work properly. I asked the front desk what they could do to help us with this and i was told they cant do anything. PLEASE DON"T EVER STAY HERE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank magpul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
0.2 mi away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
759 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
686 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,474 reviews
2.7 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
856 reviews
5.1 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Avila Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Avila Beach

Address: 256 Front Street, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Avila Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Avila Beach
Price Range: $197 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Avila Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Inn at Avila Beach, your all inclusive oceanfront hotel! The Inn at Avila offers so much more than just room. Upon arrival, guests are gifted with a welcome beach bag filled local snacks and access to our complimentary check in reception with flat bread pizzas, salsa bar, libations, and blended ice drinks. Every night we end the day with our 8pm pie reception with homemade baked pie and ice cream. At the top of the hour, guests enjoy access to our rooftop coffee house for breakfast. All your favorite espresso drinks, croissants, egg dishes and our famous cinnamon rolls. Amenities also include beach cruisers, a freezer filled ice cream and popsicles, fresh fruit and fresh baked cookies all day. All of this and so much more is included, along with the best ocean view on the Central Coast of California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Inn at Avila Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Avila Beach Hotel Avila Beach
Hotel Avila Beach
Inn Avila Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing