We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful, different, not cookie cutter”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn at Avila Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Avila Beach
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
b.c.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wonderful, different, not cookie cutter”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband, teenage daughter and I escaped the insane traffic of greater LA and found the Inn, which provided a recovery night. The oceanfront room was quiet, large and had a balcony overlooking the ocean. Avila is a combo working town and resort, with quiet streets, a beautiful pier and beach perfect for fresh air and exercise. The real draw is the rooftop deck, which reminded us of the ones we enjoyed last spring at up- scale Moroccan family inns. Borrow an LP from the library and wow the younger generation with your knowledge of the recordplayer (many rooms have) and slow dance to Hotel California! Not for the Hilton addicts, but real travellers...awesome.

Room Tip: ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ranchermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahotelguy, Owner at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Love your review!
It's not a chain hotel ,you won't wake up in same room you just had in Tulsa .Everything is meant to be fun ,relaxing and different on purpose. We are just finishing a major renovation and our central goal was to keep the Inn playful ,and as unique ,as it has been for last twenty years, we have owned it .Just couple minutes ago a couple just extended their stay for another night, and cancelled their reservation at major "chain hotel" in SF .The husband said it best " ,I just spent the day in paradise , on the roof, why would I want go somewhere else??? ." You can see the view and sundeck "LIVE", by going to our website and seeing everything in real time from our webcam .Guests have been telling us they are seeing dolphins and occasional whale on our webcam .Imagine the view in person .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    131
    26
    30
    25
See reviews for
96
249
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Our experience was definitely memorable. We were looking for a great beach stay within our budget and The Inn made it happen. The Spa room was perfect and romantic. The sound of the crashing waves from our room made it that much more pleasant. The hospitality was gracious and the Sun Deck had the most gorgeous view of the beach. Definitely will be returning to experience their beach view suites with a balcony.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahotelguy, Owner at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
You made our weekend!
We have fun saying," You can't get closer to the ocean, unless you are in a boat !" Really about 30 steps,till you get your feet wet. Like you, the highlight of many guests stay is opening the large sliding doors, and hearing wave after wave .Come back and get your ocean fix ,soon...Oceanfront rooms go fast so make reservations early in summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Avila Beach is for beach people...a sweet little beach right outside your hotel and lovely views. The hotel has a comfy,mexican charm with beautiful old tile work and artistic touches. Add to that wonderful, accomodating owners and staff, a good shower, a sunroof with hammocks and the sound of surf and you have the makings of a great stay.

Room Tip: if you like the surf, get a room up front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaSharita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahotelguy, Owner at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
A work of Art,
Art is missing piece in our lives .As we renovate the Inn we are trying to incorporate little suprises throughout the hotel .You may noticed the new tile in hallways ,each room will have different threshhold of beautiful Mexican "decos " tile /each different . Thank you for noticing more to come !See you soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We loved this place!! The bed was comfy, plenty of living space, and the view was amazing!!! We had a patio facing the beach. Absolutely loved it!! The owners were so friendly. Wish we could have stayed longer. There was no traffic, just the sound of the waves breaking.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahotelguy, Owner at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
My favorite place... Thank you for getting "it! " The Inn is a wonderful 60 yr old building ,held together with spackle,paint,art,and love . Your right ,it is about as far from "chain hotel" as possible ,on purpose .Yes ,you live with some imperfections ,but the tradeoff is a very unique experience instead of just more of the same .We have creature comforts ,the best towels ,sheets,pillows,blankets ,and beds, money can buy and awesome cleaning staffthat has been with the Inn for years . The oceanfront roof deck ,is unique to all california hotels ,there just isn't anything like it anywhere, again on purpose .
We are in midst of a year long remodeling project of local artists ,for example we have tile layer who may cover entire hotel in tile over next 30 years ..each project alittle more beautiful than the next .
Will we ever be done ?Probably not ,but the magic of Inn,is ,it isn't suspose to be ,like you we are work in progress renewed by the sea .See you soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellflower, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I LOVE this place! It is not your typical inn, which is why I like it.....kind of ecletic, and I think very cool. The staff is very polite and welcoming. The rooms seem to have been upgraded since the last time I was there...very nice. The best thing is the LOCATION, right across the street from the beach! Pay for an ocean front room; worth the money-you won't be disappointed.

This time I stayed in the spa retreat room, which was fabulous!!!! A HUGE canopy type of bed, fireplace in the middle of the room, seperate jaccuzzi spa tub and nice big shower, also a cd player. The only disappointment was there was no view. I guess you need to book the owners suite for that, which I will do next time ;) There was even nice big, soft, fluffy towels and satin sheets.

The other really cool thing about this place is their roof-top patio. You literally could hang out there all day. They have cabanas, bar set up, barbeques, small refrigerators, hammocks, tables and chairs, everything you could possibly want to have your own party. There is a grocery store next door to get whatever you need. If you rather eat out, The Custom House down the street has breakfast, lunch and dinner and is reasonable and very good.

Avila is a small, clean, quiet, peaceful little beach town that looks like it belongs in a movie set.

I will definitely be back sooner than later!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hjh1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Family room was okay for one night - very basic but clean. You get what you pay for as it was very cheap for the four of us. The tv wouldn't work and the guy came to tune it - didn't find him friendly in any way. Location nice beach front in a very quiet seaside place. Wouldn't return but it suited our purpose for a brief stopover.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahotelguy, Owner at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
So sorry ,we didn't meet your expectations .We are going through a major renovation .All of our oceanfront units have just been redone ,new paint ,stucco everywhere ,new decks, beautiful tile .
Since your stay ,all rooms have just received new tvs ,the one you were staying in just got new 55" family tv.
We are constantly working on Inn ,so each time you come back you will find it improved .Our roof top deck ,great beachfront location and outstanding housekeeping staff , always deserve second look .,especially as you noted at our very affordable prices .Book early in summer ,we run highest occupancy on the coast, from loyal annual repeat customers, who understand its 60 years old building .Yes it has abit quirky ,but has unique very fun charm about it .But we are not for everyone ,but thats why guests pick us over " chain hotels" , that are same everywhere ..Try us again, i think you will be suprised with the changes we have made since your visit .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turlock, ca.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I met my husband on the coast while he was traveling for business. I usually do all of the planning,, but I told him I didn't have time so he booked a room at The Inn at Avila Beach. I'll start with the positives: first of all, staff seemed friendly and it appeared that they made a genuine effort to make our stay pleasant. The location is lovely--Right across the street from a beautiful, quiet beach and pier. It is clear that they are doing some remodeling, but that was okay with us.

When we checked in, the gentleman was very nice, no oceanfront rooms available but we decided to upgrade to a spa room--my husband went downstairs to check in, and we even talked of possibly staying another night because we love the area do much. At about 9:30 that night, the man that we checked in with came upstairs and started banging on our door--before my husband could get his bearings and go to the door, he started banging some more and stated loudly, "your card had been declined!". This was several hours after our initial check-in, and if there was a problem with the card it could have been addressed at that time.

My husband went downstairs and was able to quickly use another form of payment, but the HUGE lack of professionalism left a very bad taste in our mouth. We ended up staying another night in Avila, but we chose to move to a different hotel. It is unknown to us why we had trouble with the first card my husband used, but it wouldn't seem worth one night at their rates to lose a customer for life AND get a very poor review--these people need to get a clue!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rnmarci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahotelguy, Owner at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank You for your review ..and kind things you said about our staff , " Staff friendly",genuine effort to make our stay plesant ," "nice gentleman check us in "
We really take alot pride in our staff , they all have all been us many years "because they get it'
They are half our product ...
Our staff was helping other guests and than ran credit cards ,yours was declined, our staff member knocked on your door and even though he heard you in room ,you declined to answer .
He left and went back to desk and waited to allow you get dressed/ our prepare ro answer the door . .The than knocked second time and again you failed to answer ,He than ID himself as manager again and than mentioned why why he was knocking on door, that credit card was declined and your husband kindly corrected matter with another valid card .
We doubled checked card second time and it was declined twice before we bothered you .But any hotel has to have valid form of payment to rent room ,because you refused to answer first time also required second visit.

I'm not sure what you would have us done or how you wished us to handle it better . Our Staff member was very polite and as you mentioned previously went out of way make your stay plesant .
We are sorry your stay wasn't the best , we really care about our guests and go out way to insure best stay possible .. Please try us again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
0.1 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
799 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,289 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Luis Bay Inn
San Luis Bay Inn
#5 of 5 in Avila Beach
205 reviews
2.7 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Avila Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Avila Beach

Property: Inn at Avila Beach
Address: 256 Front Street, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Avila Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Avila Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Avila Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Ocean Front Avila Beach Hotel. Imagine Your Best Friend's Beach House. That's Us. Tucked away in the sleepy town of Avila Beach - located smack dab the middle of San Francisco and Los Angeles on the Central Coast of California - rests the Inn at Avila Beach. Although we invite our guests to enjoy as much relaxation as they wish, we are everything but boring. We are different - on purpose - and that's the way we like it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn at Avila Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Avila Beach Hotel Avila Beach
Hotel Avila Beach
Inn Avila Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing