We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveler rating
81
87
30
18
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
81
87
30
18
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdiamond resortsfull kitchenpismo beachgolf coursestudio roomtimeshare presentationconcierge deskcentral coastexercise roompopular resortdining tableocean viewsea lionsnice place to stayedna valleythe king size bedhot tub
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 236 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2017

We love Avila Beach, its convenience and its relative solitude. That being said San Luis Bay Inn is the ideal place to stay. Nice large rooms and full kitchen plus its right on the water. Friendly staff and really clean, well kept rooms. You will be asked to sit through a timeshare presentation. Our only issue is no restaurant on site but restaurants are only a few minutes away. Several opportunities to wine taste in the area. This was our second stay there and we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Try to rent a "condo." It seems that those rooms are bigger.
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bonster2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2017

Stayed here for 4 nights. Excellent rooms. Full kitchen, plenty of room for friends. We come here to visit friends in the area so it's very convenient. They have added outside firepits, which makes the experience even better.
There are gas grills, 6, so you can grill your own tritip or fish. If you drive to the end of the Port San Luis Pier there is a fresh fish market at the end. Buy the ling cod or wild salmon. Ling cod is white fleshed, tender, maybe a few bones, and no fishy taste.
Port San Luis also has kayaks to rent and the Port is very calm so it's easy for beginners. Don't go on a windy day. Mornings work better and you can get close to sea otters and seals.

Room Tip: Room facing the ocean, make sure there are no "roof" views. They will know what you mean.
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank davidrich1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017

We have been going to the San Luis Bay Inn for years and always look forward to our return. The villas are spacious and clean and the view are breath taking. Some of the rooms still need to be remodeled but the resort is always working to make it better.

Room Tip: Low floors are the best for kids and families should ask to be in rooms close to elevators.
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank johneL2766HZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017 via mobile

Had a great stay here for a long weekend. Staff was friendly and very helpful in making sure we had suggestions for where to go and things to do while we were in town. The rooms were very large and comfortable - we had a king bed and a small kitchenette - big bathroom with a great shower. One suggestion I would make - if you're going to offer a continental breakfast, make it available for more than just 30 minutes. That's not very realistic for a weekend stay. Overall, had a great time - facility was clean, even with some renovating and updating going on in the entrance area. I would definitely go back here again!

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank Ann971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017 via mobile

The staff were very friendly and attentive, and the rooms were clean and well appointed. The housekeepers were top notch! met a lot of locals at this resort that just enjoy relaxing here. Once the construction is done, this will be beautiful.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
2  Thank iowaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews