We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of San Luis Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Luis Bay Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Avila Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Clemente
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

I travel here once a year and have been since I was 7 years old. My family had a timeshare here, however I continue to go back each year without them. It is by far the best hotel I have ever stayed at. There is a game room, laundry services, you can walk to the beach, and buy fresh sea food, then come back and grill it yourself. The rooms are VERY spacious. We always get a 2 bedroom suite with a pull out couch in the living room, which sleeps 8 of us comfortably!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bree R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    76
    25
    16
    16
See reviews for
71
97
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Waking up every morning to the sounds of the ocean waves rolling on the sandy beach makes me appreciate every moment at this beautiful cove of a place. San Luis Bay Inn itself is a little dated but I hear they are upgrading units as I type this review. The staff is always welcoming. Housekeeping staff was very quick to get me more blankets at 9pm at night. One of the best concierge service around. AJ Spurs is a must for dinner (come hungry and still take doggy bag home). A must do activity booked thru the concierge is the Seaweed Express!

The elevator is a bit slow so I enjoyed the stairs. No restaurant on site however grocery stores 10-12 minutes away in SLO or Arroyo Grande. Avila Valley Barn is a must for fruits & veggies.

The pool is incredibly clean and always clean towels nearby. The weight-exercise room has glass doors that open right onto the pool, so view is nice. TV's inside are nice too if you'd rather watch TV. Fun arcade room for the older kids.

Laundry machines are available. Interesting...I was on the 2nd floor, so I used the pool level laundry room and cost $1.00 for a wash and $1.00 for a dry. Soap/softener for .50. I happen to get off on the 3rd floor by accident and walked by the 3rd floor laundry room and the price was $1.50 for a wash and dry. Plus the washing machines are smaller. So, use the pool level to save ya money if you want.

I am extremely jealous if you get a room here. It's worth the views alone!

Room Tip: All rooms have somewhat of a view of the ocean. Beautiful place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GeorjannR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Our family visits this hotel on a regular basis. Avila is sunny when other nearby cities are overcast because of the jet stream. That is what my pilot friend tells me anyway. They have been upgrading many of the units and will soon add new appliances and countertops. The maintenance Dept. always keeps this property pristine clean from the perfect temperature year round pool to the surrounding grounds. The two bedroom lock off is great for teens while the adults stay in the adjacent room. All amenities are included and as a 2 bedroom we always enjoy the 4 soft thick white robes. Another plus is a great breakfast on Saturday mornings hosted by the resort as we listen to the daily activities that they provide from Sundays ice cream social to a wine tasting tour, hiking tour and a local trolley. This resort is the only time that I have not cared about getting a parking lot view. The backdrop is a beautiful view of the pier, bustling town and beach. Everything about this town is superb from the music venue to the golf , restaurants, bars, fishing, boogie boarding and shops. Your teens won't be bored and it is a nice walk to everything. Your family can enjoy a bonfire at the beach in one of their many fire pits or the game room while you work out in the work out room, both located poolside.

There are 3 piers in this town of which two are for sight seeing. The historic pier to the right of the hotel offers fresh seafood that you can purchase for your dinner or enjoy or get a bite to eat at the Old Port Restaurant. The seals can be quite a noisy bunch when they are not sleeping under the pier. The old tackle shop of the older days has been replaced by a quaint shop that offers coffee, hot dogs and a great little spot to have a glass of wine or enjoy a local brewed beer. The host is very nice and gives his guests endless peanuts as a treat. Just down the street you can also enjoy the Avila Hot Springs and a massage that can be quite romantic. Don't wear silver jewelry for it will turn black. As you can see I can not say enough about this place and oh one more thing. The Avila Barn for fresh local produce, gifts, animal zoo for the kids and a hay ride along with ice cream and a candy store. Enjoy this little pocket of sunshine along with a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: There is one room that has a wall in front of the living room that I hope I never get again. I alwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastvale, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

If you're able to make a reservation here - do it! :) We stayed here a couple of years ago in the spring & they were in the middle of some renovations. They have made some great improvements to the property! San Luis Bay Inn overlooks Avila Beach & just a few minutes away from San Luis Obispo, Pismo, Shell Beach, Arroyo Grande, Atascadero, Los Osos, Morro Bay...what more could you ask for in terms of location? Great farmers markets are nearby every day of the week (the friendly staff will give you a listing of the locations & dates/times) if you want to grab some fresh food to cook yourself back in your room, or there are great local restaurants. There are a few free organized activities onsite throughout the week (another improvement since our last stay) in addition of course to their beautiful grounds, pool (& kid pool & hot tub) & close proximity to the beach (if you have kids note: there is a kid "pirate ship" playground near the beach off the property as well)

Room Tip: If you have kids...I would ask for a room either on the 2nd floor or near the stairs that go to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenBowser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roaming
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed here over the memorial day week. The resort is in a great location with terrific views of the ocean and the little town of Avila Beach. It can get a little chilly there even in the summer so bring a jacket or sweatshirt for walking on the beach. Short drive to San Luis Obispo for mor e shopping and eating options.
At the resort they have a lot of activities and DVD rentals available. A great surprise was the fantastic Yoga class they have on site several days during the week. The instructor is fantastic and for $10 you get a real class in a great room over-looking the harbor.

Room Tip: ask for a room with views of the town and the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadagain800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Az
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed at San Luis Bay Inn with our timeshare and had a great time. The staff at the hotel were friendly. The grounds well kept. A large selection of activities at the hotel to occupy our time. We tried to spend as much time out and about as possible but we have an 18 month old son so at times we had to stay in our room.

The town of Avila was amazing. There are several wineries with tasting rooms around a small area block. Avila had several nice restaurants and also a few places to drop in for just a quick bite. On Friday evenings during the summer they have a Farmers Market where you can get a sampling of various foods from restaurants and local produce.

We did not get a chance to explore outside the city though. There are several places to visit from Hertz Castle to the aquarium at Monterrey Bay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CasualTraveler001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, Utah
Level Contributor
243 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

We exchanged thru Diamond for a 4 nite stay. If we aren't sure of the area, we don't go for the whole week, just in case. We were very pleased with the resort and the unit. Too bad the weather didn't cooperate, but we can't control that. The Barn by 101 had lots of fresh fruit & veggies (bit pricey) so cooking in was an option. SLO is a quick drive where Trader Joes and Costco are. We spent our first day wine tasting in town after having having lunch at the Custom House. Had a lot of fun doing that so we did it again the next day in the Paso Robles area. We wanted to drive up the coast, but we were dodging raindrops most of the day (thank goodness we hadn't bought tickets for Hearst Castle). We did manage to walk out to Morro Rock before the rain started. The 3rd day was even more rain so we stayed in. We hit their fitness center for a bit of a workout. It is next to the pool/spa so you have to go out in the rain. But it is convienent for getting a workout in while watching your kid in the pool. They had an eliptical, treadmill, recumbant bike, a bench and some free weights. The day we left was even wetter. They needed a bigger overhang for people trying to load their cars. If we can get a reservation in the non rainy season we will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DesertGirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
0.4 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn at Avila Beach
Inn at Avila Beach
#4 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
3.1 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Luis Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Luis Bay Inn

Property: San Luis Bay Inn
Address: 3254 Avila Beach Dr., Avila Beach, CA 93424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Avila Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Luis Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your San Luis Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luis Bay Hotel Avila Beach
Hotel San Luis Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing