We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room selection is important”
Review of Inn at Avila Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Avila Beach
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I made reservations for a Friday/Saturday night stay on the web site. Had an Ocean Front King room confirmed. Upon arrival was told I'd been assigned the "family suite" room, instead. I asked if it was "ocean front" and was told, "Oh, it has a living room, a bath...and the ocean view will be from the bedroom." This room is located on the 3rd floor, but overseeing the roof of a house and the ocean view blocked by the Hotel's sun deck. It was "old and tired"...the heater didn't work until my wife lit the pilot light. There was no balcony on which we love to sit and read...and it was generally a disappointment. So...if you book a room, be prepared for their reassignment. We won't return.

Room Tip: Hope that the booking guarantee matches what you're assigned upon arrival? GOOD LUCK! We won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mborba50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahotelguy, Owner at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Thank you for your recent review..We strive to do our best in accommodating all requests,but in some cases that doesnt appear possible . In checking with our staff you orginally DID book a family suite and when you arrived you, than requested oceanfront which was not available ,we tried our best we could to accommodate your last minute request and rearranged other guests stays ,to get you partial view .Again .we are very sorry that your stay was not as expected .

Often third party websites like one you booked are vague on differences in room types ,we always encourage guests to call ANY hotel direct ,so staff can accommodate your needs and desires .and some times confusing .We are doing our best to call back reservations made that way to be sure misunderstandings don't occur . Third party sites while excellent tool in identifying properties in area,rarely give you details that either hotel sites provide our talking with real person .. Particularly in non chain hotels like ours that have many different types of rooms.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write ,we are going through a major renovation of all rooms and will be done in Spring ,Fireplaces ,jacuzzi tubs for two ,multi head showers ,new everything including walls and floor treatments .But our hotel even after such major major renovation will still be 60 years old ,and have many different types of rooms and will retain its wonderful electic whimisical style . Shabby? we would disagree with your comments ,but if you are use to Motel 6 /Holiday Inn chain type hotels, clearly we are wrong hotel for you ,as we were this time . .We will never be that hotel ,but we try to whimiscal fun place to stay just steps from the water ..have good life and i hope you find room bliss ,wherever you go .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (553)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 553 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013

First time staying here and I got to stay wow. Being able to sleep with the sounds of the waves was the best the ocean front room were awesome The staff was great really made you feel at home if you want to relax this a the place for you we are already planning a return trip.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I have stayed here twice, and had a wonderful experience both times. Even though I have never stayed in the ocean view rooms, I went to sleep each night to the sound of the ocean waves. The rooms are eclectic and very unpretentious (they still use keys), but everything you could want is included and the entire hotel is very clean. The staff is helpful and more than friendly. If you are going to visit Cal Poly (as I did), it is only a ten minute drive to Avila.

Room Tip: Both times I stayed in rooms on the left side of the hotel, on the end in back, overlooking a hill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phyl717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahotelguy, Owner at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Thank you ! we are halfway through our major renovation ..The oceanfront and spa rooms have really turned out as we had hoped .The rest hotel will be completed in Spring .In addition to 10 more spa rooms (jacuzzi tubs for two,fireplaces, multi head showers,) we are going to have five spectular theme suites ...we should have information on our website soon .thank you again for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My husband and I have been staying here for years on our anniversary and we've never had a bad stay. The staff is welcoming and always happy to meet your needs. Even back in the oil spill days staying in Avila was wonderful! Actually I think it was even better, because we only wanted to relax on our vacation, we were not intrested in all the shops. After that everything changed, the town was rebuilt and everyone and their brothers came in. I will always love The Inn at Avila Beach. It's a special place where you can sit back on your porch and melt your worries away. This year we will be there for our 30 year anniversary. Happy Anniversary to us! :)

Room Tip: Room 209 or 309 is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yosemitestorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahotelguy, Owner at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

First congrats on 30years ! And especially thank you for choosing to spend it with us ...more and more the Inn has become "THE " place to spend birthdays and anniversaries or just to get away .
We know you have many choices to stay ,so it means alot to us that you come back every year .
We are committed to renovating the Inn and taking full advantage of our wonderful location on the ocean.
It's been this month ,13 years since the cleanup was declared over , most customers only know it after cleanup.While it's changed somewhat,Avila still is just 4 blocks by 4 blocks and Inn remains where it was 60 years ago ,welcoming guests to the coast .
A nice regular guest ,a 80 year YOUNG lady said it best ,when talking about changes ,to in her words ," MY Beloved Avila "
"Sonny,(I'm 62 ) sixty years ago I looked in a bikini ,but I'm better now!" Good way look at Avila Beach ,we all have changed abit as we have gotten wee bit older ,but most of us rather not go back to bikini days!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

An ocean front room is our favorite get-away place. The folks that run this hotel really know how to make people feel welcome and relaxed. We go as often as we can - highly recommended!
There is no pool, but there is an ocean!
For exercise, we go for long walks on the beach and shop in this peaceful little town.

Room Tip: Always get an ocean front room. You can sit on the balcony at night sipping your wine, looking at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahotelguy, Owner at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Clearly you get what we are trying to do at the Inn..not recreate chain hotel ,but recreate experience of staying at friends beach house .
You get it! Thanks for sharing your experience ..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and I spent a week at the Inn at Avila Beach for the second time in August. Our last visit was in the owner's suite, this year in a different ocean view room. There is nothing quite like waking up to the beautiful view of the Pacific ocean. We totally enjoyed our room, the new pillow top mattress, and the very large TV screen. We brought some good movies along, as well as records to play on their record players in the room.
The staff is wonderful and provides fresh baked cookies all day and fresh baked pies in the evening. We cooked fresh caught fish and fresh veggies on the rooftop grill, which has the best view of Avila one could ever dream of.
We plan to return to the Inn, as it feels so homey, and is a great place to hang out at the beach and avoid the crowds at most all other beach spots.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DZPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The ocean front rooms with the balcony makes it perfect for a romantic weekend getaway. Rooms are clean and have a refrigerator for snacks and cold beverages. The hospitality room off the main office has coffee, hot chocolate, popcorn, and bottled water, all free for guests. Terrific bang for your buck! Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clovisvp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
0.2 mi away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
772 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
686 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,493 reviews
2.7 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
864 reviews
5.1 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Avila Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Avila Beach

Address: 256 Front Street, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Avila Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Avila Beach
Price Range: $187 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Avila Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Inn at Avila Beach, your all inclusive oceanfront hotel! The Inn at Avila offers so much more than just room. Upon arrival, guests are gifted with a welcome beach bag filled local snacks and access to our complimentary check in reception with flat bread pizzas, salsa bar, libations, and blended ice drinks. Every night we end the day with our 8pm pie reception with homemade baked pie and ice cream. At the top of the hour, guests enjoy access to our rooftop coffee house for breakfast. All your favorite espresso drinks, croissants, egg dishes and our famous cinnamon rolls. Amenities also include beach cruisers, a freezer filled ice cream and popsicles, fresh fruit and fresh baked cookies all day. All of this and so much more is included, along with the best ocean view on the Central Coast of California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn at Avila Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Avila Beach Hotel Avila Beach
Hotel Avila Beach
Inn Avila Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing