We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Away to Avila Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn at Avila Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Avila Beach
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury Park, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend Away to Avila Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We loved our stay at the The Inn at Avila Beach and will definitely be back. Our room was in the back and quiet (not ocean front), next time I definitely will get an ocean front room. We traveled with friends who did have the ocean front and it was amazing. The roof top deck is incredible, we spent time up there having drinks and watching the ocean, very peaceful and relaxing. The little town is quaint and I found not too expensive, however, Mr. Ricks bar doesn't serve blended drinks, very strange for a beachfront bar but anyway. We had a great time and are definitely making plans to go back.

Room Tip: My friends stayed in 306 AMAZING, we stayed in 202 very quiet (we did hear the people in the next ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleTv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    132
    26
    30
    25
See reviews for
97
252
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

The Inn at Avila Beach is an amazing place to stay. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the views are bar none. I suggest the ocean-view suite because you will never have a more relaxing night than you will at this Inn with the door open and waves crashing all night. The parking is a little tight, but is is very convenient to park inside the complex and not have to worry about parking along the beach.

Room Tip: Ocean-view rooms are the ONLY way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed here back in November on a week long girls trip with my mom. We spent the first two nights at the Inn at Avila Beach. We really enjoyed this quirky inn. It was very comfortable and we loved being in walking distance of the town. We had the beach view room and it was beautiful just sitting on our balcony watching the gorgeous ocean. This is by no means a resort---it kind of feels like its your friends vacation pad and they are letting you crash there. And I mean that in a good way. They have all the things you need for the beach that you can borrow on the honor system (chairs, umbrellas etc). They have a dvd and vhs library. There is a kitchen downstairs where you can grab forks, knives, wine openers, bottled water. Very cute!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bikediva77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b.c.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband, teenage daughter and I escaped the insane traffic of greater LA and found the Inn, which provided a recovery night. The oceanfront room was quiet, large and had a balcony overlooking the ocean. Avila is a combo working town and resort, with quiet streets, a beautiful pier and beach perfect for fresh air and exercise. The real draw is the rooftop deck, which reminded us of the ones we enjoyed last spring at up- scale Moroccan family inns. Borrow an LP from the library and wow the younger generation with your knowledge of the recordplayer (many rooms have) and slow dance to Hotel California! Not for the Hilton addicts, but real travellers...awesome.

Room Tip: ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ranchermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahotelguy, Owner at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Love your review!
It's not a chain hotel ,you won't wake up in same room you just had in Tulsa .Everything is meant to be fun ,relaxing and different on purpose. We are just finishing a major renovation and our central goal was to keep the Inn playful ,and as unique ,as it has been for last twenty years, we have owned it .Just couple minutes ago a couple just extended their stay for another night, and cancelled their reservation at major "chain hotel" in SF .The husband said it best " ,I just spent the day in paradise , on the roof, why would I want go somewhere else??? ." You can see the view and sundeck "LIVE", by going to our website and seeing everything in real time from our webcam .Guests have been telling us they are seeing dolphins and occasional whale on our webcam .Imagine the view in person .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Our experience was definitely memorable. We were looking for a great beach stay within our budget and The Inn made it happen. The Spa room was perfect and romantic. The sound of the crashing waves from our room made it that much more pleasant. The hospitality was gracious and the Sun Deck had the most gorgeous view of the beach. Definitely will be returning to experience their beach view suites with a balcony.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahotelguy, Owner at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
You made our weekend!
We have fun saying," You can't get closer to the ocean, unless you are in a boat !" Really about 30 steps,till you get your feet wet. Like you, the highlight of many guests stay is opening the large sliding doors, and hearing wave after wave .Come back and get your ocean fix ,soon...Oceanfront rooms go fast so make reservations early in summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Avila Beach is for beach people...a sweet little beach right outside your hotel and lovely views. The hotel has a comfy,mexican charm with beautiful old tile work and artistic touches. Add to that wonderful, accomodating owners and staff, a good shower, a sunroof with hammocks and the sound of surf and you have the makings of a great stay.

Room Tip: if you like the surf, get a room up front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaSharita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahotelguy, Owner at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
A work of Art,
Art is missing piece in our lives .As we renovate the Inn we are trying to incorporate little suprises throughout the hotel .You may noticed the new tile in hallways ,each room will have different threshhold of beautiful Mexican "decos " tile /each different . Thank you for noticing more to come !See you soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We loved this place!! The bed was comfy, plenty of living space, and the view was amazing!!! We had a patio facing the beach. Absolutely loved it!! The owners were so friendly. Wish we could have stayed longer. There was no traffic, just the sound of the waves breaking.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahotelguy, Owner at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
My favorite place... Thank you for getting "it! " The Inn is a wonderful 60 yr old building ,held together with spackle,paint,art,and love . Your right ,it is about as far from "chain hotel" as possible ,on purpose .Yes ,you live with some imperfections ,but the tradeoff is a very unique experience instead of just more of the same .We have creature comforts ,the best towels ,sheets,pillows,blankets ,and beds, money can buy and awesome cleaning staffthat has been with the Inn for years . The oceanfront roof deck ,is unique to all california hotels ,there just isn't anything like it anywhere, again on purpose .
We are in midst of a year long remodeling project of local artists ,for example we have tile layer who may cover entire hotel in tile over next 30 years ..each project alittle more beautiful than the next .
Will we ever be done ?Probably not ,but the magic of Inn,is ,it isn't suspose to be ,like you we are work in progress renewed by the sea .See you soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
0.1 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
2.7 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Luis Bay Inn
San Luis Bay Inn
#5 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Avila Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Avila Beach

Property: Inn at Avila Beach
Address: 256 Front Street, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Avila Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Avila Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Avila Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Ocean Front Avila Beach Hotel. Imagine Your Best Friend's Beach House. That's Us. Tucked away in the sleepy town of Avila Beach - located smack dab the middle of San Francisco and Los Angeles on the Central Coast of California - rests the Inn at Avila Beach. Although we invite our guests to enjoy as much relaxation as they wish, we are everything but boring. We are different - on purpose - and that's the way we like it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn at Avila Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Avila Beach Hotel Avila Beach
Hotel Avila Beach
Inn Avila Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing