We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem in Central CA”
Review of Inn at Avila Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Avila Beach
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2014

During a road trip from West Texas to California, Avila Beach/San Luis Obispo was our final destination. The rooms were clean and the bathrooms had nice towels. There are delicious pies and cookies in the lounge area that includes a tv and sofa. There are movies galore downstairs that one can borrow on the honor code. The bathrooms were beautifully decorated with Mexican-style tiles, as was the lounge area downstairs. All of the staff were friendly beyond our expectations. Definitely worth staying during your visit to Avila Beach/SLO! Very beautiful place overall.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gabby m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_at_AvilaBeach, Front Office & Branding Manager at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Gabby,

Thank you so very much for your kind review! I love that we were your last stop on what sounds like an awesome road trip. Avila really is the local's beach, and as much as we want to keep it a secret, it delights us to hear how much joy it brings to our guests. I'm so glad you got to enjoy all of our yummy treats and grab a couple films; next time claim one of the cabanas on the Sundeck and watch a movie under the stars! There's nothing quite like it!

Don't wait too long to come back!

Cheers,
Alexis Kidd
Front Office & Branding Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (553)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 553 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. We stayed in an ocean view room. The views were great, and everything is within walking distance including the beach and pier. The staff was great and very friendly, and made us feel right at home. I will definitely return here in the future to stay again, and I can't wait to see what it looks like once renovations are done. The only down side was the water was shut off a few times without notice due to the remodeling which is expected but a notice would have been nice.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Slo1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_at_AvilaBeach, Front Office & Branding Manager at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Slo1234,

We truly appreciate your feedback and are so delighted that you enjoyed your long stay with us! Concurrently, we apologize for any inconvenience the remodel caused. Hopefully you got a chance to peek into some of the new rooms; they're going to look incredible! Definitely stay updated with our Facebook page to see photos of our progress. We're so close to completion and we look forward to seeing you next time!

Cheers,
Alexis Kidd
Front Office & Branding Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Our first stay and we loved it! Walked into the lobby and for a moment hesitated, wondering if I had made a bad choice. Two minutes later I knew we were in for a treat. Slyvia greeted us with such gracious hospitality. Our ocean front room was clean, spacious and very cozy, and the view was fantastic. The lack of feeling like a hotel chain was a welcomed surprise for us. My husband and I can't wait for a return trip and are planning on a longer stay. And the fresh baked pies were out of this world! Thank you to all that keep the Inn At Avila such an awesome experience.

Debbie B.
Visalia, CA

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_at_AvilaBeach, Front Office & Branding Manager at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Debbie,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Inn! We pride ourselves on being a uniquely friendly place, having been family-owned and operated for the past 20 years.

We're so glad you enjoyed Sylvia's service; call us ahead of time on your next visit and she'll bake your favorite kind of pie! You're going to love our new Spa Retreat rooms-- talk about a relaxing place to bring up a slice of Olallieberry to!

Cheers,
Alexis Kidd
Front Office & Branding Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

My wife's favorite place on earth. This was my first stay. We booked an Ocean Front Room and we were very pleased.

You need to start with the correct expectations. This is not a Hilton that was built in the last year. The building has been there a long time and has some wear and tear although they are currently in the middle of a renovation.

The view is awesome. The room was clean and comfortable. Edward is amazing.

We definitely will return.

Room Tip: Upgrade to and spend a few more dollars for the ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dwhawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_at_AvilaBeach, Front Office & Branding Manager at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dwhawe,

We appreciate your review! Edward really is a gift; did you know he's been with us for almost 20 years? As has our Head Housekeeper, Claudia, our Head of Maintenance, Jaime, and our Assistant Manager, Lorie. It really is a family business!

Nothing quite beats that Oceanfront view. You'll have to reserve our Vista Pacifica Suite when it's finished; we put in a pocket door on the balcony side that folds completely into the wall so it feels like you're floating on the water!

We're so glad you and your wife enjoyed your stay. See you at the beach next time!

Cheers,
Alexis Kidd
Front Office & Branding Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The hotel is Ocean front. It is funky and in the midst of renovation.
Very nice place for a weekend get-away.
The staff is great and very hospitable.
Internet in all rooms free of charge.
Sylvia bakes divine pie's every night and is available to all guests.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serbiene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_at_AvilaBeach, Front Office & Branding Manager at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Serbiene,

Thank you for your kind review! We too love the hotel's eclectic combination of Mexican and Mediterranean design, and, of course, our lovely staff. The next time you come by, let us know what kind of pie is your favorite and Sylvia will bake it!

Cheers,
Alexis Kidd
Front Office & Branding Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Loved this place - only sad thing was we were only there for one night. We had an ocean front room which was totally modern with every convenience you could need. Very spacious - huge Tv and stunning ocean views. Service was wonderful and little touches like serving fruit pie at 8pm gave this place the special touch.
Waking up in the morning to see dolphins playing everywhere was brilliant.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_at_AvilaBeach, Front Office & Branding Manager at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Jennifer,

Thanks so much for your review! We're so glad we could give you a taste of Avila Beach, it really is a fantastic town! We can't wait to have you back the next time your travels bring you to this side of the pond. That ocean view really is extraordinary.

We'll save a slice of olallieberry pie for you!

Sincerely,
Alexis Kidd
Front Office & Branding Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

THE GOOD:
1. The mini suite with the private balcony was fantastic. Beautifully remodeled and perfectly located on the beach front.
2. The perks in the lounge, coffee, fresh baked cookies and evening pie were a nice touch. Waters available and popcorn are also included.
THE BAD:
1. Day one at check - in the new desk clerk offered us a $20 upgrade to the ocean front mini suite which we said yes to. However, once she realized we booked on Hotels.com she increased the price to $40. We then opted to stay with our original court yard room.
2. The hotel is in a remodeled state. Lots of construction noise on the weekday. Sunday was fine, Monday was not.
THE UGLY:
1. The courtyard room was HIDEOUS! Seriously the ugliest room I have ever seen. I am attaching a photo so you can see for yourself.
THE RESULT:
1.We returned to the desk and negotiated a $30 upgrade to the mini suite and loved the remodeled room. For a $10 profit this new desk clerk managed to pass off a client. A bad choice in my professional opinion.
2. Met the owner who was very nice. 3. Day 2: A different desk clerk Lori was on duty who extended our checkout time (no charge). She was very nice. She also apologized for all of the construction nice that began at 10 am on our last day.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaRiverGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_at_AvilaBeach, Front Office & Branding Manager at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

CaliforniaRiverGirl,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your feedback as we transition into becoming the refreshed and romantic getaway that the Inn at Avila's amazing location deserves.

We're so glad you loved the Oceanfront Suite you were upgraded to; that view is spectacular! By contrast, our two remaining Courtyard rooms are still on our remodel list, and we can't wait to bring them to the same caliber and design as our other suites. That's coming this fall!

The active part of the renovation of the hotel is almost over and we expect to be fluffing pillows and hanging drapes in our new Spa Retreats by the end of May. We're so sorry if any of the noise bothered you, we try to let all of our guests know that our craftsmen only work from 10AM to 5PM, and not at all on the weekends!

We apologize for the confusion in upgrade process. We love for our guests to get the best room at the best rate, so please call directly next time and we'd love for you to be one of the first to see our brand-new rooms!

Sincerely,
Alexis Kidd
Front Office & Branding Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
0.2 mi away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
772 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
686 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,493 reviews
2.7 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
864 reviews
5.1 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Avila Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Avila Beach

Address: 256 Front Street, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Avila Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Avila Beach
Price Range: $187 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Avila Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Inn at Avila Beach, your all inclusive oceanfront hotel! The Inn at Avila offers so much more than just room. Upon arrival, guests are gifted with a welcome beach bag filled local snacks and access to our complimentary check in reception with flat bread pizzas, salsa bar, libations, and blended ice drinks. Every night we end the day with our 8pm pie reception with homemade baked pie and ice cream. At the top of the hour, guests enjoy access to our rooftop coffee house for breakfast. All your favorite espresso drinks, croissants, egg dishes and our famous cinnamon rolls. Amenities also include beach cruisers, a freezer filled ice cream and popsicles, fresh fruit and fresh baked cookies all day. All of this and so much more is included, along with the best ocean view on the Central Coast of California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inn at Avila Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Avila Beach Hotel Avila Beach
Hotel Avila Beach
Inn Avila Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing