We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Friendly People, Needs Some Work”
Review of Inn at Avila Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Avila Beach
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stopped here on a family driving trip from Los Angeles to San Francisco along the Coast Highway. Avila Beach is a pretty little town and the Inn has the premier location on the waterfront. The staff were friendly and tried hard to please. The rooms, and especially the outdoor hallways between rooms, are a little beat up. There was bare plywood in places where repairs or remodeling appeared to be underway.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seadog14926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahotelguy, Owner at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for your recent visit and taking he time to write review .Our oceanfront location is amazing! We are under going major rennovation of the Inn why plywood walkways (temp )
Hallways all get beautiful Mexican deco and Salitiolo pavers (to tie in with our lobby) Like with your house always takes time .The oceanfront rooms and Spa rooms have all been redone .
The entire building was just re stuccoed and repainted so lots upgrades already accomplished .
Along with all new flat screen tvs (oceanfront have huge 55 inch HDTV ) .
The hotel has 5 different types rooms based on size ,location ,and rennovation so always ask to see choices on checkin .like any hotel never good idea to just let price be only judge .
This years rennovation will be completed by Early Spring weather permitting .
thanks for understanding !
Look forward seeing you again soon ,lots new services also inworks .You can follow us on our website and also checkout our LIVE webcam on roof to watch whales migration .. .
Micheal Kidd
Co owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 557 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had an ocean view room that was just gorgeous. The inn is beautifully decorated, fun and funky! There was a microwave, refrigerator and VHS, DVD and CD available in the rooms and a large screen TV. The morning coffee in the lobby was outstanding. We got an amazing mid-week rate and we hope we get to come back again!

Room Tip: Pay extra for the ocean front room! You can't put a price on the view... :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queenmolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahotelguy, Owner at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

What awesome review!
We really get some great guests at Inn..It's not for everyone maybe thats why so many find it "their " place on the coast . there are newer more plastic "chain hotels" on the coast but Inn is what California experience use to be .
We are undergoing renovation and you still were very kind . The entire building been repainted /stuccoed lots new Mexican paver and deco tiles.
All new linens ,pillows ,and beds for summer .We also have some new amenties coming like chocolate chip cookies baked all day and going to have nitely pie reception of fresh baked local berry pies each nite at 8pm ...
Look forward to your next visit to the Inn
micheal kidd
co owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is a simple hotel and very comfortable. They had a room downstairs that we could use for our group eating and drinking times. The roof space is lovely but on the holiday that area was busy and chilly. We got an ocean front suite on the top floor and found it very nice. Had a balcony and a sitting room. Well worth the extra funds. Free parking underneath. Very friendly front desk. We had a great time walking on the beach and around town. Very close to Moro Bay.
Our friends opted for the courtyard rooms and found them under construction or redecoration and very small. There is no courtyard. This is a car park area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicia034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is review #2 of a 3 stop on the CA Central Coast over New Year's 2012 (others: Best Western Cavalier, San Simeon; Santa Lucia Lodge, Lucia). The Inn is a 50's (?) beach-front hotel that is a bit campy, a bit dated, god-aweful color paint in the bathroom, but comfortable and a great ocean front view. If you don't get an oceanview room, I see little reason to stay here unless the rates are that cheap. Our oceanview room was ~$200 which seemed to be the going rate for the more affordable, oceanview rooms on the central coast. It was clean,the staff very nice, good beds, but dated, especially the bathroom in our room. I would stay again although there are 2 other newer facilities in Avila Beach which I did not price out. Can't beat the easy access to the small business community one block away in Avila, and the moring view was killer (see attached photo) from the ~ 12 oceanfront rooms.
Beach access could not get any easier. nice, quaint back sitting room for guests with coffee. Upstrairs deck very nice although we did not spend any time there as it was a cold day when we were there.
If you are want the most up-to-date room/amentities/accommodations, you may be disappointed by the Inn, but if you like local, less than up-to-date amenities, then the Inn will work for you

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

For 5 or 6 years I have driven from Santa Barbara to Avila Beach for a wonderful getaway, bringing various friends to share my treasure. The hospitality and careful details that are attended to by the staff is unparalleled in my experience. It is the service by which I have evaluated other places.. whether in New York, LA, or San Francisco. Nothing is too much trouble. Edward and Lori are wonderfully attentive and the cleaning staff are friendly and efficient. At Christmas time the staff provides a ham as sandwich material, chocolate and lemon cake, and always there is water, coffee, tea and popcorn available. Both the DVD and book selections are voluminous and the warm fireplace and big TV in the lounge area is so cozy that people gather there to play games or read. A place like this is in a constant "let's make it better" mode, and the bed I just slept in for 3 nights is more comfortable than my Tempur-Pedic at home! Treat yourself to a charming getaway- rain or shine!

Room Tip: Of course I love the ocean view rooms, but have been happy in other rooms. The deck on the 3rd floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Know what you are getting into and then decide if this place is right for you. No elevator. Cheap rooms are a hodge-podge of furniture and our room only had a small, loud, portable heater to keep us warm.

That aside, the tile work in the lobby and the sun deck and simply perfection. If you can stand a night in a so-so room, you will get to hang out on that diamond of a deck.

Room Tip: Stay out of room 310.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfreedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The staff is warm and friendly. The room that we had have terrible beds. Due to remodeling, some rooms have newer beds but if you ordered this hotel through Expedia you pay more more per room and get the crappy room. After we were couple of days in and complained about the commendations the staff offered a room changed but having to changed everything it was not worth for me. The many thinks I took from this experience is:
1) Do not order from Expedia - they charge you more than it would cost you to call the hotel itself and negotiate with them.
2) Trust major hotel names - you are paying the money no matter what so may as well have a good sleep too.
3) Never use Expedia again.
4) Ask the hotel how long they have their beds in the property - let's hope they are honest with you.

Room Tip: Ask for remodeled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fatjon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahotelguy, Owner at Inn at Avila Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thankyou!
We appreciate feedback on our hotels ...On Expedia ,they are valued partner of any hotel in selling unused rooms . ALL hotels offer a lower rate than third party sites and we are no different, you can always get a lower rate at almost any hotel by calling direct to the hotel .Hotels are also able to
Match you up with the right room for your stay .In any hotel there is big difference between ocean view /beachfront than room by elevator .When you call direct ,we take the time to explain the 5 different types rooms available .Often on third party sites only those still available are listed .Again Expedia and other third party sites provide value able service to both hotels and traveling public by making customers aware of what hotels are in area .. As you mentioned we offered and gladly offered to move you to another room after you checked in at no additional cost ,we really want make you happy..Always good idea to ask to see a couple room types at any hotel on check in ,to see if you made the right selection on internet for that stay ..

The hotel is going through major renovation all rooms have new tvs/bedding/towels and most have new beds,the remainder will be installed by summer .As a hotel owner of multi properties friends often ask how to get great deal and great room .I always say that they are not necessarily compatible. The best rooms are reserved for frequent guests and best paying customers ,the less desirable (and all hotels have them) are sold to customers whose principle goal is to get cheapest room .. Call any hotel direct and you will be more pleased .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
0.2 mi away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
782 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
686 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,505 reviews
2.7 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
867 reviews
5.1 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Avila Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Avila Beach

Address: 256 Front Street, Avila Beach, CA 93424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Avila Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Avila Beach
Price Range: $176 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Avila Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Inn at Avila Beach, your all inclusive oceanfront hotel! The Inn at Avila offers so much more than just room. Upon arrival, guests are gifted with a welcome beach bag filled local snacks and access to our complimentary check in reception with flat bread pizzas, salsa bar, libations, and blended ice drinks. Every night we end the day with our 8pm pie reception with homemade baked pie and ice cream. At the top of the hour, guests enjoy access to our rooftop coffee house for breakfast. All your favorite espresso drinks, croissants, egg dishes and our famous cinnamon rolls. Amenities also include beach cruisers, a freezer filled ice cream and popsicles, fresh fruit and fresh baked cookies all day. All of this and so much more is included, along with the best ocean view on the Central Coast of California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Avila Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Avila Beach Hotel Avila Beach
Hotel Avila Beach
Inn Avila Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing