We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Inn at Avila Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn at Avila Beach
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We loved our room, the view was beautiful, the room was cozy, clean and comfortable. The staff was so nice, everyone makes you feel so welcome and at home. We did not want to leave! We can't wait to go back! Thank you to the staff at the Inn at Avila Beach for making our weekend so wonderful!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (536)
There are newer reviews for Inn at Avila Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 536 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

I went here for a long weekend with my husband. We stayed on the third floor, right below the sundeck. We were woken up bright and early around 8am from all the noise as the chairs and other furniture was moved across the floor. It was awful. They close it at 11pm, but if you are in your room before then it is pretty loud as people walk around and reset the tables and chairs. The bathroom was very old, and the toilet leaked. The view was beautiful, but you have to pay for it! It was very expensive. This place has no AC and the public parking for the beach is right outside. Be prepared to see a lot of people fight for a space and yell to each other in the middle of the street. We were also there during a construction project right next door. That was fun to wake up next to as they drilled and hammered while we slept. It would have been nice if the owner or care taker had told us before we arrived, or even when we checked in.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFGiantsBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahotelguy, Owner at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Thank you for sharing ....and we are trully sorry you didnt like everything about your stay.
We didn't have any control over next door restaurant construction but they were respectful not to stat before 9am ..And we are very excited to have wonderful bar/grill adjacient to INN. Still we understand the inconvience and impact on your stay ..
On our hotel it is a 60 year old building ,if your looking for Hyatt /Hilton or chain hotel ,your right this is not very good fit .But if your looking for just the opposite a quaint /fun beach house (older) style Inn ,than we are just what you are looking for .
We are in midst of two year long renovation project ,in your oceanfront room we started with all guest "touches" new Serta presidential mattresses (really best you can buy),500 count sheets ,new carpet ,new 55 inch tvs ,incredible towels, again heaviest we can buy.
Yes ,the bathrooms are small ,tho several we have taken out one of two closets to make larger but still never will be toooo large .
This winter we are taking out some of older kitchen units and adding MORE two person spa tubs to stretch the bathroom experience .Please try us again if you will,but I'm afraid we won't ever be the type of hotel your looking for ,but as you cantell by the reviews there is a very very large group guests who travel alot , that are looking for experience other than typical chain hotel and want entirely different experience with argueably best views in California ..Happy traveling !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Inn at Avila Beach and loved it. This was our first time staying at the Inn and were not sure what to expect for the price (great rate for location). We were very pleased with our room. Our room had a king size bed with a very comfortable mattress. We spend most of our time at the sun deck. The décor and spectacular view of the ocean from the sun deck provided a relaxing ambiance. We are planning on returning soon with our kids. The Inn at Avila Beach is great for both a romantic getaway and a family trip. Thank you to staff for making our trip so enjoyable.
Jose

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jose T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed there and payed top dollar for a dive. Make sure you look at the rooms before deciding to stay as the reception is very misleading. Location is great but the rooms are miserable. You can tell that they have not invested or renovated the place in the last 20 years at least.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michel019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahotelguy, Owner at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

So sorry...
Was taken aback by your comments so out of our usual guest experience...maybe you were staying in a different hotel and posted wrong ?.. Our Hotel is going through a year long renovation ,but no one has commented like yours in very long time ..Assuming you did get the right hotel for your review ,we are deeply sorry .
Please ,before you check in to any hotel ...ask to go see the room ,if you have any problems go back to front desk and ask for different room ..Most hotels , our hotel especially we always want you to be happy ,and would give you a tour until you found one up to your standards or refund your money ..But that never occurs ...You said you were in oceanfront ,it has new serta beds (two weeks old )not just beds but best they make Serta Presidential sleepers ,.New 55 inch flat screen tvs yeah 55 inch tvs??? ,new drapes,bedsreads,linens (500 count) best towels we can buy they're huge ,,new furniture (6 months old) . So your comments are confusing at best .
If you had stayed with us and mentioned any complaints it would been addressed than i assure you . .Could you have us confused ,there are 4 Avila hotels, with nearly same name ..?
But in any case ,enjoy rest of your visit to America , and I hope rest of your visit is more to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the owner's suite in early July. This is a great room. Just about everything we needed was in the room. Very comfortable bed! The upper deck is fantastic for just about anything you want to do. From the get go, Lori and all of the staff were most accommodating and we had a nice conversation with the owner. Looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cabuckeye1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahotelguy, Owner at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments .especially on Lori (she very cool) and our staff ,they really make Inn a very special place on coast ...Hope you continue to make Inn your special getaway ,it really is fun ,for all us to take moment and get to know our guests ..and see Inn through their eyes .Hopefully you saw some dolphins,that were out playing day we talked.The whales should be back any day now ,than I want my room back, but I'll share the couch with you !
Again thankyou for the kind comments ..
from all of us at the Inn
Welcome back friend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The staff at this hotel is great! Special thanks to Emily for being so accommodating and professional during our stay through our one year wedding anniversary. We booked the owner's suite on short notice and the staff did everything they could to make our stay as comfortable as possible. You also cannot beat the location in Avila Beach.

Room Tip: Try the owner's suite!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JohnR1742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Let me start off by saying that this place is adorable, the service was fabulous, and the location cannot be beat! Our son LOVED the rooftop patio and did not want to leave once we visited it! The common areas made me feel like I was in an old Mexican hacienda! They were super cozy and cute. Our bed was by far the best bed we slept in our whole trip out of four motels. We opted for the cheapest courtyard room and actually had a decent view and could hear the ocean when the window was open....

The room was dated, but it was very spacious and had a great little kitchenette. However, I couldn't see any dishes or utensils or glasses if one would want to use the kitchen facilities. I bet they would supply everything for you if you asked though...we were only here one night and didn't utilize everything to the fullest.

I've read that the beachfront rooms have been updated and I bet they are fabulous! I would probably give this a better rating if we didn't pay over $200/night for our room and if they provided better coffee and a small breakfast. But everything in Avila in the summer time is going to be expensive so I understand that. I hate writing anything negative about anything or anyone, but if you can swing it, pay the extra $60/night to stay at the Lighthouse Suites or the La Fonda. Or wait till the off season to get a better rate.

Like I said, location and service were great so if that is what matters most to you, you will like this place!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acw80_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahotelguy, Owner at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you for both kind and helpful review.Yes, we are in midst of year long rennovation project ,as you mentioned oceanfront rooms have all been redone and are wonderful ..Regarding rates , as you mentioned it is our summer season ,and like all resort communties ,Avila Beach does get more expensive during the summer .
Still we are bargain compared to competing hotels .But we are not interested in being cheapest hotel ,
We try to provide a unique beach house experience ,that creates great value ,at any cost .Our great room off the lobby has everything you need from wine glasses ,plates ,cooking equipment to beach
chairs ,toys for kids all at no cost .Just stop in grab what you need .
The beach house concept is a more relaxed style Inn keeping ,our staff is available 24 hrs a day to serve you .If you don't see it just ask and we will provide it ,or we will go out and get it for you ,just as if you were at best friends beach house .
Best advice regarding rates ,is to avoid peak season ,and you will always find better deals on sun-thursdays than on weekends .After Labor Day rates go down somewhat (But best weather is after Labor Day thru Thanksgiving so period is also very popular with folks ,who visit when kids aren't around)after Holidays till Spring is best value time at the Inn .
Still our quest is to make the Inn a great value at any rate .,so we are constantly improving and loving our 60 year old building .You may noticed new beds,new tile walkways ,most rooms just repainted before summer , new lobby furniture and major upgrades on sundeck ,we are just starting you will see lots more next visit .
We have also added several new services from more front office staff ,fresh baked cookies all day ,complimentary bottled waters all day ,and at 8pm every evening we bake fresh fruit pies ! We does that ? Okay maybe your best friend when you visit their beach house .

We understand that everyone has different budgets ,why we have 5 different types rooms and rates . Sometimes you want sit on your own deck and just count waves ,other times you bring all neighborhood kids , we have rooms for each occasion . Please visit us again during the off season ,"cheap" we are not ,but fun,great location and great value ,we all that and more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
0.2 mi away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
743 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
685 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
844 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,447 reviews
5.1 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Avila Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Avila Beach

Address: 256 Front Street, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Avila Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Avila Beach
Price Range: $198 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Avila Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Inn at Avila Beach, your all inclusive oceanfront hotel! The Inn at Avila offers so much more than just room. Upon arrival, guests are gifted with a welcome beach bag filled local snacks and access to our complimentary check in reception with flat bread pizzas, salsa bar, libations, and blended ice drinks. Every night we end the day with our 8pm pie reception with homemade baked pie and ice cream. At the top of the hour, guests enjoy access to our rooftop coffee house for breakfast. All your favorite espresso drinks, croissants, egg dishes and our famous cinnamon rolls. Amenities also include beach cruisers, a freezer filled ice cream and popsicles, fresh fruit and fresh baked cookies all day. All of this and so much more is included, along with the best ocean view on the Central Coast of California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Inn at Avila Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Avila Beach Hotel Avila Beach
Hotel Avila Beach
Inn Avila Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing